Bodybuilding.com Reviews

Updated May 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
29%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Bodybuilding.com CEO   Jas Krdzalic
Jas Krdzalic
33 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Being in customer service you are treated horribly compared to the rest of the company(in 9 reviews)

  • "Although it is going to be a very easy going call center and a fun work environment the customers can test your patients and make you want to quit(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Major Turnaround Happening"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bodybuilding.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Employees are empowered to make changes -Flexible work hours and work from home opportunities -No micromanagement -Strong female leadership in e-commerce -Ability to impact decisions at all levels -Opportunities for growth and advancement With the recent departure of the former Chief Digital Officer the company and environment have significantly improved. The focus shifted from one man’s egotistical dictatorship to a much more open, collaborative environment. The SVP of E-Commerce is smart, decisive and focuses her energy and team on driving meaningful change.

    Cons

    Still some hangover from old, “not my job” culture causes some accountability issues Certain departments continue to drag their feet and over process instead of thinking how a project could help drive the business.

    Continue reading
    Bodybuilding.com2020-05-14
  2. "Be suspicions of the positive reviews on Glassdoor!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bodybuilding.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The original intent of the company to help people be healthy and fit

    Cons

    I was excited when I got the call to interview at BBcom, as I spoke to various leaders around the company they all had great visions and answered my questions with ease. I was offered the role the same week and I happily accepted. Within 6 weeks of joining the company I started to see some major cracks in the foundation. The CEO was replaced with an internal candidate that had never run a company before, and I started hearing stories and seeing behaviors that were extremely unethical. Fast Foward 2 years, the CEO is still in seat however the health of the company is in the dumpster, and attrition is through the roof. WHY do you ask, let me help paint the picture. The vision and priorities change week to week, the financials that are used to justify work are completely bogus, there is a lack of data-driven decision making, tools to mine data have been eliminated for cost savings, subject matter experts are silenced in fear of losing their jobs and the technology stack is outdated. Leadership does not listen to customers or their associates. Unfortunately if you are not an order taker, you will not last here!

    Continue reading
    Bodybuilding.com2020-05-23
  3. Helpful (4)

    "BB.com review"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bodybuilding.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent Pay- good benefits- the best days are in the past

    Cons

    huge turn-over, poor strategy from the top, the CEO is in way over his head, everyone good has either left or been pushed out.

    Continue reading
    Bodybuilding.com2020-04-08
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Bait and Switch"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bodybuilding.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The amazing associates that are keeping the company moving forward!

    Cons

    1. Sr Leadership does not empower the associates - Its a dictatorship 2. This company is a classroom for wannabe C Suite Executives - No one in the C Suite has run a company 3. Its is an extremely abusive environment - Leaders speak down to their associates and speak poorly about people behind their backs 4. There is no coaching or mentorship 5. Leaders don't take accountability for the poor work environment - Attrition is through the roof, however when people leave they are classified as "not the right fit" 6. This is a male-dominated culture - Females are dismissed, spoken about in unprofessional manners and have been made to feel physically unsafe 7. New associates are misled about the stability and health of the company 8. No role clarity - multiple people do the same thing OR after you are hired you end up doing something different then what you applied for

    Continue reading
    Bodybuilding.com2020-03-24
  5. "Creative director and producer of stories, marketing messages, and brand identity through digital media experiences"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Creative Director 

    I worked at Bodybuilding.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The creative team at Bodybuilding.com is full of so much talent, intelligence, and kindness creating stronger work

    Cons

    Although their platform is dense with pages and content, the content that is created at Bodybuilding.com is homogenous.

    Bodybuilding.com2020-02-23
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Do not board this sinking ship"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bodybuilding.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are hands down, top notch in the state of Idaho Discount is bomb, if you buy supplements. "Flex time off" is bomb, if you know how to use it. Company culture is fun/modern, its a very millennial place to be. HR is always trying to get us involved with company events or activities.

    Cons

    Biggest con is I don't think company will be around for much longer. Anybody who is thinking about working here should know that as a possibility. People have been slowly leaving the company for the past couple e of years about 2-3 people per week almost with none of them being replaced. We just laid off probably about 30 people a few weeks ago on top of that. Now it seems people are leaving or are going to leave even fasternow that they did that. I was lucky enough to not be one of them and I was already interviewing at other places to see if I had other options here in the valley. I just accepted one a few days ago and gave my manager my two weeks during the past week. Im not about to wait around until they lay off more people out of the blue. Other cons: Discount is bomb, if you buy a lot of supplements. (I never buy supplements) "Flex time off" is bomb, if you know how to use it. (I never understood how to use it) Company culture could be considered fun or modern, its a very millennial place to be. (I'm not a millennial. I don't like millennials) HR is always trying to get us involved with company events or activities. (I hate all the events they try to make us do)

    Continue reading
    Bodybuilding.com2020-02-12
  7. Helpful (8)

    "A failing company with no leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bodybuilding.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent 401k match, wfh flexibility, unlimited PTO, great free gym.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay, even for Idaho. No job security. There is no leadership at this company, only titles. The direction to take the company changes on a dime because the c suite does not know how to save this failing company; they will say it is because they are in a transformation state, but that is because they are unwilling to accept when they have made mistakes. After the recent layoffs and the massive amount of attrition, the office is a ghost town and there is barely anyway to get anything done. People have been fired for simply being transparent with their managers with constructive criticism. This is a company looking solely for 'Yes' men or women who are willing to do whatever is dictated to them and ask no questions. The CDO of the company seems to be completely clueless about everything and is unwilling to accept any feedback. This is all a shame because the overall mission of the company and the industry itself, are very motivating and fascinating.

    Continue reading
    Bodybuilding.com2020-02-05
  8. Helpful (6)

    "15% of Company Laid Off in Jan 2020"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bodybuilding.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Flex Time Off - Health, vision and dental insurance - Free onsite gym that’s usually empty

    Cons

    Unfortunately I was only with the company for a handful of months and was part of the January 2020 lay offs. Local news reported 15% of the Boise corporate office, around 100 people, were laid off so I’m not sure why some reviews have the lay off numbers so low. Regardless of my personal sap story, it’s very obvious the company is in the red and is taking their employees down with the sinking ship. Each quarter ideals change without reflection on the previous quarter. Some quarters it’s all about e-commerce, others it’s about the app. Constantly ping-ponging around tells me C-Level doesn’t know what they want. Not to mention company culture is way in the dumps. Who wants to give 110% with such a lack of job security?! Such a disappointing experience from someone who was such a BBcom fan.

    Continue reading
    Bodybuilding.com2020-02-27
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Bleeding Talent"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Developer in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bodybuilding.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great benefits, fantastic mission statement

    Cons

    Very poor pay, lack of communication, siloed work environment, dated technology and systems, no career growth opportunities

    Continue reading
    Bodybuilding.com2020-01-20
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Once compared to the Titanic"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bodybuilding.com full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friends, bonuses, free shelf, insurance, 401k

    Cons

    When the company began to grow, so did its problems. The management was/is ultimately its downfall. It began with the FDA raids. Than the Pennsylvania warehouse fraudulently scamming customers. Their employees were scanning the orders and dropping them in the trash. Not to mention that the warehouse was somehow missing a million dollars in inventory. But that mess was swept up under a rug when the other warehouse managers spent a month cleaning up that mess. Than they shut down two warehouses, Boise Idaho days after their huge black friday/cyber monday sale. The Florida warehouse followed the next year. I definitely feel for those people that gave their everything because they were lied to.

    Continue reading
    Bodybuilding.com2020-02-18
Found 157 reviews