Boston Store Reviews | Glassdoor

Boston Store Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
1%
Approve of CEO
Boston Store CEO Kathy Bufano
Kathy Bufano
12 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Counter Manager in Glendale, WI

      I worked at Boston Store full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I love to working with people

      Cons

      we did not have any downside .

      Boston Store2018-10-05
    • "Great money and relaxed management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Interior Design/Furniture Sales in Brookfield, WI
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Boston Store full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Flexibility, good pay, good benefits, relax management.

      Cons

      Its retail so you work holidays weekends and nights if you want to make money.

      Advice to Management

      Overall I thought I had great management

      Boston Store2019-04-18
    • "Not the best place to work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Milwaukee, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Boston Store full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Constant work to be done. Always kept busy.

      Cons

      If good at job, constantly moved to other departments. Didn't really keep to availability hours. Always at least one malfunctioning register in each department. Management had poor communication, had multiple managers ask me to perform task, even if in the middle of one.

      Advice to Management

      Keep to employees hours of availability. Try to keep employees hired in one department in specified departments, not have them work all over store.

      Boston Store2019-03-25
    • "sales associate/interior design"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brookfield, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Boston Store for more than 20 years

      Pros

      for Furniture Gallery only flexible schedule. can have occasional weekend days off. great fellow employees. fun. nice product selection

      Cons

      Terrible corp. management. company went bankrupt and now out of business

      Advice to Management

      They would request ways to do things better, but corp. management would never implement any of the suggestions Our store mangers were great, but had no power to implement changes.

      Boston Store2018-11-26
    • "Sales Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Madison, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Boston Store full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      the close nit relationship with your fellow associates.

      Cons

      Long hours, rude customers and they change your hours with out notice and at the last minute.

      Advice to Management

      If you are going to make rules and and exclusion you have to support your associates when they enforce them.

      Boston Store2018-10-08
    • "Beauty Advisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Racine, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Boston Store part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Amazing coworkers and regular customers! The newest store manager was wonderful and worked hard to treat all employees fairly. The employee discount was phenomenal!

      Cons

      All employees were treated like thieves or as irresponsible children, no matter how long you were there or how responsible you were. And the metrics that were used for reviews were unrealistic, especially the number of credit card accounts you were expected to talk people into opening. No one but the top two people in the store could ever meet this goal.

      Advice to Management

      To the new management who is reopening the Boston Store: Do not make the same mistakes as the old management. Listen to your front line employees - they are intelligent people with good ideas! And treat your employees with respect and empower them. It would provide better job satisfaction which would lead to employee retention, better service, and ultimately better sales!

      Boston Store2018-09-27
    • "Counter manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kohler, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Boston Store full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Fun place to work; great cowoerkers

      Cons

      Low pay, retail hours; company is being liquidated

      Boston Store2018-07-09
    • "Manage 100 associates, sales, merchandising, etc"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager in Madison, WI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Boston Store full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      get to work with woderful team, fast pace environment

      Cons

      hours can be tough around holidays

      Advice to Management

      na

      Boston Store2018-06-02
    • "Management okay. Other associates? Not so good."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Racine, WI
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Boston Store part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Management is understanding of personal schedules.

        Cons

        Other associates are rude, do not do their jobs, and blame others for their own work.

        Boston Store2018-05-22
      • "So sad it's closing"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Boston Store part-time

          Pros

          Great co workers and we did have a great associate discount

          Cons

          It's closing because of bankruptcy.

          Boston Store2018-05-20
        Found 75 reviews