Bartlett Tree Experts Reviews | Glassdoor

Bartlett Tree Experts Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Robert A. Bartlett Jr.
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "The lucrative sales positions are hard to come by despite promises(in 2 reviews)

  • "I was let go 1 day before my probationary period was up and with no reason given(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Tree Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Bartlett Tree Experts full-time

      Pros

      Very safe work practices and environment. Bartlett is very conscience about the work being done and the clients needs.

      Cons

      Working hourly can lead to long work days.

      Bartlett Tree Experts2018-12-14
    • "Science based company, great experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Plant Healthcare Specialist in Austin, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Bartlett Tree Experts full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Benefits, room for advancement

      Cons

      Did not rehire after returning from millitary leave

      Bartlett Tree Experts2019-03-31
    • "Lets just say I signed a NDA with these guys..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Arborist Climber 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Bartlett Tree Experts full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Hard work Great coworkers Always new challenges to overcome Good 401k Safety culture

      Cons

      Upward growth is not achieved by honest hard work alone Benefits are terrible, except the 401k. Pay scale is garbage for labor. No support for outside training. You cannot have a life outside the company; family, friends, or otherwise.

      Advice to Management

      Support your workers. Each individual employee has their own life challenges. The sooner that is realized, the sooner you can stop treating us like a piece of mechanical equipment. Adhere to your own companies values.

      Bartlett Tree Experts2019-03-27
    • "Year-round work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Bartlett Tree Experts full-time

        Pros

        Year-round work Large company resources Training opportunities

        Cons

        Nationwide Large scale company Lagging in modern computer/software technology

        Bartlett Tree Experts2019-02-20
      • "Plant health care technician"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Bartlett Tree Experts full-time

          Pros

          Continuing education Overtime Proper training Work practices are scientifically and field based - leaders in the industry

          Cons

          Can be a lot of driving Unpredictable winter work

          Bartlett Tree Experts2019-01-13
        • Helpful (1)

          "PHC"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Plant Health Care Technician 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Bartlett Tree Experts full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Work by yourself, outside and autonmous.

          Cons

          Chemicals Over worked Monotonous Difficulty moving up in company

          Bartlett Tree Experts2018-10-04
        • "Home Office"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Accounts Payable in Stamford, CT
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Bartlett Tree Experts full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          The people are very nice, no stuck-up employees, and it's easy to talk and get advice from your superiors

          Cons

          Not much upward mobility in your sector

          Bartlett Tree Experts2018-09-17
        • "Chasing a pot of gold."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I worked at Bartlett Tree Experts full-time

          Pros

          This is one of the top companies in the industry both in size and research.

          Cons

          The lucrative sales positions are hard to come by despite promises.

          Bartlett Tree Experts2018-08-28
        • "Plant healthcare specialist"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Bartlett Tree Experts full-time

          Pros

          Good management, raises based on merit, working outdoors, great clients, fun and exciting work albeit physically demanding. Co-workers are an awesome set of people very diverse and all types of characters. The office will occasionally buy the employees food or take them out for some kind of team building event which was always fun. The company as a whole is extremely professional and certainly is a great place to...

          Show More

          Cons

          Benefits are not that great. PTO doesn't start for a year! Work is based on commissions for the sales reps which ultimately drives the hourly guys to be overworked, but there is plenty of overtime.

          Advice to Management

          PTO should begin earlier.

          Bartlett Tree Experts2018-08-25
        • "Climber"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Climber in Dublin, PA
          Recommends

          I have been working at Bartlett Tree Experts full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Though every office is different, and I can only speak for mine, I've had some great learning opportunities working with guys that have been in the field for decades. We typically try to wrap up our days at 3:00, and the medical benefits are actually pretty great.

          Cons

          Very poor management puts the production crews in frustrating situations, poor communication when it comes to management as well. Hours get VERY scarce in the winter.

          Advice to Management

          Just be honest with your crews and communicate more openly with them. Especially when it comes to winter work.

          Bartlett Tree Experts2018-06-24
        Found 59 reviews