Cover image for pMD
Logo
Best Places to Work 2022

pMD

Engaged Employer

pMD

Add a Review

pMD Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 148 of over 160 reviews
4.8
97% Recommend to a Friend
Best Places to Work 2022
pMD CEO Philippe d’Offay
97% Approve of CEO
Top CEOs at SMBs 2021

Found 147 of over 160 reviews

4.8
97%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
pMD CEO Philippe d’Offay
Philippe d’Offay
131 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

500

70 Comments

Tech

473.2K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=pMD~498449
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of pMD and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing company

    Sep 4, 2022 - Billing Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very supportive company with a well rounded approach to training.

    Cons

    Remote, part time work can be challenging but pMD supports YOU

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Don’t walk, RUN the other way. Honest review of pMD

    Feb 15, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you’ve ever wondered what it would be like to work for Donald Trump, you’ll get a similar experience working at pMD. The leadership team and particularly the CEO & founder, Philippe d’Offay, are the real problem. They will always, without a doubt, put the priorities of the company over the people. Philippe surrounds himself with loyalists and sycophants, and there is no place for criticism or different ideas. They mask much of this with happy hours, prizes, and the narrative that you’re changing healthcare in the US. But it comes at a price - there is no psychological safety, they use cult-like tactics to get you to work long hours, and unless you’re on the leadership team you’re a pawn in their game. The company is eerily similar to a cult, and I truly don’t think Philippe would see that as an insult. Of course it’s not all bad - I’ve made some good friends at the company and the experience working directly with doctors is rewarding. But it’s simply not worth sacrificing your sanity to gain work friends and health tech experience. There are plenty of other great health tech companies in the Bay Area that have honest leadership and good perks. An important note if you’re reading this: the reviews on this page are NOT honest. The leadership team has an obsession with forcing everyone in the company to write positive reviews. If you include something negative about the company, they will track you down by process of elimination. It’s terrifying. Just look at all the Cons from the reviews - they all say the same thing. This is my honest review. I you’re considering a role at pMD - as an engineer, account executive, operations, or marketing, I sincerely hope you do your due diligence and strongly consider working for a different company.

    Cons

    See the company review above

    Continue reading
    22 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the pMD team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing place to work

    Nov 5, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    pMD has given me back the desire to learn and grow. Everyone spends their days supporting each other and helping each other.

    Cons

    The days are busy, but rewarding.

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Change is hard, but change is also exciting... and good for career growth!

    Nov 5, 2021 - Product Team in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Since I've worked at pMD, the direction of the company and the product has changed several times. Despite the changes in goals, the core values of the team and the family-like feel has remained constant. This is what I love most about pMD --- it stays true to its values of a customer-first and high growth company. Because pMD has always been and always will be a customer-first company, it doesn't always make for the easiest job, but it is rewarding when you can see tangible results in helping out a patient or provider. For me, doesn't get more rewarding than being able to help an elderly patient use Telehealth so they can to get the medicine they need. The hyper growth culture at pMD is demanding, and your experience is completely dependent on the "you get out what you put in..." mentality, which means it isn't necessarily for everyone. While I would love for all my friends to work at pMD, I also understand that it wouldn't be a place where all my friends would thrive (some friends would, but not all). Strictly my experience, but I love the hyper speed focus because doing everything all at once is inherently part of who I am as a person as well. There have been big product direction changes recently, especially in engineering that contributed to initial confusion and biting our own tail, but the new product direction is super exciting, and I can't wait to see it come to fruition! The new change in direction has exposed some tough industry-related problems to solve, but tackling the difficult problems is what makes pMD different, special, and on track for hyper growth! While you do wear more than one hat at times, it also means you have many opportunities to develop new skills that will ultimately contribute to your career growth (either at pMD or elsewhere).

    Cons

    The wear multiple hats culture is a core part of pMD, so if you like the freedom of working with other departments, outside of your main role, on projects towards achieving a common goal, you will love it here. If you prefer to focus on strictly just the role title you were hired for (nothing wrong with that), then you may find it more difficult to feel fulfilled and part of the team. We do have some younger leaders, but all leaders started somewhere. pMD has started developing these new leaders and implemented consistent mentorship sessions between the newer leaders and the more experienced leaders.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Flexibility Matters

    Oct 17, 2021 - Executive Assistant in Monterey, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Reflecting on last year, the main thing that stood out to me was pMD's flexibility. 2020 was a year for companies to show their true colors and how they handle everything when challenges arise. We all know what a difficult year it was and how the pandemic affected all of our lives. For me, the one thing that felt stable was my job. I was grateful to be surrounded by this team and be working for a company that was doing something to help. At the time, I was based out of the company headquarters in the Bay Area. After all that 2020 threw at me, I had decided that I wanted to move out of the city so I could be closer to family and start building a home (house, dog, etc). I expressed this to my manager assuming that it may not work but instead was extremely supported in this decision. I also saw this flexibility with some of my other colleagues. Some moved to different states and those who had to transition to having their children at home were given schedule flexibility. What makes pMD feel so different from other companies is that the management cares about you as a person both in professional growth and personal happiness. As long as you are open and honest with your manager and team, you can have the life and career that you want.

    Cons

    The ever-present challenges of the healthcare industry require adaptability and tenacity. The mission of the company is bold and you have to want to make a difference in healthcare to work at pMD.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    More than just a best place to work

    Oct 15, 2021 - Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    pMD is more than just a best place to work, it's the best place I can imagine to build a career. In my years at pMD I've been provided with countless opportunities for growth and development, constant new challenges, and increasing responsibility. Every day I come to work and know that I am part of helping to solve problems in healthcare for our patients and providers. The team is a close knit community of colleagues, mentors, and friends. pMD embraces a family-friendly culture, and through every life change I've felt supported and cared for as an individual, not just an employee. If you want to work in an environment where you can grow quickly, will be challenged and pushed to be your best, and feel supported and invested in at each step along the way, pMD is the place for you.

    Cons

    If you want a job where you just clock in and clock out, complacency is commonplace, and each day is always the same, pMD is not the place for you. This is a highly motivated and driven team trying to solve big problems. Things move fast and you will be asked to wear many hats in order to best serve our customers, which is not for everyone.

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Tech Company with its priorities straight

    Oct 15, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    From day 1 of working at pMD, it is always been glaringly obvious that the company has its priorities in order. The company shows excellent care for its employees through everything from the onboarding process they provide, to the way employees greet to each other, to the work/life balance that it encourages, to the rewards it provides for meeting company goals. Everything in pMD culture shows that it's life-blood is truly caring about people and its employees. This builds an absolutely stellar environment across departments, and really makes pMD feel like its own little community.

    Cons

    No matter how many times I've been asked for cons about working at pMD, I never can really come up with anything. The only thing I can think of is that I do wish I could spend more time with my coworkers, and since pMD is in large part remote, they are scattered across the country making it a bit hard to see them all during the current travel climate.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company

    Oct 18, 2021 - Vice President of Business Development 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Because the company is a slow money company (not a PE owned enterprise looking to be consolidated) the company can risk trying to solve complicated problems without knowing at the beginning exactly how we will solve it. If any industry needs this it is Healthcare! As a team member you get to work on a wide variety of things and are well supported in solving for ideal customer results.

    Cons

    Typical growth pains related to expanding a team. You have to like doing a lot of different things in day.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Place to work with lots of opportunities to grow

    Oct 15, 2021 - Billing and Collections in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The workplace culture is awesome and management is the best. They are very understanding and supportive to your needs. The company provides great perks and work/home balance and flexibility.

    Cons

    I do not have any bad experiences to share...

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    pMD is the bomb!

    Oct 14, 2021 - Chief Morale Officer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    pMD is a very unique company. Being privately owned gives us a huge edge. We can radically change direction at any moment without having to wait for outside approval. Not only are we a leader in the medical industry, but we keep gaining more and more of a lead. We also have a mission to save lives and that feels awesome! We've been able to adapt to our record growth in these uncertain times with strong hiring, onboarding, mentoring and teamwork. Our ability to convert new hires into contributing team members is extraordinary. Lastly, we are undergoing a metamorphosis at pMD. We've introduced a new service that is exceeding expectations. It has presented opportunities across the board for individuals to setup and fill leadership roles that didn't exist a year ago.

    Cons

    We've always prided ourselves on having an in-person culture. Transitioning from in-person to remote has been a challenge.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 147 Reviews
</>Embed

pMD Reviews FAQs

pMD has an overall rating of 4.8 out of 5, based on over 160 reviews left anonymously by employees. 97% of employees would recommend working at pMD to a friend and 95% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, pMD employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at pMD. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

97% of pMD employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated pMD 4.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.8 for culture and values and 4.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at pMD to be management, senior leadership, career development and the cons to be work life balance .

Popular Careers with pMD Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at pMD? Share Your Experiences

pMD logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

pMD Photos

+ Add Photo
pMD photo of: The conversation is always fun and the food is delicious!
pMD photo of: Team work session meet-up with great coffee
pMD photo of: We make time enjoy local cuisine while on the road
pMD photo of: We love welcoming new team members with a group cheers!
pMD photo of: Collaboration and a post-it wall
pMD photo of: Our incredible billing operations team
pMD photo of: Happy hour to celebrate new team members!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

pMD Job Seekers Also Viewed

Zendesk Logo
Zendesk

4.2

1,386 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 160 pMD reviews submitted anonymously by pMD employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if pMD is right for you.