f.y.e. Reviews | Glassdoor

f.y.e. Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 272 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
f.y.e. CEO Michael Feurer
Michael Feurer
74 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Magazines especially are the biggest push with no consideration to how much repeat business or actual sales any given associate makes(in 29 reviews)

  • "upper management expected WAY too much from employees(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at f.y.e. full-time

    Pros

    Great people and a lot of fun

    Cons

    Selling subscriptions can be difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Ease up on the add ons.

    f.y.e.2018-05-23
  2. "Chill and friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at f.y.e. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, surrounded by popculture all day

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    f.y.e.2019-06-10
  3. "Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at f.y.e. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • great bonds built between workers • management (at least at my store) is experienced and accommodating • varied selection of music and movies, as well as pop culture memorabilia • flexible hours and shifts • not a difficult entry-level job

    Cons

    Only real downside is the pay for managers and a rude customer once in a while. Overall a positive experience

    Advice to Management

    Maybe place more emphasis on customer service and sales over the add-ons at the register, and also pay managers that have been part of the company for decades more. However, these are minor complaints for me, as I thoroughly enjoy the job.

    f.y.e.2019-05-21
  4. "Just doing this so I can get access"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 

      I worked at f.y.e. part-time

      Pros

      Easy job to do 5 words

      Cons

      Minimum wage is not very good

      f.y.e.2019-05-13
    • "Good starter job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Virginia Beach, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at f.y.e. part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      The food court is generally near by

      Cons

      far too many to list

      Advice to Management

      listen to the advice your staff gives you, there are valid points to our concerns

      f.y.e.2019-03-31
    • "Family"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Harlingen, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at f.y.e. part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Management is great, flexible hours, store itself is amazing.

      Cons

      Their isn't really a cons here

      f.y.e.2019-03-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Not for me."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at f.y.e. part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Shared interests with guests and kind associates

      Cons

      Hostile work environment coming from management

      f.y.e.2019-03-04
    • Helpful (5)

      "Avoid it unless you really want to work for them."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Dayton, OH
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at f.y.e. full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Got to work with some great coworkers. We sold a lot of neat products. Most of the time, we had enjoyable customers and got to talk about pop culture, movies, and music with them which was nice.

      Cons

      Corporate has no idea what they're doing Insane pressure to make staff meet absurd percentages for discount card trial and magazine trial sign-ups. Corporate does nothing about district managers who are extremely verbally abusive

      Advice to Management

      Treat staff better and invest in them (made less as an assistant manager than every store around us starts lowest associates at. The pay is seriously a joke.) Quit buying junk electronics, knick-knacks, and clothes. Get rid of the discount card and magazines, as they cost the company loyal customers and sales.

      f.y.e.2019-02-21
    • Helpful (2)

      "Eh"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Montebello, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at f.y.e. full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great coworkers and cool events to work

      Cons

      “Don’t do this, you’re fired, do this, you’re fired” Bad hours for part time

      Advice to Management

      Do whatever the customer wants. Then get in trouble later . Don’t do what they want, then get in trouble later. Crap pay for the bs you deal with. Only stood for the coworkers. Customers steal like crazy here and you can’t do anything about it

      f.y.e.2019-03-12
    • "Great Starter Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Macomb, MI

      I worked at f.y.e. part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Flexible Hours Fair Pay Great Team Solid Learning Experience for Sales

      Cons

      Outdated System High Turnover Steep Learning Curve

      f.y.e.2019-02-15
    Found 272 reviews