Comdata Reviews | Glassdoor

Comdata Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Comdata CEO Ron Clarke (no image)
Ron Clarke
65 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are great people inside these walls and Comdata is in an incredible position in the market(in 11 reviews)

  • "cooperation among workers and good benefits(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Being sold to Fleetcor a few years back made your reviews go down a bit(in 15 reviews)

  • "The customer service is truly lacking(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Integration Specialist 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Comdata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - interesting work - inspirational leadership - relaxed work environment

    Cons

    - some clients view Comdata very negatively - career path not perfectly defined

    Comdata2019-07-06
  2. "Avoid like the plague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Brentwood, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Comdata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It pays rent. There are some decent people floating around.

    Cons

    The company will throw you under the bus in a second if it's the most convenient option.

    Advice to Management

    Don't treat your employees like disposable cogs.

    Comdata2019-10-18
  3. "Run, run fast!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Brentwood, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Comdata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary is *ok*. Glassdoor says I need to enter at least 5 words.

    Cons

    Everything. Zero culture. I think you could walk off the street and get a job at Comdata. I worked there for almost a year and made zero friends, just a bizarre place. A lot of nepotism as well, I wouldn’t wish this on my worst enemy let alone a family member. Upper management plays favorites, it’s very obvious. I hate to use the word ghetto to describe the atmosphere but it’s SO ghetto. I know this company makes a... ton of money, but it all goes to the ceo...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire everyone and start fresh. Dumpster fire.

    Comdata2019-10-14
  4. "Overall positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Compensation Analyst 

    I worked at Comdata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helpful benefits, good opportunities for growth

    Cons

    hours longer than were expected

    Comdata2019-08-28
  5. "Sales Development Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Brentwood, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Comdata full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, free coffee?, Cool swag at orientation

    Cons

    Run as far as you can.

    Comdata2019-09-27
  6. "I enjoy working at Comdat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Brentwood, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Comdata full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people and flexibility are amazing

    Cons

    Work on lean teams which makes for heavy workloads.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees

    Comdata2019-08-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Management needs some evaluation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Brentwood, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Comdata full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are pleasant. Its a job with more than minimum wage pay.

    Cons

    No growth opportunities, employees tend to be under-valued for their skills, really old systems, and management that make decisions to flex their power either from lack of knowledge or they are just to lazy to make improvements.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring children to run things, evaluate old management for 'style's that aren't compatible with today's employees, and understand that customers are the most important source of business success.

    Comdata2019-07-17
  8. "Decent company but had been stuck in the past."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Comdata full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really enjoyed the teams and working environments.

    Cons

    Like banks, the systems are just patched together and built out in such a way only the oldest know the ins and outs.

    Comdata2019-07-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Comdata full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There aren’t many. They have a long standing in their space with a good reputation.

    Cons

    The worst culture I’ve ever experienced. I’ve been at some great places and some that were okay. I never met to the two people I worked for the first 6 months I was there. Very little infrastructure and support. Corporate payments is the real focus of the org and the payroll card side is an after thought. They are not industry leading in their technology.

    Advice to Management

    Clearly you’re making money but it doesn’t seem like you really care about the people who work for you. We’re in a people first job market and it’ll be interesting to see how that pans out for you long term.

    Comdata2019-06-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "One star is way too much credit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Comdata full-time

    Pros

    They pay you a non-recoverable commission for the first 3 months.

    Cons

    Everything about the company. Seriously. You don’t get trained, but are thrown into the ringer and expected to succeed immediately. You cold call the same accounts - you rarely get new leads, and even those are usually not even legitimate. But when you have a lead, you have to check 4 different places to make sure it’s legitimate. The employees all whine and complain and the managers feed into it. They do not... lead by example, because they, too, are complaining. Even talking poorly about other employees behind their backs! The managers do not manage. They brag about being the biggest and baddest and oldest in the industry and that customers will LOVE to hear from comdata and they’ll be open to talking as soon as you mention that you’re from there, but the clients are all just annoyed. Multiple departments are constantly calling the same accounts and even after they say not interested, comdata just calls again the next week. It’s harassment. Take a job literally anywhere else. This place is not worth the time, unless you need some good money for 3 months and can handle the whining and poor management. The company doesn’t care about its employees, just how much money they can bring in. They don’t care about morale or the ethical way of people handling cases. As long as its in, it’s not their problem and it’s ignored. People are clearly unhappy here but management doesn’t care.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually train the new managers in some capacity. And promote people that deserve it, not people that have been there the longest. Listen to your employees. And add some professionalism to your own practices and to your employees. The office shouldn’t feel like a truck stop. It should feel like a professional space.

    Comdata2019-06-13
Found 233 reviews