BD Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
BD CEO Tom Polen
Tom Polen
213 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible work hours help in managing work life balance(in 189 reviews)

  • "Solid Company with Good Benefits(in 139 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Some work life balance concerns but depends on manager(in 72 reviews)

  • "Locally the upper management is dismal barely scraping as functioning(in 48 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of BD and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      R&D

      Sep 13, 2020 - R&D Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, progressive role, lots of learning, broad experience, great opportunities.

      Cons

      No aspects of this company were negative, maybe location

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company to work for

      Apr 5, 2021 - IT Director in Franklin Lakes, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay, benefits, environment, culture, leadership connect with associates at all levels

      Cons

      Too much organizational change happened due to acquisitions, while the Change is good, too much change is not..

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good company but needs to improve gender equity

      May 5, 2021 - Director of Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall, BD is a good company with a strong purpose and a “BD Nice” culture. I’ve been in a couple roles in different business units, and found the work to be quite rewarding. People are very collaborative, perhaps even too consensus driven in their decision making.

      Cons

      BD needs to improve the gender equity, especially at the top. During the many years I was there, all 3 segment Presidents and all 10 BU Presidents were men. Even at the VP/GM and Platform Leader level, it was >80% men. When I was pregnant and had a baby, I did not feel supported. My manager actually told my direct reports that “things would get worse” while I was out on maternity leave. I understand how my maternity leave is not optimal, but communicating it so directly to my own team really made me feel pressure to come back early from leave.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Senior Mechanical Engineer in Operations Engineering for Infusion pump system

      May 7, 2021 - Senior Mechanical Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits good work life balance schedule flexibility recognition access to self improvement opportunities

      Cons

      antiquated configuration management system very inefficient QMS political and top heavy corporate culture Consent Decree

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      I'm happy to be part of the team

      May 3, 2021 - Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can achieve life and work balance, but there will be times where the job is demanding.

      Cons

      Some people (legacy Bard most of the time) do not take ownership of their responsibilities and that delays changes. There's no accountability for them and that should change.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome company

      May 6, 2021 - Associate Territory Manager in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredible products, worklife balance, culture, etc. could go on and on about the benefits of working here.

      Cons

      It is a grind! Not very many cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Care about their employees

      Apr 27, 2021 - Senior Marketing Manager in Franklin Lakes, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      BD is changing the stigma of "corporate America". They truly care about employees health and mental health. Working remote due to the pandemic, before many large organizations. Always checking in on employees, surveys and getting feedback. Truly a leader in healthcare for both their customers and employees. ALSO - they care about your career! Lots of opportunity for growth and movement.

      Cons

      Health benefits are expensive, not that great especially for a medical company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Company who helps advance the world of health

      Apr 23, 2021 - Researcher in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A BD goal is HELPING PEOPLE. Highly rated superior products. Associates are outstanding. BD provides educational training with many sources. BD stays up to date with technological advancements. Outstanding associates. Outstanding benefits. BD Started with an act of kindness between Mr. Maxwell Becton and Mr. Fairleigh Dickinson. BD has been in business for almost 125 years! Need I say more.

      Cons

      I have nothing negative to state - this comes from a VERY long time BD associate.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Stepping Stone

      Feb 22, 2021 - Associate Territory Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Enjoyed my time as an ATM. It’s a great first job to get your foot into the door in Med Device. Avg stay until promotion or you move on is targeted at 2 years...Your experience is solely based on the TM you primarily work under. I was in the surgery division so this gave me experience in covering many surgeries and selling throughout the entire OR. Training is very intense but prepares you for selling to docs & defending against competitors. I believe pay is around 75k for new hires and goes up to 90k if you’re successful your first year. Awesome company with opportunities to change divisions and get promotions if you’re willing to relocate and work your tail off

      Cons

      -TM CONTROLS your life. This could be good or bad... my experience was not good. I was worked more than others and made him serious coin -Pay is decent but could be better for the hours in the OR you have to grind out -Not looked at as valuable but this does open doors to other opportunities if you can stick it out for 2 years -Prove yourself, Who’s Next, Just Get It Done Culture

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      May 6, 2021 - Project Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Progressive company that cares about their employees.

      Cons

      Leadership/cross-functional decision making could be quicker.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,361 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with BD Job Seekers

    Territory Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at BD? Share Your Experiences

    or