Applied Systems Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Applied Systems CEO Taylor Rhodes
Taylor Rhodes
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Applied offers a great work life balance with a senior management team that really cares about being a world class organization leading the industry(in 30 reviews)

  • "It is a great job with great people(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay scale, not competitive salary-wise(in 20 reviews)

  • "Upper management is either unaware of or chooses to ignore major communication and role issues that exist between certain teams(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Top Notch Sales Team at Industry Leader"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in University Park, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sales process and team are exceptional Management does actually care about your success Old CEO Reid French was phenomenal New CEO Taylor Rhodes is extremely humble, a military vet, and great tech track record (Rackspace)

    Cons

    Sometimes has the feel of a "big" company with bureaucracy and multiple layers of management

    Continue reading
    Applied Systems2019-07-16
  2. "Great company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Applied Systems full-time

    Pros

    Great company with lots of benefits

    Cons

    Change management caused the massive change that hurt a lot

    Applied Systems2020-04-17
  3. "Empathetic Employer who cares about its PEOPLE"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in University Park, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I am so grateful to work for a company that truly puts its people first. When the COVID-19 pandemic hit, Applied was near the front of the pack of organizations making the call to have employees shift to work from home. The leadership of this company has been checking on employees pretty regularly to make sure we're adjusting well, have the equipment we need, sending out fun content to Take a Break every Wednesday. It's really heartwarming to see a company focused on doing right by employees, cutting costs where it can so it doesn't have to lay people off. Especially when all you hear in the news are staggering unemployment numbers. Thank you to Team Applied's leadership for doing the right thing, and living our Core Values by example.

    Cons

    Why are you forcing me to enter a con?

    Continue reading
    Applied Systems2020-05-26
  4. "An employer who cares about their employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Developer in Port St Lucie, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Caring management staff, a CEO with vision, a good salary, the ability to work remotely.

    Cons

    Gets a little lonely working remotely.

    Applied Systems2020-03-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Little chance of advancement"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Support Technician in University Park, IL

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time

    Pros

    Work with great teammates. Decent vacation/sick time.

    Cons

    Very little chance of moving up if you are good at your job. Micromanagement of employees that actually do their job. And no repercussions to those that do not.

    Applied Systems2020-02-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Silos, Poor Direction, No Upper Management Cohesion"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in University Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, dedicated workers

    Cons

    Senior management lacks cohesion, No unified direction, In-fighting between groups

    Continue reading
    Applied Systems2020-02-28
  7. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Team Manager in University Park, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture, good leadership, leader in the industry, great benefits

    Cons

    Low pay scale, not competitive salary-wise

    Applied Systems2019-12-18
  8. "Shaking up the Agency Management Systems Industry"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Rapid growth leads to great opportunities If you can perform you will be rewarded with greater responsibility Strong comradely among the teams

    Cons

    Hiring is not keeping up with growth Not great communication between departments

    Continue reading
    Applied Systems2019-11-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Sales"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applied Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product and some of the managers are great

    Cons

    Screw the current customer on any IT work unless customer threatens to leave. Then will pull their pants down to keep them

    Applied Systems2019-10-29
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Always trying to catch up"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support II in University Park, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Applied Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Applied has pretty decent PTO and a very relaxed work environment. I made several friends there that I still talk to.

    Cons

    You have two types of employees there. One that has been there for ever(10+) and one that is just stopping by until they find another job that fits their degree or just better employment. If you are part of the software support team you will be very frustrated on how you are treated. The queue will have 40 calls holding and the mgr are asking you to resolve more cases even though we are short on techs. They will not hire enough techs to resolve the issue. The comradery slowly shrinks as you learn how they mgr you.

    Applied Systems2019-10-09
Viewing 1 - 10 of 360 Reviews