Alion Reviews | Glassdoor

Alion Reviews

Updated August 9, 2017
261 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Steve Schorer
6 Ratings

261 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Upper Management doesn't appreciate the fact there is life outside Alion (in 20 reviews)

  • Was an employee owned company, then they wanted to go IPO, then some venture capital firm gobbled them up (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Good pay, great benefits, awesome people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Administrator
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Administrator
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alion full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The pay here is more than I was expecting, the benefits are pretty awesome, and the my coworkers, supervisors, and managers are all awesome.

    Cons

    Nothing really off the top of my head

    Alion Response

    Jul 21, 2017 – Talent and Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. It's pretty awesome when we hear our team members are happy! We are glad you chose Alion as an employer and look forward to many more years to come.


  2. "Big Company, Small Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nuclear Engineer in Albuquerque, NM
    Current Employee - Nuclear Engineer in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alion full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I work in a very small sector of this company, there are about 15 people in my office. For the most part we are all young engineers and have a great time together. The work that we do is important and I am happy to be a part of this team.

    Cons

    There is not a ton of room for me to move up and by glassdoor standards I'm under-compensated by about 10k/yr. Makes this a good "foot in the door" kind of job but probably not a forever job.

    Alion Response

    Aug 10, 2017 – Talent and Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We strongly encourage team members to have open conversation with their manager regarding career paths. They may have information, that possibly can help you with... More

  3. "no increase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Alion full-time

    Pros

    good environment, working relationships are nice,

    Cons

    no room for growth, lay offs, lay offs lay offs

    Alion Response

    Aug 10, 2017 – Talent and Acquisition

    Alion is a government contractor, that has a great majority of project based work.; this is an industry standard that we are unable to control. We sincerely appreciate your candor and feedback.


  4. "Alion has been a very good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Design Engineer Lead in Fairborn, OH
    Current Employee - Software Design Engineer Lead in Fairborn, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alion full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, fair compensation, opportunities for personal and professional growth, four floating holidays annually, excellent people to work with

    Cons

    Limited contract vehicles as of late, limited PTO when joining company, infrequent bonuses, rarely can work from home, paid twice monthly

    Alion Response

    Jul 24, 2017 – Talent and Acquisition

    Your dedication in being a part of our team for over 10 years greatly contributes to our success. Our benefits package is competitive with the current market. We are always looking to expand our... More


  5. "Alion Trending Upward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alion full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Patriotic mission, challenging work, excellent camaraderie, great work/life balance and new/progressive/transparent C-Suite installed all in last 2 years.

    Cons

    Still some legacy resentment on ESOP loss and sale to private capital company. Below market in PTO offering.

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent, visible and communicate as often as possible.

    Alion Response

    Jul 21, 2017 – Talent and Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We are working improving on our internal communication and striving for a transparent culture. Our new CEO has made this one of his top priorities; team members will see... More


  6. "Over leveraged causing the company to drag."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alion full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Varied scientific support and access to interesting resources.

    Cons

    Company carries too much debt.

    Advice to Management

    Jettison and sell some of the profitable divisions and focus on improving debt situation.

    Alion Response

    Aug 2, 2017 – Talent and Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. Alion is continuously pursuing and winning profitable contracts. If you would like to discuss this further, we would like to hear from you at hr@alionscience.com


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company with great benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Systems Engineer in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Lead Systems Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alion (Less than a year)

    Pros

    12 Days leave starting, Paying me what I asked for, family medical, dental, and vision for about $300. Good professional development. Gym in my building.

    Cons

    None that I can think of. Could use better Alion pens and lanyards. I like medium point gel pens please.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring the best and pay them extra because they are worth it.

    Alion Response

    Jun 29, 2017 – Sr Sourcer

    Thank you for your response. We are happy to hear that our competitive benefits package, on site amenities and career pathing meet your needs!

  8. "ALION REVIEW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alion full-time

    Pros

    Professional atmosphere, Advancement opportunities, Technology

    Cons

    I do not have any CONS so far to report at ALION.

    Advice to Management

    Management continues to apply process improvement into their daily activities.

    Alion Response

    Jun 29, 2017 – Sr Sourcer

    Thank you for your feedback, we greatly appreciate your time and willingness to provide it. Your contribution to the team and organization is valued.


  9. "Excellent Talent Manager and Interview process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Applicant in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Applicant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Talent manager in DC office was candidate- friendly, responsive and thorough. A true refreshing experience from a veteran job applicant!

    Cons

    None - again, my point of view is one of a very satisfied applicant/candidate.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for your focus on talent acquisition.

    Alion Response

    Jun 28, 2017 – Sr Sourcer

    We are elated to hear that you had a positive and seamless experience with our Talent and Acquisition team. Our goal is to always provide the white glove treatment to our employees, beginning with... More


  10. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alion full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Diversity, competitive salary, competitive benefits, location

    Cons

    High turnover, management often disconnected

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees when given constructive criticism

    Alion Response

    Jun 21, 2017 – Sr Sourcer

    Thank you for your feedback. We take retention very seriously, and are working diligently on this. Our goal is to make sure employees are heard, please continue to provide feedback to your managers... More


Showing 261 of 269 reviews
Reset Filters