Buy For Less Reviews | Glassdoor

Buy For Less Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Hank Binkowski
16 Ratings
  1. "Enjoyed them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buy For Less full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits family operations love it

    Cons

    Need open availability an to be flexible

    Buy For Less2018-08-07
  2. "Unfair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Buy For Less full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Nice company to work for if u r the one that's management

      Cons

      You get one break vs 2. You're not aloud to work more than 7 1/2 hours and if u do still not given a break every 4 hours

      Advice to Management

      If you want to keep good help change store 3501's policy

      Buy For Less2018-11-09
    • "Cashier"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cashier in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Buy For Less full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great atmosphere, people, and workplace.

      Cons

      Does not fill the necessary positions.

      Advice to Management

      Tellers need to know you understand where they stand positionally. Be watchful for advancement opportunities. That way you keep loyal workers and run a filled ship easier with more hands willing to be on deck.

      Buy For Less2018-08-19
    • "Poor management @uptown grocery"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cashier/Barista in Oklahoma City, OK
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Buy For Less part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Family oriented company. Beautiful store. Loved my department very much, they are like family to me now.

      Cons

      The management sucked at my location at least (uptown in the village) ran through managers so much which means there’s something clearly wrong with the company. Fires you over something so small even if you’ve never been in trouble they don’t even give you a warning. I know people who have worked with them who have gotten interrogated and they asked completely personal questions that have nothing to do with your job or...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Actually listen to your employees

      Buy For Less2018-08-26
    • "Former employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Buy For Less full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Use to be a amazing place to work. We all felt like family and enjoyed our jobs with professional leadership. Great co workers!!!

      Cons

      No professional leaders. All were fired or quit. Now they have very unprofessional manger who don’t know what their doing, no structure, throw you under the bus real quick to save their own behinds! Very negative environment!!!

      Advice to Management

      Wish the owner would really take a good look at how his manger treat his employees. And they wonder why all the good employees are leaving!!!???

      Buy For Less2018-09-05
    • "Great Family Owned Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Part Time Cashier in Norman, OK
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Buy For Less part-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Employees and Guests are Great

      Cons

      At times communication on specials to store is poor. Scheduling is poor at my store, understaffing during peak hours.

      Advice to Management

      Little to employee more. Train better and follow through. Fix computer issues in timely fashion.

      Buy For Less2018-04-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "They do not care about you or the effort you put in"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Buy For Less full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay good and benefits. The company really wants to provide a great place to work. The management is the issue.

      Cons

      They do not care about you even if you follow the employee handbook to the T. They will stick to the old employees broken ways and have family working even if its a conflict of interest.

      Advice to Management

      Get rid of family working with each other it is messing up your whole department. Recognize when you have someone that has the same values as the company and the companies best interest at heart.

      Buy For Less2018-05-26
    • Helpful (3)

      "Former Assistant Store Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Buy For Less full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      There was a high turnover in the company, so if you were talented enough you could ascend through the ranks rather quickly. The Store level employees were awesome, there was a swath of very capable people sacrificing themselves in their time and energy to achieve daily excellence.

      Cons

      They treat their managers like incompetent trash. Zero and I mean zero work life balance! 70 hour weeks are the norm if you want to stay in the owners good faith. If you want to have a family and be a good spouse, you can pretty much kiss those aspirations goodbye. There is an expectation that the Store comes first no matter what, at the cost of your life and family. Corporate has become a meat grinder that is hemorrhaging...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I predict the company will become insolvent in the next 10 years if they maintain their current business practices.

      Buy For Less2018-02-17
    • "Human Resources Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Buy For Less full-time

      Pros

      Great Core Values. Responsive team. Caring management. Employees are recognized.

      Cons

      In order to get ahead, you have to make a significant time commitment.

      Advice to Management

      Make clear career paths and keep celebrating character.

      Buy For Less2017-11-02
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Warehouse Clerk/Driver in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Buy For Less full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Family type business. Locally owned. Been around for over 25 years. Owner likes to know ALL of his employees by name.

      Cons

      It is a retail establishment so you have the retail mentality. Only 2 paid holidays. Raises don't happen on even a semi-regular basis.

      Buy For Less2017-09-19
    Found 26 reviews