Alion Reviews | Glassdoor

Alion Reviews

Updated September 16, 2017
268 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Steve Schorer
8 Ratings

268 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Upper Management doesn't appreciate the fact there is life outside Alion (in 20 reviews)

  • Was an employee owned company, then they wanted to go IPO, then some venture capital firm gobbled them up (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "ALION REVIEW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alion full-time

    Pros

    Professional atmosphere, Advancement opportunities, Technology

    Cons

    I do not have any CONS so far to report at ALION.

    Advice to Management

    Management continues to apply process improvement into their daily activities.

    Alion Response

    Jun 29, 2017 – Sr Sourcer

    Thank you for your feedback, we greatly appreciate your time and willingness to provide it. Your contribution to the team and organization is valued.


  2. "Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Norfolk, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alion full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great manager! Flexible work hours and you are able to work from home. Benefits seem better than some I have seen.

    Cons

    It is a government contractor so you have to deal with some of the DOD training and such.

    Alion Response

    Sep 4, 2017 – Talent and Acquisition

    Alion promotes a healthy Work Life Balance to all team members. Some employees are able to enjoy the benefit of working from home, if their position requirements permit it. Thank you for being a part... More

  3. "Going Downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Program Analyst in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Associate Program Analyst in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alion full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Plenty of job opportunities, partially due to constant turnover. Depending on the contract you're working on, there can be a lot of flexibility with telework and leave.

    Cons

    Salaries are very low compared to other contractors. Constant turnover at lower and upper levels creates a sense of uncertainty and a lack of consistency. Raises and bonuses are all but nonexistent for lower and mid-level staff. Benefits are very basic, and most other contractors offer better.

    The company grew too big too quickly, but has lost many of the contracts that they formerly held, and has gotten smaller. They have replaced their CEO and CFO in the last few months, but I'm not sure how much water they'll really be able to remove from this sinking ship.

    Alion Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – Talent and Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. Alion is thriving as an organization, and will have a few periods of adjustment, which is expected with a new CEO. However, growth is a sign of prosperity and we look... More


  4. "Room for opportunity, but management can be difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alion full-time

    Pros

    The amount o f experience and knowledge in the company is amazing. The benefits are decent.

    Cons

    Management tends to let personal feelings bleed into professional decisions. High employee turnover and vacation is somewhat lagging in comparison to other companies of the same magnitude.

    Advice to Management

    Better efforts need to be made for employee retention. OTJ is pivotal in this type of environment but that is rarely the case with Alion.

    Alion Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – Talent and Acquisition

    Thank you for your response. We would like to help with building a better relationship with you and management. Please reach out to us at hr@alionscience.com


  5. "Great capabilities, lacks direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Alion full-time

    Pros

    Great technical talent, dedicated to customers

    Cons

    Lack of communication from the top, no clear vision for future.

    Advice to Management

    Decide what company is going to do well, then put your energy toward that.

    Alion Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – Talent and Acquisition

    Alion is taking the necessary steps to ensure all of our team members receive communication from our management staff; we have an updated communication plan that will be much more clear and inclusive.


  6. "Test Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Test Engineer in Norfolk, VA
    Current Employee - Test Engineer in Norfolk, VA

    I have been working at Alion full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great co-workers, sympathetic to veterans since most employees and supervisors are veterans themselves, working hours flexible, benefits are ok

    Cons

    Limited ability to keep employees on overhead while not actively assigned to a customer's contract, though they try to place you back on a contract reasonably soon.

    Alion Response

    Aug 22, 2017 – Talent and Acquisition

    Alion makes every effort to transition project based team members to another project if there is one available. We value our employees greatly. Thank you for your feedback.


  7. "Not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alion full-time

    Pros

    Nothing to mention and not looking good

    Cons

    Corporate Controller
    Salary
    Benefits
    Work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Recognize the weakness of the corporate controller

    Alion Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – Talent and Acquisition

    It is very unfortunate to hear of your dissatisfaction with our compensation package. We offer a full package that is in line with the current market. Thank you for your feedback.

  8. "Big Company, Small Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nuclear Engineer in Albuquerque, NM
    Current Employee - Nuclear Engineer in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alion full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I work in a very small sector of this company, there are about 15 people in my office. For the most part we are all young engineers and have a great time together. The work that we do is important and I am happy to be a part of this team.

    Cons

    There is not a ton of room for me to move up and by glassdoor standards I'm under-compensated by about 10k/yr. Makes this a good "foot in the door" kind of job but probably not a forever job.

    Alion Response

    Aug 10, 2017 – Talent and Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We strongly encourage team members to have open conversation with their manager regarding career paths. They may have information, that possibly can help you with... More


  9. "Great People!!! Needs Stability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alion full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great people doing great work in support of our men and women in the military.

    New senior leadership with a vision will help get Alion poised for growth.

    Excellent pay and benefits and a culture that understands the importance of employee development.

    Cons

    Frequent lay offs seem to be the answer to solving financial challenges, yet corporate leadership had been resistant to changing the behaviors that led to the financial challenges in the first place.

    Stability has been an issue for years. New senior leadership will hopefully bring about some much needed change and direction and get the company healthy again. Being owned by a private equity company, however, there is always the risk of the PE company deciding to sell...which brings the stability issue back to front and center.

    Alion Response

    Aug 22, 2017 – Talent and Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We are looking forward to the changes on the horizon that our new CEO has planned for Alion.


  10. "no increase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Alion full-time

    Pros

    good environment, working relationships are nice,

    Cons

    no room for growth, lay offs, lay offs lay offs

    Alion Response

    Aug 10, 2017 – Talent and Acquisition

    Alion is a government contractor, that has a great majority of project based work.; this is an industry standard that we are unable to control. We sincerely appreciate your candor and feedback.


Showing 268 of 277 reviews
Reset Filters