DCH Health System Reviews | Glassdoor

DCH Health System Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Bryan N. Kindred
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "DCH has a fantastic benefits package and has a family work environment(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Acceptance of new ideas are difficult with the current middle management team (director level)(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I enjoyed my experience at DCH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Tuscaloosa, AL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DCH Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, good pay, good coworkers.

    Cons

    Not enough hours. Would have liked OT.

    DCH Health System2019-02-12
  2. "Safety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Patients Safety Attendant 

      I have been working at DCH Health System full-time

      Pros

      Nice place to work in Tuscaloosa

      Cons

      Can be boring at times

      DCH Health System2019-06-24
    • "Negligence"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Aide in Tuscaloosa, AL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at DCH Health System part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Some workers cared for the patients wellbeing.

      Cons

      Most workers did not care for the patients wellbeing.

      Advice to Management

      Reevaluate your managers and make sure they are operating correctly.

      DCH Health System2019-06-17
    • "I loved EVERYTHING except my manager!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at DCH Health System

        Pros

        Good Pay , overtime is available, great supportive coworkers

        Cons

        Staffing will constantly text you asking you to work, can be understaffed with a large workload! Nurses will not always help you, but you are expected to help them.

        Advice to Management

        Some of the nurse managers should be fired and hire new ones!

        DCH Health System2019-06-07
      • "Working as a PCA"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Patient Care Technician in Tuscaloosa, AL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at DCH Health System part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Good hands on experience and a chance to better your skills

        Cons

        overworked and under-appreciated. Doctors can be unfriendly

        DCH Health System2019-05-01
      • "Administrative Coordinator for Facility Management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Administrative Coordinator for Facilities Management in Northport, AL

        I have been working at DCH Health System full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        I love what I do.

        Cons

        You have to use the DCH facilities and Doctors; sometimes they are not the best ones for what you need to have done. Medical test are too expensive even with the insurance.

        DCH Health System2019-04-17
      • "Do Come Here"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at DCH Health System full-time

        Pros

        Very committed employees who work as a team and care deeply for their patients.

        Cons

        Lots of leadership changes but appear to be headed in the right direction. New COO is amazing!

        DCH Health System2019-03-29
      • "NOT THE BEST"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at DCH Health System part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        There aren't many. Usually the directors aren't keeping their staff in mind.

        Cons

        Everything under the sun and moon.

        DCH Health System2019-04-04
      • "Good experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Ekg Technician 

          I worked at DCH Health System full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          learned from others, helpful employees

          Cons

          unorganized most of the time but overall okay

          DCH Health System2019-03-13
        • "What’s the deal with poor management getting ahead?"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Team Leader in Northport, AL
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at DCH Health System

          Pros

          I learned what not to do by watching DCH poor Middle management, and then I moved on.

          Cons

          DCH needs to remedy a great problem by retaining its poor middle managers who hurt nurses retention and hiring.

          Advice to Management

          Let go of your poor middle managers. Some managers have ran off good nurses. Some managers feel their career threatened by good nurses. These managers proclaim to have a masters degree but it’s not sanctioned by the State of Alabama. How can you condone this?

          DCH Health System2019-04-01
        Found 76 reviews