KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Behavior Change Institute

Is this your company?

Behavior Change Institute

Add a Review

Behavior Change Institute Reviews

Updated Nov 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 of over 39 reviews

4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Behavior Change Institute Co-founder and CEO of Clinical Operations Dr. Joy Pollard, BCBA-D (no image)
Dr. Joy Pollard, BCBA-D
23 Ratings
Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Healthy Atmosphere

    Oct 5, 2021 - Administrative in Cool, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is a huge relief to finally work for a company that has the same professional standards and positive culture that I expect. My managers are approachable, supportive, and appreciative. My co-workers are friendly/helpful and take initiative. The job keeps me busy which I prefer. I especially enjoy the flexible schedule and remote work. They have bonus opportunities too and quarterly goals to help you grow professionally. I feel grateful to be a part of an advance and healthy organization.

    Cons

    With any remote position, sometimes I miss the day-to-day employee interactions. You can't just walk by someone's cubical and ask how's there day going? When you are new to the team, it takes a little more time to build that rapport.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Behavior Change Institute Response

    CEO, Clinical Operations

    We’re so appreciative of the time you’ve taken to leave us this review and are very pleased to hear that you’ve had such a positive experience working with BCI thus far! Building rapport within a primarily remote organization is certainly a challenge. We try to overcome this with open door policies, monthly virtual happy hours and other fun virtual social events and contests open to all employees, along with our virtual office technology, so we hope you’ve found your stride in this area! If you have any suggestions for ways we can improve in this area, we’re all ears! Thank you again for your kind words. We sincerely look forward to your contributions to making BCI an even greater place to work in the future!

  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    These 5 star reviews can't be real

    Oct 30, 2021 - RBT - Registered Behavior Technician in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    NONE. DO NOT WORK HERE.

    Cons

    Lots of stress, crying and quitting due to being treated badly by supervisors. Low pay, lots of driving and the worst is that (if you're and RBT) you're put in really challenging and awkward home settings with very little support. The CEO, Joy, has lots of sweet sounding words, but at the end of the day I found her to be deceitful.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Behavior Change Institute Response

    CEO, Clinical Operations

    Thank you for sharing this feedback. We very much appreciate the time you have taken to leave us a review and are so sorry to learn that you felt stressed and unsupported during your time working as an RBT. The behavioral health field is no doubt challenging at times, but we strive to provide as many supportive resources as possible to help prepare our RBTs for the position, including comprehensive training, peer mentorship and supportive and highly trained supervisors, in addition to a leadership team who is always here to help when you encounter challenging situations. We’re always open to suggestions from our RBTs for how we can do better and regret that you didn’t have the opportunity to voice your concerns during your time with BCI. While driving to a client’s home is a part of the role, Registered Behavior Technicians are always informed of the driving distance to a client’s home. If it is not a distance they’re comfortable with, an RBT always has the option to opt out of the case assignment. We also provide a generous mileage reimbursement and pay a supplemental mileage stipend if the commute to a client’s home exceeds 30 miles. While we regret that your time with BCI was not the best fit for you, we’re proud of the five-star reviews and hundreds of satisfied employees who have earned BCI the distinction of being a New Mexico Top Workplace for six consecutive years. If you’d like to address any of your concerns in more detail, please feel free to reach out to us directly at HR@behaviorchangeinstitute.com and we would be happy to speak with you.

  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Low pay

    Nov 3, 2021 - RBT in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work hours. Kind coworkers

    Cons

    Low pay and no guaranteed hours

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Behavior Change Institute Response

    CEO, Clinical Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re so glad to hear that the flexible work hours our Registered Behavior Technicians are offered have been a good fit for you and that you’ve found your co-workers to be kind! This speaks volumes about the compassionate nature of our employees. With a clear professional development and advancement path in place for RBTs, we’re proud to be able to provide incremental pay increases based in part on each employee’s goals and drive to advance within the company as an RBT. If you’re not familiar with the RBT advancement pathway, we encourage you to speak with your supervisor to learn about how you can grow in your role as an RBT. Thank you again for your review!

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    The support is REAL

    Aug 26, 2021 - Collections Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Human Investment, Support, Care, Patience

    Cons

    I honestly don't have any.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Behavior Change Institute Response

    CEO, Clinical Operations

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate you and are always thrilled to hear that our employees feel supported and invested in! This has been a goal from the beginning and it's become even more critical during the last couple of years as we all learn how to navigate the Covid-19 crisis. BCI's internal response has been to invest heavily in the wellbeing of our employees through special benefit programs, employee wellness initiatives like 24/7 counseling, and virtual employee meet-ups, among other investments. Thank you again for your review!

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A company that cares about its clients and staff

    Jun 29, 2021 - Administrator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -very supportive, understanding and knowledgable staff: management, administrators, clinicians, behavior technicians -a caring mission and respectable values -flexibility -relaxed environment -remote work events (game nights, painting, puzzles) and paid mental health days

    Cons

    Nothing, honestly. I know it sometimes looks suspect to give all 5-star ratings, but I answered honestly.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company; very forward thinking

    Apr 16, 2021 - Board Certified Behavior Analyst (BCBA) in El Paso, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Accessible and supportive administrators. Very comprehensive on boarding and training. I loved BCI and would have stayed a long time had I not decided to return to school.

    Cons

    Teleworking isn’t for everyone, but BCI makes it as smooth as possible

    1 person found this review helpful

    Behavior Change Institute Response

    CEO, Clinical Operations

    Thank you for such wonderful feedback! We're so pleased to hear that you found Behavior Change Institute's administrators to be both accessible and supportive-- two things we're always striving for! We view employee onboarding as a cornerstone to success with BCI and are so glad to hear that you felt it was a positive experience. While teleworking can certainly be a challenge, we acknowledge the importance of a work/life balance and do all that we can to support our employees with the transition into this work style. Ultimately, we think our employees appreciate the ability to telework, and the resources BCI utilizes help to bridge that gap, bringing our Clinical and Administrative teams together despite the distance. Thank you again for your feedback. We wish you the best of luck with your return to school!

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    May 15, 2021 - RBT - Registered Behavior Technician in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Understanding and flexible company to work for

    Cons

    Virtual meetings can be challenging while working

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Quality Services & Great Work Culture!

    Feb 28, 2021 - Clinician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Supportive, progressive work culture - Dedication to providing high quality services - Manageable caseload - Committed to employee growth & promoting internally

    Cons

    - Work/life balance can be challenging in telehealth setting - Limited budget for client materials - Dedication to high quality can sometimes feel like a lot of pressure

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    A lot of driving, not much pay or training

    Apr 7, 2021 - Registered Behavior Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The only pro I can think of is that they paid for my training and hired me immediately.

    Cons

    The cons are that the management and BCBAs had no idea what they are doing. There was no communication between any one any any level. In spite of my constant requests, the information about whether or not I passed the test after being hired was not shared with me for six months. With all of the driving I was doing, I was making only about $7 per hour.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Behavior Change Institute Response

    CEO, Clinical Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Behavior Change Institute on Glassdoor. We’re committed to improving our employee experience based on valuable feedback like yours and will take into account the issues you’ve raised to help us achieve this commitment. We're proud to be able to cover the cost of the RBT training and are glad you were able to benefit from this! The Registered Behavior Technician credential (RBT) is a valued professional asset that can open the door to an incredibly rewarding career in the field of ABA therapy, benefiting both the RBT and the families they work with. We regret that you weren’t clearly notified of your test passage and empathize with your frustration. We’re looking into this communication deficit to ensure that we’re able to resolve any future issues that may arise from this lack of communication with your supervisor. We focus greatly on the Clinical Supervisor/RBT relationship we’re able to facilitate using frequent communication through meetings and messaging technology, but are sorry that you didn’t have a positive experience in this area. As a standard for all RBTs, we offer a mileage pay equal to 11.12% of the RBT’s direct wage to ensure that they do not bear the financial cost of driving to their clients’ locations. In addition, if an employee is driving more than 30-minutes one-way, we offer a supplemental mileage stipend (in addition to the standard mileage pay) as part of the client-RBT pairing agreement. Thank you again for your feedback! It is very much appreciated and will be channeled appropriately to improve the employee experience at BCI.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company

    Nov 19, 2020 - Registered Behavior Technician in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Becoming a Registered Behavior Technician at BCI had been a great experience due to awesome and supportive co-workers and supervisors. The company greatly care for each employee and value our opinions.

    Cons

    The only con is if you are looking to have a full-time job, this position may not be a great choice unless you have more than 2 clients.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 38 Reviews

Popular Careers with Behavior Change Institute Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Behavior Change Institute? Share Your Experiences

Behavior Change Institute logo
or