Citco Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Citco CEO Christopher Smeets (no image)
Christopher Smeets
224 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long hours and poor yearly increments(in 158 reviews)

  • "There will be a fair amount of overtime regardless of attempt to keep work life balance for employees(in 113 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Review"

    4.0
    Current Employee - V P in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good atmosphere Collaborative team efforts Good technology Good benefits Good team environment

    Cons

    Long working hours Salary constraint work life balance team building activities Stress management

    Citco Response

    July 29, 2019VP Human Resources

    Really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you are having a positive experience working at Citco. We hope that employees will take advantage of our Optional Hours Policy during our non-busy periods to help balance the busy periods. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We love receiving feedback.

  2. "Assistant"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Citco full-time

    Pros

    long term salary, much happinness

    Cons

    long term update, no more update

    Citco Response

    January 6, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is always great to see a 5 star review and we wish you continued enjoyment in your role.

  3. "Stable Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Jersey City, NJ

    I worked at Citco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you are doing your job you well you should have stability at Citco.

    Cons

    Not much room for upward mobility

    Continue reading

    Citco Response

    May 15, 2020HR

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review as we are always interested to learn how we can enhance the employee experience at Citco. We continue to invest heavily in training, learning and development at all levels in order to assist our colleagues in achieving their career ambitions. We are always looking at how we can improve so thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

  4. "Not the same"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accounting Supervisor in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citco full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Competitive health and 401k package

    Cons

    - Little to no room for growth - Long hours, not much work/life balance

    Citco Response

    May 15, 2020HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback as we see all feedback as an opportunity to improve. We are happy to see you enjoy our comprehensive benefits package. We regularly benchmark to ensure that we remain competitive within our industry and regions. We recognize that our industry is one where there are times that require overtime. We try to balance this with policies and practices that promote and support health and wellbeing. Additionally, we are always looking for new ways to identify and promote talent at Citco and we would encourage you to explore more internal communication channels available to you to address your specific concerns. Thank you for your feedback.

  5. "Senior Accountant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Malvern, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Citco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    While working full time, Citco accommodated my needs as a full time student in the MBA program. They supported my goals to further my education while staying on track with my career. Busy seasons can be time consuming but Citco makes sure they take care of their employees throughout that time in various ways such as dinners, networking activities in the off-season, and many other great benefits. They reward your hard work which I haven’t seen with previous employers. Great company to work for!!

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons.

    Citco Response

    March 27, 2020HR

    Thank you for your 5 star review! We are pleased that you have been able to successfully find a work life balance that has allowed you to grow both professionally and personally! Thank you for your feedback!

  6. "IT review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Center Analyst in Charlotte, NC

    I worked at Citco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits program, and Multiple locations

    Cons

    Seem to be some what behind the technology times

    Citco Response

    March 9, 2020HR

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It’ great to hear that you enjoyed our benefits program. We regularly benchmark to ensure that we remain competitive within our industry and regions. Additionally, in 2019 Citco was a finalist at the SAP Innovation Awards! This demonstrates our commitment to continued improvement in our technology offerings. Thank you for your feedback and wishing you all the best in your future endeavors.

  7. "Good overall culture. Your experience will depend on your manager/team."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Malvern, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good training, laid back hours during the summer to study/take time off. Your team if it is a good one.

    Cons

    Below average pay Long hours Below average employees skate by while everyone else has to pick up the slack.

    Continue reading

    Citco Response

    February 14, 2020HR

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It is great to hear that you felt the training you received was helpful to your role. The cyclical nature of our business means that there are certain times of the year when people are extraordinarily busy, however we do try to balance that with policies and practices that support a healthy work life balance such as the summer flex schedule you noted in your review. Additionally, it is important that people feel that they are rewarded fairly for what they do, therefore we regularly benchmark to ensure that we remain competitive within our industry and regions. We are always looking at how we can improve so thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Internal Mess"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citco full-time

    Pros

    People were nice and friendly; dedicated to their jobs

    Cons

    Unorganized with multiple ineffective meetings. No one wants to take responsibility for anything and very much pass the buck.

    Citco Response

    February 21, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is great to hear you mention people as a positive; we often hear this mentioned as a positive of working with us. We take all feedback we receive on board to continue to improve so we appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us.

  9. "Good culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Fund Accountant in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most people are friendly and aren't out to get you.

    Cons

    I think three average hours is 50

    Citco Response

    January 3, 2020HR

    Thank you for your 4 star rating – it’s great to hear that you feel your coworkers are creating a positive working environment! We do recognize that our industry is one where there are times that require overtime. We try to balance this with policies and practices that promote and support health and wellbeing. Thank you for your contribution and feedback!

  10. Helpful (15)

    "It is a soul-crushingly restrictive environment where only a small handful of executives have any initiative."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Director in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Citco for less than a year

    Pros

    The base salary is decent, but the bonuses are small (and they don't disclose the target percent up front).

    Cons

    With the exception of a small handful of people, they consider work force a fungible asset. For the people who do stay, you are completely at the mercy of senior management's whims. I was reorganized to report to a new supervisor without being told--I don't mean I wasn't told prior; I mean wasn't told weeks after-the-fact until I noticed a new org chart. I had headcount included in my budget only to be told (and this was after I had interviewed several people) that my supervisor had used up that headcount to hire someone he worked with previously who was looking for work. The supervisor invented a new position for that person and never told me he had used up headcount in my budget to do so. This is, by leaps and bounds, the biggest boys club I've ever seen. Managers would talk openly about female employees' and their looks, stare at women as they walked by, and categorize female employees into one of two categories: good looking but not good at their jobs, or not good looking but good at their jobs. Once a senior manager sent an internal email to the entire office that include a joke about a specific employee watching porn. The hierarchy here isn't just rigid, it's practically religious. Someone with a higher job title could assign you tasks and you were expected to perform them simply because if their position on the org chart--it didn't matter if you didn't report to this person or even if he was in an entirely different org. In order to save cost, the main office was in Jersey City, but if you were senior management, you sat in an office in Midtown. So management literally sat in a different city from the people who reported to them.

    Continue reading

    Citco Response

    December 6, 2019HR

    This is not the Citco I recognize and indeed goes completely against our values. We are committed to creating a comfortable, transparent and collaborative environment for all our employees so I am disappointed to hear about some of your experiences. We see all feedback as an opportunity to improve, so thank you for leaving your feedback.

Found 1072 reviews