WHSmith Reviews | Glassdoor

WHSmith Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 590 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
WHSmith CEO Stephen Clarke
Stephen Clarke
143 Ratings
Pros
  • "The staff discount wasn't too bad either(in 24 reviews)

  • "interesting work environment at the airport(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low wages - was paid minimum wage(in 39 reviews)

  • "Higher up management never seem to have anything in order, excruciatingly low pay (19 years old and getting(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great old brand fighting for survival under a great leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WHSmith

    Pros

    Great paternalistic company wrestling with the pressures of online competition and decline of physical book and music sales.

    Cons

    Stores are a mess these days and everything is about cost cutting, so only join them if you are not in it for the money.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going to change business and develop travel retail brands.

    WHSmith2015-06-12
  2. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Terminal, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WHSmith full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    People you work with are nice

    Cons

    Management treat you badly Never enough staff

    WHSmith2019-03-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at WHSmith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very different environment from other retailers. RBM’s are amazing. Good place to work.

    Cons

    The only thing I can think of is use of back dated technology.

    Advice to Management

    We can cut down on unnecessary paperwork. Let’s save some money

    WHSmith2019-05-07
  4. "Easy work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at WHSmith part-time

    Pros

    Basic work with minimal responsibility

    Cons

    Could be boring when not busy

    WHSmith2019-05-09
  5. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WHSmith part-time

    Pros

    Friendly members of staff. Happy atmosphere

    Cons

    Short staffed most of the time

    Advice to Management

    Get more staff!!

    WHSmith2019-05-08
  6. "Current Head Office Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WHSmith full-time

    Pros

    Exposure and opportunity to get involved in work across various areas of the business My team get on so well and we work very well together Close to my house, flexible with hours!

    Cons

    Volume of work can sometimes be too much Can be hierarchical at times Systems are so out of date which makes my job harder & longer!

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the quick wins. Invest in where it matters - i.e. systems! Get the systems right, you will have more effective workforce. Sometimes management do not cascade information down! Communication is key regardless of level of seniority.

    WHSmith2019-05-03
  7. "Customer Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Kenilworth, England

    I have been working at WHSmith part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team and everyone helps each other

    Cons

    In a small store it can be quiet and boring

    WHSmith2019-05-03
  8. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WHSmith part-time

    Pros

    Easy job on tills and hours

    Cons

    Pay, staff discount, everyone working there was a student

    Advice to Management

    Increase your wages, most of us are students on a budget

    WHSmith2019-05-02
  9. "The employees were the best part of the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WHSmith part-time

    Pros

    MY FELLOW EMPLOYEES AT WHSMITHS

    Cons

    MANAGEMENT, STRUCTURE, PAYMENT, COMMUNICATION, MOTIVATION

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to communicate from store to store

    WHSmith2019-05-01
  10. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive in New Delhi

    I worked at WHSmith full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    a good retail company, high quality products for customers

    Cons

    jobsecurity and salary, because in india it was running by a franchise.

    WHSmith2019-05-02
Found 590 reviews