KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2022

Couchbase

Engaged Employer

Couchbase

Add a Review

Couchbase Reviews

Updated Jan 5, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 221 of over 240 reviews

4.7
93%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Couchbase Chief Executive Officer Matt Cain
Matt Cain
145 Ratings
Pros
  • "Couchbase has exciting tech to work on with lots of opportunities to make an impact due to the growing nature of the business(in 44 reviews)

  • "Great product, amazing list of big brand customers(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not being in the office remains tough as many of us enjoy those daily interactions at Couchbase we became so used to(in 13 reviews)

  • "Some late stage startup growing pains, long sales cycles(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Couchbase

    Join the conversation on

    Salary Slabs - Consulting

    24d

    a 

    Database Engineer II

    Hi, I need to know the average salary a DBA should be getting having experience working on both on-premise and AWS cloud? I feel I'm underpaid and need to know how much raise should I ask from my manager? Cctc 14lpa Tech- Sql, couchbase, postgres YOE- 2.5

    6

    5 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Couchbase and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Great salaries and Benefits

      Sep 13, 2021 - Senior Recruiting Manager in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team Environment, everyone at Couchbase is invested in growing the company and promoting the product. Remote positions, lots of flexibility.

      Cons

      None to speak of, great place to work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Couchbase Response

      Internal Communications Program Manager

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts on working at Couchbase. We're happy you find the team to promote a positive environment and we're proud to have you onboard!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company

      Jan 5, 2022 - Cloud Sales in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong product offering. Fantastic working environment

      Cons

      Natural pains of a high growth company

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work for. Very supportive, with freedom to take on new challenges.

      Dec 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great products - Smart and hard-working people - Flexible work-life balance - Lots of remote staff (it's about delivering, not where you are) - Excellent Executive team

      Cons

      As a fast-growing company, sometimes there are not the formal processes in place you see at larger companies. Standard growing pains really.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A place where your contributions will be valued

      Aug 20, 2021 - Business Development 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Couchbase created a company culture that will be at the foundation of its success. Since joining the company I experienced a constructive and collaborative environment where people want to help you succeed. The focus is on teamwork and how we win together. All this starts at the top with a clarity of vision where the company is going and what it expects of its people. If you get a chance to join this company, I would say take it.

      Cons

      There is a massive opportunity for Couchbase to grow in a market that is in full transition. Different people will have different perspectives on how to go about it. You need to feel comfortable speaking up and be part of the solution, rather than expecting everything will be done for you.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Look Before You Leap

      Jan 3, 2022 - Enterprise Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great field sales, technical, services and product teams Good NoSQL database product Work from home

      Cons

      Extremely high field sales & solution architect turnover Daily & weekend micro management Reach out to former employees to get the real deal

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Couchbase Response

      We appreciate the time you took to write a review. We will continue to be open to constructive feedback and it’s unfortunate that your experience was not more positive. We’re proud of the talent we’ve been able to welcome and cultivate at Couchbase. We also understand that recruiting the best and the brightest means some will make decisions to pursue other opportunities. We wish you the very best in your endeavors.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing Teams and opportunities

      Nov 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Constantly Growing Teams & people are amazing opportunities to grow are there

      Cons

      lower on the pay scale slower moving

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A very warm workforce

      Nov 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is so easy to connect with regardless of team or title Leadership trusts team to pursue creative ideas

      Cons

      Honestly, there were no standout cons

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A friendly race car...

      Jun 10, 2021 - Lead User Experience Designer in Montvale, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are hired at Couchbase -- across the board -- because they are smart, motivated, and friendly. Sound silly? It's not. We have work life balance and a collegial workplace where NO ONE is granted the special right to be an blowhard/bully/etc. Friendly means we work together and it's enjoyable; conversations are productive and easy.

      Cons

      Couchbase is much smaller than its competitors. That means we don't have the bandwidth to do everything we might want to. The upside is you get to choose what to work on and you more or less define your own role.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Couchbase Response

      Engagement and Experience Intern

      Thank you for your feedback on working at Couchbase. It's great to hear you value the talent and motivation of our world-class team. We will continue to foster our incredible culture as we grow.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good Culture

      Sep 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leadership is relentlessly innovating to best service our current and future customers andd the best part is our customers love us back! It’s a win-win!

      Cons

      No Con. 5 word minimum…

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company and great culture

      Sep 1, 2021 - Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong software with extensive and complicated use cases. The software works and is poised to take over where Oracle fell short.

      Cons

      No company is perfect but this is a great place to work.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Couchbase Response

      Internal Communications Program Manager

      Thanks for sharing. We're glad you find Couchbase to be a great place to work!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 221 Reviews

    Couchbase Reviews FAQs

    93% of Couchbase employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Couchbase 4.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.8 for culture and values and 4.5 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Couchbase to be benefits, senior leadership, career development and the cons to be workplace, compensation.

    Popular Careers with Couchbase Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Couchbase? Share Your Experiences

    or