WorldStrides Reviews | Glassdoor

WorldStrides Reviews

Updated February 5, 2019
200 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Bob Gogel
3 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Heath Benefits , work from home" (in 17 reviews)

  • "Everyone is so friendly, there is a great work/life balance - 17 days in your first year alone" (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "The work-life balance can be challenging during peak times, but I'm certain that's the case in any cyclical business" (in 13 reviews)

  • "long hours, stressful during busy season" (in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Charlottesville, VA
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WorldStrides full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great mission and company really seems to care about doing things right. Coworkers are friendly. Love the location and the office.

    Cons

    Nothing major. Gets really busy in the Spring but summers are very relaxed

    WorldStrides Response

    Feb 4, 2019 – SVP of HR

    Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback!


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Not an accurate job description"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Educational Travel Specialist
    Former Employee - Educational Travel Specialist
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WorldStrides full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Heath Benefits , work from home

    Cons

    Salary, hours, job expectation

    Advice to Management

    Sales territory’s are spread too thin for new employees to realistically achieve the lofty sales goals put in place. Employees are under compensated for the hours they are expected to work. You’re told no overtime, but on the other hand expected to work 6 days a week for 6 months. Vacation time is also good, but you’re only able to take time off in July or December even with advanced notice. Salary is 42k, but 12k has to be bought back which is almost impossible in the first 3 years leaving employees in the whole and responsible for buying back their previous years before they can commission. Also for being a travel company their are little benefits or opportunities to actually travel frequently.

    WorldStrides Response

    Feb 4, 2019 – SVP of HR

    Thanks for the feedback. We are very upfront about the hours of this role and compensate sales employees for any time over 40 hours in a week. This is a sales role and it is tough - but there are... More

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Educational Travel Specialists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WorldStrides full-time

    Pros

    Lots of perks. Work remotely 3-4 days a week, great colleagues, great boss, great company, great product, great professional development.

    Cons

    Salary is low and health insurance could be better.

    Advice to Management

    We need to provide more financial aid to students. And employees should get to take a trip every other year.

    WorldStrides Response

    Jan 11, 2019 – SVP of HR

    Thanks for the feedback and happy to see that you enjoy working for WorldStrides!


  4. Helpful (9)

    "We have seen better days"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Sales in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WorldStrides full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Travel opportunities, good products, business casual (although some people take advantage) atmosphere. Can be a fun place to work. Very solid benefits and company perks. New CEO seems to be focused on growth and cohesiveness and that is a positive. As a whole, WorldStrides is a good company and the future looks bright. But there is definitely room for improvement in Richmond.

    Cons

    New comp plan pays out regularly but is not as generous. Depending on whats important to you, this could be a pro.

    I think the atmosphere in the Richmond office needs to be addressed immediately. Us versus them mentality that creates hostility among teams. Since the acquisition of Explorica its not uncommon to hear "Worldstrides sucks" "why would you ever pay more to travel with Worldstrides." There needs to be more cohesiveness and understanding that we are Worldstrides--not Explorica.

    Favoritism abound. To a degree, it is normal for there to be office pets, but it can be a little ridiculous these days. The big problem with this is that there is NO consistency. The rules change daily depending on which clique you are in. Lead rules change, territory rules change, contact rules change . This breeds resentment, undermines cohesiveness, and detracts from the overall goals of the office. When you have an office that spends its time complaining, and wondering how to do their job today because they don't know the rules, you lack productivity. I believe theres a reason we never see the top producers in this office...they have earned the right to avoid this environment. But for those of us that are still trying to earn the right to work from home, we have to work around that. If you are benefiting from the favoritism of changing rules, then it could be a pro.

    There seems to be a lack of professionalism in the office with cursing, prayer groups in the office, gym clothing worn throughout the day, cliques, there even seems to be a problem of marijuana usage at lunch or maybe some are just burning nasty incense regularly?? Maybe that's why we have prayer groups in the middle of the work day, cause the office smells like Satan's been puffing the magic dragon and God fearing people want to save themselves? Who am I to judge, I am all about everyone living their lives, but in the middle of the work day...I thought we were professionals?

    The office feels like a middle school, grab some snacks and just sit back and watch the drama unfold. You don't need a television set if you work here. The problem is when its hostile and you dont feel safe expressing yourself cause you happen to be on the" wrong" team and you fear punitive retribution. Those who wield power should not practice draconian methods because someone disagrees with you. This should, can, and needs to change. Leaders earn respect by adapting, growing, and relating. Fear is NOT a motivator. Manipulation and disunity is not productive. Just because we cannot make everyone happy does not mean we need to make the remainder miserable.

    Advice to Management

    More executive or HR presence in Richmond. How about surprise and unplanned visits? Maybe that will keep the childish antics in check and we can go back to being a place of business. Remind people who signs their paychecks. I think it would be great if our new CEO stopped in as well. Given the current circumstances, I would not recommend Richmond to any new applicants. I am hopeful that upper management will take this seriously and work to address these concerns,

    WorldStrides Response

    Feb 4, 2019 – SVP of HR

    Thanks for the feedback. We have implemented a plan to improve the situation in Richmond and are optimistic that we will see improvement in the future.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WorldStrides full-time

    Pros

    Lots of travel opportunities, flexible

    Cons

    Office politics. Poor training process in the past.

    WorldStrides Response

    Feb 4, 2019 – SVP of HR

    Thanks for the feedback.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits, not competitive pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at WorldStrides full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits including awesome pretaxed gym and phone discounts.

    Cons

    No growth and pay is not completely competitive for Charlottesville.

    WorldStrides Response

    Jan 11, 2019 – SVP of HR

    Thanks for the feedback and glad you think highly of the company. We continually look at the market to make sure we are paying competitive wages. We also provide performance based pay increases and... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not a Good Sales Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ETS in Spokane, WA
    Current Employee - ETS in Spokane, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WorldStrides full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Nice company history and story, strong marketing and HR, does well with operations.

    Cons

    The compensation plan creates deficits that take a long time to retire (years). Ask for past performance numbers of the newer people and put them into the comp plan, you will see that you will very likely owe the company money! Management is trained to look for you doing something wrong, but ignores the good stuff. We get pushed to do illegal stuff like record phone calls without telling the teacher. Inter-company conflict, and lack of rules has divisions stealing sales from each other, creating a terrible sales culture. Worldstrides recently settled a large wrongful wage claim in California, and it is likely to spread around the country. The working from home sounds great, but trust me, it is very hard to make money, and things are not like they appear from the outside.

    Advice to Management

    Would you really want to be treated the way you treat us? Or have your kids treated that way?

    WorldStrides Response

    Jan 28, 2019 – SVP of HR

    Thanks for your feedback but a number of the things you reference are not accurate. I am sorry you did not enjoy your 8+ years at the company. WorldStrides has been in business for over 50 years and... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Educational Travel Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educational Travel Specialist in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Educational Travel Specialist in Richmond, VA

    I have been working at WorldStrides full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good base pay
    Good performance incentives
    Great company that genuinely cares about its mission and employees

    Cons

    Working in a call center - if you're not okay with being on the phone nonstop, this is not the role for you

    WorldStrides Response

    Nov 28, 2018 – SVP of HR

    Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. Glad to hear that you are enjoying your experience with the company.


  9. "International Travel Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at WorldStrides full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Wonderful people, management is suportive

    Cons

    Since the merger with another company there is a transition period. Atmosphere has changed along with management and its unsettling.

    Advice to Management

    Be supportive and fair

    WorldStrides Response

    Jan 11, 2019 – SVP of HR

    Thanks for your feedback. We are aware that there have been some challenges with two different sales teams working together and are addressing with management to improve the situation.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Interesting mission but avoid technology and other troubled departments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at WorldStrides full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Cool mission. Company changes lives through travel. Fun subject matter.
    Has gone through leadership transition over the last few years. Most for the better.

    Cons

    Some leadership misses mark. Technology department has management that doesn't care about people at all. A closer comparison on how it's run is a retail store or gas station not a professional environment. You can find much better organizations if you have the skills.
    Company is learning it's way very immature. A lot of growing pains before becoming a functional average organization.

    Advice to Management

    New CEO has work cut out for them. Continue to strive to be a better managed organization. Improve skill sets without burning out staff with old processes.
    Do a better job of taking care of people. The good ones leave when they can or have better opportunities.
    Poor jobs of keeping good talent along with improving competencies of those in the organization.

    WorldStrides Response

    Nov 28, 2018 – SVP of HR

    Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy some aspects of the organization. The IT group in particular has worked very hard to make improvements and they are trending towards... More