CAMP Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

CAMP Systems Reviews

Updated April 5, 2019
99 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Ken Gray
55 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Even the work-life balance is great" (in 9 reviews)

  • "The CTO at CAMP is very active in trying to make the culture at CAMP happy outgoing work environment" (in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Technical debt in few products is a concern" (in 7 reviews)

  • "Unending work and meager salary raises, very unprofessional environment, building is falling apart, lack of structure in terms of advancement" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic Sourthern NH tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at CAMP Systems full-time

    Pros

    Tons of opportunities for growth

    Cons

    With growth, there is much to do.

    CAMP Systems Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – HR Recruiter

    Thanks for the kind words! We are pleased with the increased amount of internal growth, and availability for employees to apply and interview for other internal positions!


  2. "Becoming better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Merrimack, NH
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Merrimack, NH
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CAMP Systems full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    good manager
    Open to new technologies
    Good work and life balance

    Cons

    Some really old legacy systems to maintain

  3. Helpful (1)

    ""Feels like working on a political campaign""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer
    Current Employee - Software Developer
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CAMP Systems full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Managers have the best time of their lives, they keep employees down through intense and demoralizing review cycles. No repercussions whatsoever.

    Cons

    * No work-life balance (lots of young people who don’t have a life outside of office)
    * Politics among management, everyone is concerned about their own growth.
    * Monotonous work with limited challenges. Focus is mainly on shipping fast rather than doing good quality or deep work.
    * Lots of negative competition/non-team player
    * Stressful and unfair performance review, very subjective and dependent on manager. You’ll be surrounded by untrained managers who depend on anonymous feedback, an inability to look beyond what seems apparent.
    *If your political skills aren't sharp you'll be collateral damage within your first year.

    Advice to Management

    * It's becoming a toxic environment, so please figure this out.
    * Train your untrained managers, if you can't find the right people.
    * When people bother to speak up, listen. Stop ignoring the problems and waiting for those people to burn out and quit.


  4. Helpful (4)

    "Very Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Lake Ronkonkoma, Suffolk, NY
    Former Employee - Analyst in Lake Ronkonkoma, Suffolk, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CAMP Systems full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Might help collage grads learn what working for a bad company is all about

    Cons

    Poor Management
    Middle Management distorts the issues within the company
    You will not be rewarded for hard work
    Your intimidate supervisor may keep any project bonus money that should have been shared.
    You will not be respected for your knowledge or hard work
    You will inherit allot of technical debt and it will become "Your Problem"

    Advice to Management

    Seriously? How many employee's have to leave the same message for management? They don't listen

    CAMP Systems Response

    Mar 4, 2019 – HR Recruiter

    Hello there. Thank you for your comments and your 8+ years of hard work. I am sorry to hear that your experience with Management was not to your liking, and I assure you were are always looking to... More


  5. Helpful (7)

    "Run Away AS FAST AS YOU CAN From This NIGHTMARE!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ronkonkoma, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ronkonkoma, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CAMP Systems full-time

    Pros

    The only pros are the salary & benefits

    Cons

    Robotic employees & depressing atmosphere...High turnover rate...Poor management...No one cares....almost everyone is looking to leave here...only thing that keeps people is the money; do not complain or they will find a way to get rid of you...pretty much everyone is miserable here

    Advice to Management

    Need to completely rehaul the entire NY office & get rid of the dead weight & the scammers...so much dysfunction here...it's pathetic

    CAMP Systems Response

    Feb 5, 2019 – HR Recruiter

    Hello there. I am so sorry you feel this way. If you are in fact still employed here in the NY office I am happy to meet with you OFF THE RECORD to discuss more in depth your feelings and perhaps we... More


  6. "An interesting and rewarding place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Ronkonkoma, NY
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Ronkonkoma, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CAMP Systems full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The IT team is really talented and smart. A good work environment. It's also interesting work and more technical than most 'website' companies.

    Cons

    I didn't really have any. No place is perfect, that's why they pay you to be there but I really enjoyed my time at CAMP. My only regret is I left.

    CAMP Systems Response

    Feb 5, 2019 – HR Recruiter

    Hello there...
    Please no need for regrets... if you truly miss the team and office here in NY feel free to connect and we can discuss any potential areas where you may be able to interview to... More


  7. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow and learn

    Cons

    Technology used can be updated more.

    CAMP Systems Response

    Oct 3, 2018 – HR Recruiter

    We are always exploring new technology as it applies to the work needed. Thank you for your review!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at CAMP Systems full-time

    Pros

    It is great for work/family balance. People dont have to take work home and can close on time

    Cons

    Politics and old-school mentalities are real challenges

    CAMP Systems Response

    Jan 10, 2018 – HR Recruiter

    There will always be challenges in a company going on 50+ years in business, however I am happy to hear about the positive experience with the work/life balance.

    We do try to create a culture that... More


  9. Helpful (10)

    "Don't even consider...USELESS COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CAMP Systems full-time

    Pros

    Nothing other then you get a paycheck on time and they offer free bagels on Friday.

    Cons

    Too many...
    - Management is hopeless, don't expect anything from them. They are busy in filling up their pockets by cutting the employees bonuses and annual raises.
    - Company do not care about the employees. Doesn't matter how hard the employees work, they can never be appreciated.
    - Because of the poor and micro management, all talented employees have left the company. Only two verities of employees can be found in CAMP. (A) Ones who are stuck here due to the immigration documents. (B) People who are not capable of finding any job outside.
    - Not to mention NO growth what so ever.

    Advice to Management

    - Start listening to the people who are making you the money instead of changing processes and procedures every other week.
    - CTO needs to be fired, get someone more capable.
    - Go take some management classes on how to build your people up and let go of the need to micromanage and control.
    - Move away from centralized power in precast and get the HR department that can help employees instead of hurting them.

    CAMP Systems Response

    Jan 10, 2018 – HR Recruiter

    First off thank you for your feedback. I will make sure to discuss with the proper team members.

    From experience over the 3 years I have been employed by CAMP I have not seen a missed bonus or a... More


  10. Helpful (9)

    "Good aspects of the company but the good does not outweigh the bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CAMP Systems full-time

    Pros

    -Enjoyed others in my department
    -Nice little company events and bagel Fridays
    -Good benefits
    -Nice office location and free snacks

    Cons

    -poor management
    -lack of communication between departments
    -management only cares about themselves
    -management often was not able to help out when needed
    -poor performance review system
    -lack of structure
    -poorly compensated
    -constantly inundated and no reward for hard work
    -covered for other positions with no compensation for extra effort
    -angry customers
    -not enough people in our department to handle workload-
    -clear separation between executive suite; rarely saw them unless they needed someone
    -no recognition of work outside of office.
    -strong sense of seniority; upper levels simply pass work to lower levels instead of doing it themselves.
    -poor training and onboarding.
    -poor off-boarding,
    -no work life balance
    -dead-end, was lied to about ability to grow in the company; was there for over a year and no opportunity for growth.
    ..and I could go on.

    Advice to Management

    -be more open to suggestions from lower positions, they often know more about what needs improvement.
    -step away from your executive suite more often and learn about who are managing more.
    -work more with employees instead of just pushing off the work and expecting them to handle it.
    -get a better system for performance reviews.
    -compensate employees better or hire more employees to handle the surplus of work.

    CAMP Systems Response

    Jan 10, 2018 – HR Recruiter

    Thank you for your comments.

    CAMP like many companies is not perfect. There are certainly areas of improvement. I do however want to make note that you mention a lack of work life balance, while... More