Alion Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Alion CEO Steve Schorer (no image)
Steve Schorer
44 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of Communication from Upper Management(in 23 reviews)

  • "For a long time they gave employees company stock as part of their retirement program(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Program Analyst"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Construction Office Assistant in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Corporate interest in the employee

    Cons

    Geo-bachelor during this job opportunity

    Alion2020-01-19

    Alion Response

    February 5, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your review. Your feedback helps Alion make every possible effort to keep our team members satisfied. If you would like to discuss this further, we encourage you to contact us at hr@alionscience.com

  2. "Good place"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineering Technician in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Intelligent people with a good workplace

    Cons

    No chance for career advancement

    Alion2020-05-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good pay and benefits"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nuclear Engineer in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, did not require overtime

    Cons

    Quick to lay off, no amount of severance

    Alion2020-04-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "toxic"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    if you are a mushroom and keep your head down, it might work out for you.

    Cons

    too many to list but search for 'toxic work environment' and Alion checks all the boxes. management is insulting, dishonest, and not interested in quality.

    Continue reading
    Alion2020-04-17

    Alion Response

    April 27, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry that your experience did not match our intention of making Alion an outstanding place to work. We take your feedback seriously and would like to address all of the places we missed. We would like to gain more information regarding your experience; we encourage you to contact us at hr@alionscience.com.

  5. "Good work/life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My leadership is flexible and understanding when it comes to work/life. Pay is decent and salary is increased annually.

    Cons

    401k matching could be more; expand health and wellness benefits to promote employee health

    Alion2020-02-21
  6. "Nice bosses, nice work atmosphere"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Alion full-time

    Pros

    Nice bosses, nice work atmosphere

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Alion2020-02-13
  7. "Overall good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flex time and decent pay

    Cons

    Bennifits are a bit lacking and Management issues related to acquisition

    Continue reading
    Alion2020-02-08
  8. "Experience Will Greatly Depend on Manager/Dept"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Controller 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    no dress code food trucks/foodsby

    Cons

    inconsistent management, office politics, work/life balance

    Alion2020-02-20
  9. "Great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Continuous Improvement Project Leader 

    I have been working at Alion full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere good pay and training

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Alion2020-01-12

    Alion Response

    February 5, 2020

    Thank you for your review! Our team members prove that a company’s success is accomplished by a joint effort that includes a good team. Thank you for being a part of that. We are elated that you chose a career with Alion, and we are looking forward to many more years to come.

  10. "Good job"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Alion full-time

    Pros

    Fair benefits, laid back atmosphere

    Cons

    Pay could be a little higher

    Alion2019-12-05

    Alion Response

    February 5, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback. Alion is continuously looking for ways to enhance employee benefits, create career paths and stay competitive with market salaries. If you would like to discuss this further, we encourage you to contact us at hr@alionscience.com.

Found 364 reviews