Algorithmia Reviews

Updated May 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
92%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Algorithmia CEO, Founder Diego Oppenheimer
Diego Oppenheimer
13 Ratings
  1. "Would definitely recommend"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Algorithmia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, cutting edge product

    Cons

    Sometimes typical startup growing pains

    Algorithmia2020-05-15
  2. "Firing on all cylinders and setup for a bright future!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Algorithmia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible market opportunity, clarity of vision and purpose, strong product offering and go-to market strategy, solid and fiscally responsible execution, admirable culture, feedback driven and learning organization, humble but confidant executives, passionaite mid-level leadership, dedicated front-line and individual contributors, maturing product features, compelling technology, growing list of enterprise customers.

    Cons

    As with most early stage startups and compared to established large companies, you may give up some cash component of salary. However, the total compensation upside can be significant if a successful exit happens. Its can be a big IF even in the best of circumstances and many external factors are outside any company's control.

    Continue reading
    Algorithmia2020-04-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture with Stimulating Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer - Platform 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Algorithmia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mentally challenging environment with collegiate atmosphere. No tolerance for toxic behavior. Level headed management. Always encouraged to learn more about tech. Great people to work with. Workohalism is frowned upon, we want to move fast, not make a lot of mistakes.

    Cons

    This is not a job for people who don't want to grow their skill set.

    Continue reading
    Algorithmia2020-03-25
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Hardworking, fast-paced company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Algorithmia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    From my experience, Algorithmia manages to balance hardworking, focused work with an acceptance of helping others around you in times of need. Individuals are always willing to jump in on ad-hoc projects and supportive teammates are available to ask for help or advice. The work is flexible, with a work-life balance being whatever you make it be. I've also appreciated the efforts from the bottom up to be supportive of women in tech and to diversify the company overall.

    Cons

    At a fast-paced company, growing pains are bound to occur - some project teams happen too fast or too slow compared to others, which can be hard to balance. Sometimes with new team members coming on board, it's hard to split responsibilities.

    Continue reading
    Algorithmia2019-03-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Algorithmia full-time

    Pros

    The Algorithmia team is great to work with; they're very supportive, friendly, and welcoming. Each person pulls their own weight and is eager to help out on projects for colleagues. I appreciate the work flexibility, the amount of responsibility each person is granted, and the all hands on deck mentality.

    Cons

    A growing team requires adaptive workers; that's not for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Algorithmia2018-12-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A Close-Knit, Hard-Working Team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Frontend Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Algorithmia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The entire AI/ML space can feel a bit over-hyped, but working at Algorithmia has opened my eyes to the fundamental, transformational power these technologies can have, both for large enterprises and regular folks. The team is humble and down-to-earth, and I feel empowered to own my work and grow.

    Cons

    A classic startup problem: we're desperately in need of more people to join us! If you can't handle randomization and/or putting on hats you haven't worn before at a moment's notice, this will be a tough place to work.

    Continue reading
    Algorithmia2018-06-30
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Misleading"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Algorithmia

    Pros

    Located in Pike Place Market

    Cons

    Inexperience executive/management team. Under pay.

    Continue reading
    Algorithmia2018-08-02

    Algorithmia Response

    August 6, 2018CEO

    We are sorry to hear you feel that way. We offer industry standard salaries for a startup our stage. We can always do better and hope you the best in your next adventure since things did not work out at Algorithmia for you.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not a classic startup. Much better."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Algorithmia full-time

    Pros

    • Founders and team members are reasonable and data-driven • Rare mix of high-IQ, hustle, and personality • Flexible work hours (results matter, not time at your desk) • Unlimited PTO • Relentless desire to build great things (team has built multiple products for which there were no comparable solutions in the market)

    Cons

    • Office has poor cell phone reception

    Algorithmia2018-06-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Fulfilling Work with Great Work & Life Balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Algorithmia full-time

    Pros

    * You get a chance to solve Machine Learning problems ahead of the industry. This is because the platform tries to support every major framework. * Good work-life balance. You can work remotely from home or the coffee shop. You're reminded to work smarter not harder. * You get to work on high-impact work. The code you push runs the AI infrastructure of large companies. It also powers the platform behind the marketplace. * Very dog-friendly office. * The founders (CEO & CTO) are some of the best people I've ever met.

    Cons

    * Since it's still a startup, the company is still fiscally conservative. We don't have super fancy offices like other big tech companies do.

    Algorithmia2018-04-03
  10. "Fantastic environment, great team, big impact"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Algorithmia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I moved to Seattle and joined Algorithmia. It is a place where you work with world-class engineers and biz folks, you're constantly learning and you pour your heart into an awesome & meaningful mission. Some highlights: * Satisfaction from seeing ppl using your product to build bleeding edge AI/ML. * Slack channel constantly sharing cool algorithm papers and experiments. * Lots of responsibility and empowerment. * Dog friendly, remote-first, weekly team lunches & good dose of unhealthy snacks. * CEO and colleagues are some of the best ppl I've met. * HQ is in Seattle Pike Place.

    Cons

    Truly can't think of any cons.

    Algorithmia2018-03-29
Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews