BGL Group Reviews | Glassdoor

BGL Group Reviews

Updated 7 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 180 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
BGL Group CEO Matthew Donaldson
Matthew Donaldson
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "BGL Group is a fantastic place to work with a range of benefits including free fruit, family fun days and a subsidised on-site gym to name but a few(in 19 reviews)

  • "Care about employees, great benefits(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is even a floor at head office reserved solely for senior management and specially invited guests(in 16 reviews)

  • "This is mainly seen in their Peterborough HQ where there is a hierarchical presence and a worrying lack of diversity(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, albeit some backwards, old school mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BGL Group

    Pros

    Office, Gym, Salary, People, Trying to be progressive

    Cons

    Old Boys Club, Limited Flexibility on Working From Home etc but they are working on it!

    BGL Group2016-10-05
  2. "Nice atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at BGL Group

    Pros

    Good teamwork at this site

    Cons

    Little flexibility at this site

    BGL Group2016-06-27
  3. "Offering a different perspective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BGL Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Over recent years BGL has changed considerably and continues to do so. Some of the things listed as negatives on here, such as a floor reserved for executives and so on, simply don't exist any more. I was moved to write a review having read a recent review about 'management' not being sympathetic to illness. I don't think I've ever seen an organisation care more when people are in trouble. I speak from personal... experience. Around three years ago I suffered a breakdown and was supported throughout and on my return by my direct line manager and the wider organisation, including the CEO. Before this becomes a status thing, I wasn't a director then! I was supported back and have come a long way in the last few years. I've also seen many examples of the organisation pulling out the stops when it comes to helping people through difficult times. Of course, everyone's story is different but I felt strongly enough to offer some balance.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not necessarily a 'con' but the organisation is very fast paced and you need to be comfortable with that to work here. But if you are, the opportunities for development and progression are significant

    BGL Group2019-09-02
  4. "Not that bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BGL Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, good office environment, relatively modern tech stack

    Cons

    Too political, bad middle management, not clear career paths, slow adoption of new technologies

    BGL Group2019-09-07
  5. "Web Dev"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BGL Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free fruit - Yealy family event

    Cons

    - Progressing people who do not have the skills

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on employee

    BGL Group2019-09-07
  6. "Great people but too much process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BGL Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Fast paced environment - Great team in technology

    Cons

    - Heavy process - Bureaucracy - Elements of politics

    BGL Group2019-08-19

    BGL Group Response

    September 2, 2019

    Thank you for your comments, which we will review carefully.

  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BGL Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of career progression and fab reward and benefits

    Cons

    none to mention I enjoyed my time there

    BGL Group2019-07-22

    BGL Group Response

    July 29, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to comment. We wish you continuing success in your career.

  8. "Great people and team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BGL Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very professional business, keen on development and keeping workforce happy.

    Cons

    Targets within the business can come across too ambitious yet are never met. This causes added stress.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, but be more realistic Don’t employ people without necessary qualifications based on ‘knowing people’ within the business

    BGL Group2019-07-22

    BGL Group Response

    July 29, 2019

    Thank you for your comments. We take all feedback on board so thank you for taking the time.

  9. "Disgusting management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Claims Advisor in Wakefield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BGL Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free fruit and coffee and tea

    Cons

    if you don’t fit in, they will get rid of you unfairly treated got dismissed in 10 days due to illness they don’t give second chances horrible supervisors and management would not recommend miserable managers and place to work avoid at all cost. The place is dead serious everything you say at break and work gets monitored you need to be careful think twice before applying in the Wakefield branch

    Advice to Management

    give people second chances we all have livelihoods have a heart you horrible bosses

    BGL Group2019-08-24

    BGL Group Response

    September 2, 2019

    We are aware of your case and cannot go into further detail on this public forum. All reviews are read carefully and we wish you well in your future career.

  10. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BGL Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, can make a difference, excellent working environment

    Cons

    Full on and not for the faint hearted

    BGL Group2019-07-18

    BGL Group Response

    July 29, 2019

    Thanks for your comments - we're glad you're still enjoying life at BGL.

Found 180 reviews