APL Logistics Reviews | Glassdoor

APL Logistics Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 149 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
APL Logistics CEO William Villalon
William Villalon
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Bonuses are consistently hit, work life balance and no support for upper management(in 8 reviews)

  • "None, great company to work for but as I said in pros long hours(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at APL Logistics full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Collaborative work environment. No micro-managing. You are given your responsibilities and given the support to execute them.

    Cons

    Last minute short deadlines for some projects give one the sense that some better planning work can be done by upper management. This has shown improvement over the past 12 months.

    APL Logistics2019-03-23
  2. "This is a great and comfortable place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Handler in Grand Prairie, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at APL Logistics full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    It was cool, I worked here 4-5 years and I enjoyed most of it. They have a nice group of people over looking the warehouse and they make you feel welcomed.

    Cons

    Time is one of the main challenges: you never know when you're going to get off. Higher level management likes to look the other way.

    Advice to Management

    I think the management should be more upfront with employees.

    APL Logistics2019-05-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Stressful Environment, Unhappy Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at APL Logistics full-time

    Pros

    Lots of employee activities - can wear costumes to work on Halloween with a Halloween Party, Christmas Holiday lunch/event. The head of North America is one of the best Executives I ever worked with. He takes the time to get to know the employees, and is warm and inviting.

    Cons

    Terrible communication, high level of employee turnover, many unfriendly Executives

    APL Logistics2019-03-20
  4. "Nice culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at APL Logistics full-time

      Pros

      Learning environment, helping managers and collegues

      Cons

      small work station, slow internet,

      APL Logistics2019-02-22
    • Helpful (2)

      "Promise the world, deliver nothing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Logistics Coordinator in Wilmington, DE
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at APL Logistics part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Working as contractors for DuPont and the Chemours Group was a treat. The employees at those companies treated me with respect and as one of their own.

      Cons

      I was promised a full time role after a month of working there. That didn't happen. During my training, I was expected to put my cell phone in a drawer and my bathroom break was timed. I have never seen that before. We were given laptops and remote access but we were expected to come in even when there was FEET of snow on the roads. I received no benefits of sick days or PTO. The hourly pay was horrible as well for someone...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Place more value on your employees. A work environment when bathroom breaks aren't timed are usually healthier.

      APL Logistics2019-01-31
    • Helpful (1)

      "Long hours, Lack of support, Employees are just a number"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Warehouse Supervisor in Breinigsville, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at APL Logistics full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The company itself really didn't have any pro's. Everyone other the management were great to work with. It was a great crew.

      Cons

      Management didn't care about the employees at all. Everyone was expendable no matter how long they have been with the company. Worked people to death and never even as much as a thank you was given.

      Advice to Management

      Take better care of your people.

      APL Logistics2019-01-23
    • "It's an okay job for now"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at APL Logistics full-time

        Pros

        You get alot of overtime

        Cons

        You work long hours mandatory

        Advice to Management

        none

        APL Logistics2018-12-21
      • Helpful (1)

        "Good and bad experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Logistics Analyst in Phoenix, AZ
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at APL Logistics full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Learned a lot mainly due to my own initiative and a few good people who are either in different roles or have left the company. Met some great people who I’ve stayed in contact with. Experience has helped further establish ongoing career.

        Cons

        Pay does not justify expected workload. PMTs (annual reviews) and career goal reviews (if offered) are a joke, they are not taken seriously in bettering employees the company best asset. Culture has worsened from time joined company which is truly sad, it used to be s positive work environment with less gossip & negativity. management doesn’t handle workforce well either 1 keep bad employees (takes major major problems...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Change culture for the better. Better equip/train employees & managers or fire them, shouldn’t keep them for years if they can’t do the job. Hold them accountable! Reward those employees doing a great job & make sure workload is balanced all around otherwise you’re going to continue to have a high turnover and lose good people. Give them a reason to stay.

        APL Logistics2018-12-12
      • Helpful (1)

        "logistics coordinator"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Logistics Coordinator in Wilmington, DE
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at APL Logistics full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good opportunity, Introductory level work into a growing business

        Cons

        Not the best training and support systems

        Advice to Management

        Open communications with employees

        APL Logistics2018-08-17
      • "Claims"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at APL Logistics full-time

        Pros

        Work closely with a very large and well known company, DuPont, opens up opportunities....if you are lucky

        Cons

        Management is blind to the problems surrounding them, even when multiple people complain about the same thing. Maybe because majority of the problems are within middle management. Poor leadership skills throughout

        Advice to Management

        Open your eyes.

        APL Logistics2018-08-30
      Found 149 reviews