WorldStrides Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
WorldStrides President and CEO Bob Gogel (no image)
Bob Gogel
22 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long hours, stressful during busy season(in 16 reviews)

  • "The work-life balance can be challenging during peak times, but I'm certain that's the case in any cyclical business(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "WorldStrides"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Charlottesville, VA

    I worked at WorldStrides full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good Gym membership offered at discounted rate Travel opportunities are available

    Cons

    Management tends to choose sides with employees based on personal relationships versus value of the worker

    WorldStrides2020-02-09

    WorldStrides Response

    February 10, 2020SVP of HR

    Thanks for the feedback.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at WorldStrides full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great mission and good people to work with. There's a lot of room to grow and many people have been with the company for a long time. 401k match is decent. Work isn't silo'd and you'll have the opportunity to learn new tools.

    Cons

    Management doesn't invest in its employees. Health coverage could be better. Pay could be better.

    Continue reading
    WorldStrides2020-05-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "ISA was great, Worldstrides was awful."

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WorldStrides full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    ISA. Genuinely cared about students and their experience.

    Cons

    Worldstrides. Skimming the top off the market solely for money. I think the saying is “more quantity, less quality”?

    Continue reading
    WorldStrides2020-05-26
  4. "good overall"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at WorldStrides full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great atmosphere and fun product to sell

    Cons

    pay and clear upward path in company

    Continue reading
    WorldStrides2020-04-21
  5. "Awesome experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Advisor in Vienna, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WorldStrides full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Negotiable hourly wage and great upper management

    Cons

    not being clear on how commission structure works

    WorldStrides2020-04-20
  6. "Unprofessional and poorly organized"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at WorldStrides full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with time off requests and work schedule. Upon starting the job, the equipment and accounts set up is quick. Company gaterings and outings frequent. Operations team efficient and great to work with.HR team great to work with and very responsive.

    Cons

    Lack of work ethics. Unprofessional and unorganized enviorment. You are expected to go above and beyond and take on responsabilities outside of you job description. If you are a creative person and find solutions to improve the processes/procedures, you will be shut down. Your superiors have preference for certain people and it doesn't matter how hard you try to do your best, you will be shut down and looked as a disturbance to the work flow. Everyone prefers to shut their eyes and do as they are told and never complain or stand up for their principles. This job is for someone who does what they're told and does not ask questions or suggests ideas. Management always tries to set up rules that are ALWAYS broken by some poeple with preferences that are always allowed to break the rules. But not you. No one takes account or responsability. If you try to complain or set the matter straight you are ignored and just given the runaround. Management just doesnt like when people speak up.

    Continue reading
    WorldStrides2020-05-19
  7. "Overall, very good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WorldStrides full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Directors are very fair with expectations. Obviously things are a bit crazy during the busy season, but what job doesn’t have those busy times. Health insurance has been improved a lot since I started. The PTO is extremely generous. The people I work with daily enjoy their jobs and make for a very positive work environment.

    Cons

    Communication from leadership needs major improvement. There are times when new systems/protocols are rolled out and not only are you not told about them, but you also never get the opportunity to even have a open conversation with leadership about them. It makes sense that leadership is in a position to make these decisions, but it causes some issues during the implementation stage when they put them into place without talking to the people that actually will have to deal with them. Some hiccups could be avoided by getting insight from people that work directly with the aspects of the company they are trying to fix instead of just assuming leadership has the same deep understanding. Paying for guaranteed parking is also a con. It stinks to have to pay monthly to have a parking spot in a garage that is also for the public and can fill up by lunch time. I have only left for lunch once in the past year because I couldn’t find parking in the garage I pay to park in when I returned.

    Continue reading
    WorldStrides2020-03-12
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Stay away for now"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WorldStrides full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some very smart and dedicated people.

    Cons

    Top management is fractured. Too focused on a acquisitions and not enough integration of the existing units. Big opportunities being squandered.

    Continue reading
    WorldStrides2020-02-17
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Account Manager"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Charlottesville, VA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WorldStrides

    Pros

    I can’t even think of any!

    Cons

    Upper management is very stiff, and opinionated. Judging as if you are on trial. Micromanaging every step of the way. If you want your spirit broken so they can try to build you back up and you don’t mind being looked down upon this is the place for you. I wouldn’t even recommend my worst enemy to apply here. If you are unique you are not accepted. So many fake personalities. It’s absolutely disgusting. A sorority of grown women that want to pull you in or push you out. This was by far the worst decision I made in my career path. And HR, of course you will defend this to the end and I’m sure be rude and snippy in your response. Not surprising.

    Continue reading
    WorldStrides2020-03-11
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Circling the drain since the buy-out"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Charlottesville, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WorldStrides full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Creating incredible educational experiences for children all of the world.

    Cons

    The company is completely gone downhill since it was bought out by a French investment Corporation.

    Continue reading
    WorldStrides2020-02-04

    WorldStrides Response

    February 4, 2020SVP of HR

    Thanks for the feedback. Since the French based company became our primary shareholder we have acquired 4 companies, created an "Innovation" function to help drive new products in the marketplace, placed an emphasis on Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) by hiring someone completed devoted to driving this within the organization, committed significant time and money to drive Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) within the company as well as our products, increased employee benefits including 8 weeks of parental leave, 4 weeks of caregiver leave and enhanced our overall medical benefits without increasing the cost to the employees. We certainly need to make money and need to continue to grow - we are a for profit business - but there is a balance in everything that is being done. Fiscal year 2020 which ends in June is shaping up to be a fantastic year for WorldStrides.

    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 234 Reviews