Chegg Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
85%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Chegg President and CEO Dan Rosensweig
Dan Rosensweig
261 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons as far as tutoring is concerned(in 28 reviews)

  • "Career growth and development is slow(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, great people!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chegg full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Everyone from the top on down was open & collaborative. Great products to works on & great problems to solve. Awesome benefits & perks.

    Cons

    Over the years as I watched the work life balance slowly degrade as the company expected more & more of your time outside the traditional work hours.

    Chegg2020-05-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointing"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chegg

    Pros

    Great mission, building environment, and leadership

    Cons

    Company Politics and inauthentic culture

    Continue reading
    Chegg2020-05-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chegg part-time

    Pros

    Best people to work with.

    Cons

    Sometimes it is difficult to do time management at work.

    Chegg2020-04-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work for - flexible hours"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Academic Tutor 

    I have been working at Chegg part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is online so you can work as much or as little as you want

    Cons

    Some of the students expect you to just give them the answers

    Chegg2020-04-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Get paid well for your education straight away."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Science Tutor in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chegg part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No taxes. Work when you feel like it. Make $20/hr. Very chill middle management, but make sure you don’t charge for the lesson unless it was quality- if not receive a bad rating: which eventually will cause one to get canned.

    Cons

    Students who don’t want a lesson may keep trying to bilk answers whilst appealing to your intellectual vanity( i.e. :”what.. you don’t know how to do this” meanwhile they are avoiding paying for a lesson etc..).

    Continue reading
    Chegg2020-04-18
  6. "Rocked thy house"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Rock Star in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chegg full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stock/RSU’s in the company Free lunch Great benefits Freedom to get your work done as you see fit Fun office events All around good, nice people hired Great office culture and surroundings

    Cons

    Managerial insight Taking order from managers located in other offices far away C level attitude toward all other employees - our of touch Managers too busy/all over the place

    Continue reading
    Chegg2020-04-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome work environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Release Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chegg full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing environment Great peers to work with Passionate executive team

    Cons

    HR needs perform better for career goals and follow up

    Chegg2020-03-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best places I've ever worked for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Manager in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chegg full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This company is mission driven, has a family first driven culture, impact driven work, great work/life balance, and has a high opportunity environment. I have learned so much working here for the past 5 years and come to work everyday motivated and excited to work with the amazing team I work with.

    Cons

    breadth of product offering to consumers which makes for a challenge in company focus

    Chegg2020-03-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "People are friendly but tech stack is old"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chegg full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People here are very friendly. Vibrant.

    Cons

    Tech stack rather old. Java 6. Php.

    Chegg2020-03-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Intern - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Chegg full-time

    Pros

    It was a very enjoyable experience

    Cons

    Could be cramped in the office

    Chegg2020-03-09
Found 441 reviews