Computacenter Reviews | Glassdoor

Computacenter Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 563 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Computacenter CEO Mike Norris
Mike Norris
304 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "your 'conditions' (work life balance, team atmosphare etc) are really depending on which customer are you supporting(in 17 reviews)

  • "Das Gehalt ist nicht marktgerecht(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Come join one of the most exciting stories in the US IT Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Mahwah, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Computacenter full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Young, hungry, ambitious independent provider of IT services and solutions. Backed by large predominately European parent organization with a client base that includes some of the best known companies in the world.

    Cons

    Still in growth mode, so not everything is perfect, but come and be part of the solution!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing & truly live the company values.....

    Computacenter2018-02-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "It's a gamble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Computacenter full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can negotiate a good salary in the beginning, but after a year they work on getting rid of you.

    Cons

    SM3, SM2 and HR are all in the same bag. They work only with who they know and don't care of you are a hard worker. The company doesn't have a solid US presence. Upper managements is just a collective of other company rejects.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees complaints and concerns. You will continue to lose quality employees, costumers and fail SLA's if your management continues to mistreat people

    Computacenter2019-08-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Avois this Sweatshop Operation at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vip Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Computacenter full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing pro to list here. Computacenter is a terrible company that runs a business like a sweatshop operation and treats their employees poorly.

    Cons

    If you are an IT professional, with great technical skills that loves going above and beyond for your customers stay away from this company because they treat their top employees very poorly. If you are friends with the manager, that's another story. You can come in whenever you want or not come in at al.l You get to chill in the tech room all day and watch movies, youtube videos and or facetime with your friends while...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You should listen to your Senior IT more often instead of hiring people that do not want to work, sleep or watch movies all day. Or better you should just quit your job and sell cars since you do a terrible job at what you do.

    Computacenter2019-06-27
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Stay clear of this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Technician in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Computacenter full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None There were no Pros

    Cons

    I had worked for Computacenter for 6 years. My home was in Westboro/Framingham. I was part of a rotation that serviced the Cambridge, MA site for at least 3 years. I worked 15 hour days when travel time/traffic on my commute was included. I was always re-imbursed for travel, mileage and parking when in Cambridge until one day I was called into meeting to be told I was laid off.... however, I was given the choice...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None, they wouldn't hear it anyway.

    Computacenter2019-06-24
  5. "Some good, some not so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Computacenter

    Pros

    Mostly well-organized in terms of internal processes

    Cons

    Too inflexible when it comes to applying internal processes and procedures

    Computacenter2019-03-23
  6. "4 months in after being brought aboard in an acquisition in the U.S."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Computacenter full-time

    Pros

    Offices in great locations: Southern and Northern California (Irvine & San Francisco), New York, Massachusetts. Good communication.

    Cons

    None so far, but it's only been a few months. More as it comes up

    Computacenter2019-02-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Cheap company, benefits not good; do not value or respect employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Computacenter full-time

    Pros

    Good locations throughout the US

    Cons

    Cheap organization except for those at the top. Do not value or treat employees with respect. Their 'Winning Together' values are far from practiced. Lots of non US employees working in US, and they are a rude bunch. Favoritism. HR department is rude.

    Advice to Management

    Respect and value all of your employees not just those at the top, hire more folks for the US and hire a new HR staff.

    Computacenter2019-03-20
  8. Helpful (3)

    "IT Desktop Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Computacenter full-time

    Pros

    No hovering when doing your job

    Cons

    Turn over is big, double communication, management is poor

    Advice to Management

    Show some interest in your employees

    Computacenter2018-12-12
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Mickey Mouse Operation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Service Desk Analyst in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Computacenter full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The only pros if you work there. Is if kiss up to the manager and you will have unlimited time to mess around. Like individuals come to work in work boots and dressed as they came from a barn. Unlimited nap time in the config room at Binney street. Plus watching Gunsmoke on youtube and face timing with there girlfriends all day in the office.

    Cons

    There are many cons to this place. They hire non-qualified people with no IT experience in IT. Which make the senior techs do all the work. Had to stay late many time and never got paid overtime to make up for all the slack. These people that they hire do not care, they do the bare minimum of work if not less.

    Advice to Management

    Give it up and just jump off a cliff

    Computacenter2018-10-26
  10. "Bad Contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Help Desk Technician in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Computacenter full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loose management structure. Good middle management

    Cons

    Terrible benefits. Pay at 60% of market rate. Contract IT so they constantly offer to do work outside of the scope of IT.

    Computacenter2018-04-10
Found 563 reviews