WorkWave Reviews | Glassdoor

WorkWave Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
WorkWave CEO Marne Martin
Marne Martin
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free Lunch (4 out of the 5 days)(in 36 reviews)

  • "They have added a week of PTO time to ensure employees have work/life balance(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "And as with any company we experience growing pains, whether it be through evolving processes, the reorganization of priorities, etc(in 13 reviews)

  • "Company is growing so fast right now there are some growing pains with staff trying to keep up with the increase for their demand(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "A great place to work & collaborate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Holmdel, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WorkWave full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the things that drew me to WorkWave in the beginning was the collaborative environment, and one year later I can say confidently that I am not disappointed. There is a great amount of energy within this company, and that is all thanks to the hardworking and talented staff that I get to engage with every day. Leadership within the company recognizes this as well, and they are quick to deliver words of... encouragement, spotlight hard-earned achievements, and even deliver little surprises to help make their employees' days a little brighter (special shout out to Belgian waffle day!) Aside from the culture though, professionally I am equally as enthusiastic about the opportunities here at WorkWave. Personally, I have grown more in one year at WorkWave than I have at any other place of employment; partially due to having a great supportive team, but also in part to having senior leadership who recognize opportunities for employees to rise to the occasion and embrace new skills, or even bring a new perspective to a project. I am so proud of this company, and beyond thankful for the opportunities it has presented to me.

    Show More

    Cons

    I strongly believe that we are a strong, growing company. And as with any company we experience growing pains, whether it be through evolving processes, the reorganization of priorities, etc. That being said, the leadership at WorkWave acknowledges this and has been very transparent with their efforts to continue to address the growing team, transformative projects, and manage the mounting potential that WorkWave... has.

    Show More
    WorkWave2019-09-30
  2. "WorkWave Gives Me a Place to Grow and Thrive Professionally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Holmdel, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WorkWave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoy the flexibility that WorkWave offers and the benefits are great compared to any other company I have worked for. The environment in the office is nice - low drama and everyone helps each other and is respectful to one another. My favorite part is the creative freedom I experience. At WorkWave I can grow my skill set and exercise creativity. My ideas and contributions are always welcome and that makes... me feel like my work matters for the success of the company - as well as establishes trust.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not many at all. I really do not have any complaints - I enjoy coming to work and it is my favorite company that I have worked for so far in my career. If I had to say anything - it would cross-team communication, but that is pretty normal when a company grows to be a certain size.

    WorkWave2019-10-02
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Okay Company, but seems the Good Reviews are Inflated by HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Holmdel, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WorkWave full-time

    Pros

    WorkWave is a good place to be for a little while, but not to stay. It is a comfortable place to be, but if you are looking to grow… go elsewhere. There are no clear career growth plans, or proper training for the engineers. - Free (Cheap) Lunches 4 days a week to keep you in the office - Flexible Working Hours, with work from home option. (Just make sure you look like your working really hard when you're there... and you'll be good. ) - Relaxed Dress Code (Although, its better to dress up. Perception of working hard matters more than you think.) - Nice Bell Works Building - Immediate 5% 401k Match

    Show More

    Cons

    There are hardworking people at WorkWave. Unfortunately, management is very poor. Management does not take the advice of employees seriously, pushes for quick features, and wants to micromanage. WorkWave was acquired by a global company and is pushing for aggressive road maps with short deadlines. This is a tech company, but it is not run as a tech company. It is run by business and sales/marketing people that... do not know how to maintain and grow their software company properly. They need better technical management, and to better update and maintain their tech stack. - Hiring a lot of international cheap labor to support their software - Having hiring and retention issues. Not sure why they are firing people. - Starting to incorporate more micromanagement practices - No career growth or proper training for engineers - Management does not plan for future features properly, and priority changes frequently. (Priority changes so frequently, you question management and your motivation to complete these goals...) - Engineers are not given clear vision of desired features to develop - Software documentation is minimal, if any at all

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make it so engineers want to stay. They are the ones building and creating your product after all. You need good engineers and a clean development process for a good software product. - Provide training for engineers - Provide better educational incentives to keep engineers up to date (Certificates, etc.) - Create clear career growth tracks for engineers - Promote personable managers... - Stop pushing the... perception that the company is doing "so good". Its actually worrisome sometimes...

    Show More
    WorkWave2019-07-17
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Starts well, but 100% doesn't end that way..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at WorkWave

    Pros

    -Free Lunch (4 out of the 5 days) -Most lower-level coworkers are willing to help you out -Some of the events that the company hosts are fun to participate in

    Cons

    -The onboarding process is ROUGH to say the least. You get a good start, but it reverts to startup-quality onboarding where you're almost on your own in some departments. -Benefits could be better (insurance-wise) -There is NO true internal movement unless it's out of necessity here. Job requirements are so high that internal applicants DON'T apply as they're told they don't meet the minimum. -There are no resources... for you to learn how to move up or out of your position. They were in the process of creating a new structure for this, but it's just a structural change, not assistance with how to actually be better. -Once you find out your worth, you'll find that pay is not the greatest here. It could be worse, but don't be surprised if you're making less than others as a higher tiered employee. -The lack of product knowledge across the board makes it REALLY hard to get help when trying to address something (from how to market to how to support, it's a shame when nobody seems to know exactly how the newest features work besides one person) Lastly, upper management seems to be it complete disarray when it comes to the VPs. There's no communication between lower level and the C-level so nobody's ever on the same page, and it generally is very hard to get the right message about the company, its future, and your future when different people tell you polar opposites about what's going on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    PLEASE bring back the Employee-first mentality. There's a lot of politics and miscommunication at play in the Upper Management level (especially on the Support and Engineering levels) and it's driving your employees out in droves. This would be a really great company to work for if you can fix this issue and work on the other cons...

    WorkWave2019-08-07
  5. "So happy to be here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Holmdel, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WorkWave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growing company that provides great products/services. Very excited to be a part of WorkWave.

    Cons

    Sometimes there is a lack of communication & growing pains.

    WorkWave2019-05-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to grow and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Holmdel, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WorkWave full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at WorkWave for almost a year, and I have learned so much within that year. It is rare that you find a company that really empowers you to learn and grow, and actually be able to bring your ideas to life, and WorkWave lets you do just that. The company is filled with so many hard working people and smart minds, and with the hard work and challenges that come your way, there is also a great culture... and a good sense of support overall.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is growing and changing at a rapid pace, and it can be challenging to align your goals and keep up with a constantly moving company, but I know it is all part of growing pains that most companies face - the plus side is that it keeps you on your toes!

    Advice to Management

    Be as transparent as possible, and encourage more cross-team collaboration and support

    WorkWave2019-02-22
  7. "Great place to do your life's best work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Holmdel, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WorkWave full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    WorkWave is situated in an amazing location that promotes growth, creativity, and innovation. The office environment is open and casual, allowing peers and teams to keep the lines of communication flowing across all bases. Each employee is provided with the knowledge, tools, and resources to succeed. All areas of the office are equipped with the latest tech for better productivity and sharing. There is a great... sense of company culture and pride. There is room for career path options as the company continues to grow. Commercial success with multiple products and industries offers scalability with many opportunities. Being at WorkWave continues to excite me everyday. The company's core values align with my own. Working in Customer Success is challenging, yet very rewarding when you're able to constantly build team and customer relationships.

    Show More

    Cons

    Keeping up with the company's fast-paced growth and change can be difficult, but senior management and leadership are making efforts to address this.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for making me one of WorkWave's raving fans. The support and guidance is seriously appreciated. Continue to recognize all of the talent in the company!

    WorkWave2019-02-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Project Manager, ServMan Division"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Indian Trail, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WorkWave full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good team camaraderie. Management understands the importance of work/life balance.

    Cons

    Because our division is new to WorkWave we sometimes feel left out of corporate events, but that is getting better.

    WorkWave2018-11-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Leader in pest control software under new management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WorkWave full-time

    Pros

    Former CEO placed strong focus on employee culture; Decent quarterly updates on mission, strategy and goals.

    Cons

    Many products and product teams created some fragmentation of focus.

    Advice to Management

    Clearly communicate growth and product strategy to employees early and often. Keep using tools like CultureIQ to maintain a pulse on employee sentiment as you navigate the transition to a new CEO.

    WorkWave2018-10-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Holmdel, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WorkWave full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    WorkWave is truly everything and more that was discussed during my interview process. The interview process was flawless as the recruiter ensured that all my needs were met, she went above and beyond. Everyone is interested in getting to know you and the culture is phenomenal! Our newest product WorkWave Service is beautiful and the team has done a great job to ensure it’s top notch. I’ve been here less then a... month but I’m extremely excited to continue my journey here and to grow into a leadership role in the future.

    Show More

    Cons

    Currently there are no concerns.

    WorkWave2018-05-10
Found 92 reviews