Centuria Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Centuria Reviews

Updated November 16, 2017
17 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Kevin Burke
12 Ratings

17 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Business Development Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Coordinator in Reston, VA
    Current Employee - Business Development Coordinator in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centuria full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    It is a great experience where you get to work alongside some awesome people. Since the shift in top management 3 years ago, Centuria has been more effective at communicating with current employees across its multiple programs. Top management now puts a lot of emphasis on creating a great experience for each employee. I've also had a lot of availability to grow into multiple positions within the company and have been consistently rewarded for my efforts.

    Cons

    I haven't had any bad experiences with Centuria since the management shift 3 years ago.

    Advice to Management

    None.


  2. "Job is Okay, Centuria is Questionable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patent Classifier in Harrisonburg, VA
    Current Employee - Patent Classifier in Harrisonburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Centuria full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Job is okay. Atmosphere is decent. Centuria has nothing to do with that.You work onsite for lead company and rarely have contact with anyone from the home office. Work can be interesting and position offers flexible hours in comparison with others.

    Cons

    Raises are practically nonexistent. Home office is very unprofessional. Always check your paycheck for errors. Benefits are sub-par. Website claims benefits not "currently offered" even after being reminded numerous times. Not sure if the company is luring in candidates by the listed benefits or can't afford website upkeep. Longtime co-workers have no expectations for improvements and seem numb to it all. The first time I met the owner he said something to the affect that years ago this contract was important to the company, then it wasn't. It is again though. Long-timer explained that company lost most contracts recently.

    Advice to Management

    Take a few classes in acting. Then maybe you'll come across more credible to the employees. Or even better, improve pay, benefits, leadership and ethical behavior. Appreciate the employees you have. We are honest, hardworking people that deserve your respect. Don't think for a moment that we are stupid enough to fall for your dishonesty. Complaisant, but not stupid.

    Centuria Response

    May 23, 2017 – HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGER

    ? We encourage everyone to read the other reviews as this review does not fit among the others. Every issue listed is either fabricated (90%) or an outcome of Centuria being a subcontractor on... More

  3. "Old Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reston, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reston, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Centuria full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I worked in HQ back in 2013.
    -People were great
    -Salary was great
    -I thought there would have been growth. The old C-Level did provide training opportunities.

    Cons

    - They lost a contract which lead to many layoffs
    - CEO was friendly when wanted to be, other times, well..
    - Ended up doing duties that weren't in the job description
    - Was great until it all went downhill and everyone was let go.

    Centuria Response

    Dec 15, 2016 – HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGER

    Founder/CEO hired referenced C-suite to manage enormous growth created by CEO. CEO withdrew to Founder/Chairman position. Under direct C-Suite management company lost 70% of revenue, C-suite and... More


  4. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistantc-Contractor in Norfolk, VA
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistantc-Contractor in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centuria (Less than a year)

    Pros

    People are friendly and could not ask for better working conditions.

    Cons

    There are no cons where I work.

    Centuria Response

    Dec 16, 2016 – Business Development coordinator/Rectuier

    Thanks for the wonderful review! We greatly value our Norfolk staff. Every employee we've had there has made great contributions towards the success of the program.


  5. "centria"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Supervisor/Lead Computer Support Technician in Reston, VA
    Former Employee - Supervisor/Lead Computer Support Technician in Reston, VA

    I worked at Centuria (More than a year)

    Pros

    great people to work with.

    Cons

    This was only a contract,only lasted 5 years.

    Advice to Management

    NA


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company and team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reston, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centuria (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible working arrangements, managers with an understanding of what employees do.

    Cons

    Continued hiring for a contract even after losing that contract.

    Advice to Management

    Be realistic in your hiring. If the contract is lost, freeze hiring until successful appeal.

    Centuria Response

    Dec 15, 2016 – HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGER

    There would be no point in hiring after a contract loss. But we understand the misunderstanding as the government cancelled this procurement unexpectedly.


  7. "Corporate Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centuria full-time

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working with Centuria. We were expected to work hard, but were rewarded with flexible schedules, great benefits, and internal promotions. Work ethic, not education, was used as the internal indicator of success.

    Cons

    Management shifting and fast growth unfortunately played a part in many corporate staff's departure.

  8. "Fantastic experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Reston, VA
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centuria full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Centuria's smaller size allows all employees the freedom to truly make a difference within the company.

    Cons

    I haven't run into any issues.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "I will always cherish the initial misconceptions I had about Centuria."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centuria full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Locality of corporate office in the RTC. Support charities and veterans (as long as you are not a vet working for Centuria).

    Cons

    Poor senior management team (although they are all mostly gone now). Inappropriate talks during group luncheons (specific body parts and religion - from Sr. Execs). Poor treatment of employees.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about the people who work for you, not just those in your "circle". Understand that they too have potential, ideas, and vision to add to the success of the company if only allowed.

    Centuria Response

    Dec 15, 2016 – HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGER

    Inappropriate conversations not witnessed. All managers associated with the comments within this review were eliminated and their presence within Centuria is our CEO's greatest professional regret.... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "not very good place to work on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Oracle Pl SQL Developer
    Former Employee - Senior Oracle Pl SQL Developer
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Centuria full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    good location for corporate office in reston Virginia

    Cons

    not good work culture environment


Showing 17 of 18 reviews
Reset Filters