Wilko Reviews | Glassdoor

Wilko Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 291 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Wilko CEO Sean Toal
Sean Toal
75 Ratings
Pros
  • "20% discount including on sale items (which can go ridiculously cheap)(in 37 reviews)

  • "Staff discount, was made to feel welcome and was sad to leave when Christmas was over(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Would often change shifts on rota without informing me and then blame it on me -(in 14 reviews)

  • "most days included short hours such as 3 hour shifts and lack of security(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Wilko part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Management, Fun work environment, Flexible hours, Good and fast money, opportunity to learn and hone sales skills

    Cons

    Sometimes the management can be a little too overbearing. Must keep in mind that they only want the best for you, even if sometimes they can Micro Manage.

    Wilko2014-09-30
  2. "Good to start with..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Bedford, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wilko part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    20% discount The people you work with

    Cons

    Higher management (not in-store management) slashing store budgets

    Advice to Management

    If I had one thing to say to the senior management, it'll be to stop cutting store budgets. Cutting these store budgets means you're slashing the amount of staff that is in the store, which is leading to more customer complaints, and therefore leading to less customer retention for shopping at Wilko. I joined the company in 2016, and it was great when I first started out, we had plenty of staff, plenty of stock... on shelves, but I have noticed within my few years here at Wilko that the business has gone downhill massively, right to the point that customers think that we're closing down. Yes, I know business is all about making a huge profit, but when you're making such a big profit, there's no need to be cutting store budgets.

    Show More
    Wilko2019-09-16
  3. "Great if students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Selly Oak, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wilko part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    some team leaders very understanding of uni work commitments easy money paid every friday breaks on 4 hour shifts 20% discount

    Cons

    - some team leaders very disrespectful when calling in sick due to mental health issues eg stress "not a valid excuse", sorry but my education costing £9,000 a year is more important than a 4 hour evening shift on a Tuesday afternoon. - management are very dim

    Advice to Management

    smile, get off high horse, its just a retail store.

    Wilko2019-09-06
  4. "Salary for customer service advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Nuneaton, England

    I have been working at Wilko part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work experience obtained n

    Cons

    Low amount of hours available

    Wilko2019-09-06
  5. "Great opportunities for progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Supervisor in Manchester, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Wilko full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working hours, breaks are paid and staff that work there.

    Cons

    Worked there during a restructuring which was quite confusing for the store.

    Wilko2019-09-04
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Customer Service 

    I worked at Wilko full-time

    Pros

    Great team work and training given

    Cons

    Long hours and pay is not great

    Advice to Management

    More flexible hrs

    Wilko2019-09-14
  7. "L1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Wilko part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great weekend job whilst studying at university

    Cons

    Being a weekend cashier and booking time off can be disappointing as the week starts on a Sunday therefore I wouldn’t actually have a full weekend off

    Wilko2019-08-29
  8. "Easy, money ok, good time off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Magor, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wilko full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Shift pattern, you are left to manager your own work load

    Cons

    Mundane day to day tasks

    Wilko2019-09-12
  9. "Wouldn't recommend."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wilko full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    20% off card after so long, pay not bad for retail (but expect to have to do a lot for it).

    Cons

    Hours being constantly cut/reduced if you are not full time staff, head office updates seem a world away from life in the actual stores, customers get angry because they cannot get out of stock items or get served quickly (because the hours have been cut), lot of colleagues openly dislike the job but still stay so hard to be positive about it.

    Advice to Management

    Customers cannot buy stock that stores cannot put out because hours have been cut, customers won't wait ages to be served when there is no wait time on Amazon or they can self shop at places like Tesco.

    Wilko2019-09-11
  10. "okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant 

    I worked at Wilko part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    simple tasks, overtime available

    Cons

    short shifts, poor pay, quite boring

    Wilko2019-09-10
Found 291 reviews