KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

DOWL

Is this your company?

DOWL

Add a Review

DOWL Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 of over 100 reviews

4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
DOWL President Stewart G. Osgood, P.E.
Stewart G. Osgood, P.E.
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "DOWL really cares about its people(in 21 reviews)

  • "Great people and interesting projects(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Dowl wants employees to have good work/life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of DOWL and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Company culture

      Dec 3, 2021 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large enough for great projects and small enough to work with many professionals within the company. Various locations and diverse projects. Very social and welcoming with many professional opportunities.

      Cons

      It would be interesting to have more diversity with awarded projects

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Supportive employer driven by passion and loyalty.

      Aug 27, 2021 - CAD Drafter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The level of expertise and experience of the company is impressive. There are many leaders of various fields of engineering and the company continues to develop more. The benefits package is immediate and contains many improvements from my previous employers: company contributions to 401k, a good high deductible health plan with additional support with a HSA, and vacation time accrued from day one. The business outlook of our office looks great with projects continuing to be won. The future is bright from my point of view

      Cons

      I was onboarded during the height of COVID-19 measures. Initial training for someone new to the industry was lacking. With years of mostly self-taught CAD experience it was refreshing to see 'company standards' but the only detailed direction I received was from an outdated company standards manual. I had to learn by doing (which I am a proponent of) but as someone with higher personal standards it slowed my workflow down. While there are many employees throughout the states, due to COVID and work from home it feels as if the company is no bigger than my office. It is difficult to find ways to reach out to the leaders I mentioned in the Pros.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      DOWL Response

      President and CEO

      Great review with lots of stuff we can work on and implement. Thanks for taking the time to put it together. Regarding the CAD standards, I completely agree. And regarding COVID, I refuse to use it as an excuse. We need to do better to onboard employees in the virtual world that we now live in. If you have any specific feedback, please reach out to Keri (CPO) and she would welcome the feedback. And thanks for acknowledging the generous benefits program. We work very hard and spend a lot of money to protect the DOWL family.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      DOWL is a great company to work for!

      Nov 1, 2021 - Project Manager in Anchorage, AK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      DOWL really cares about its people. They make a vested effort to provide excellent benefits, they've made a commitment to providing mentoring opportunities, and DOWL's culture fosters inclusion and acceptance of all employees. DOWL has a flexible WFH policy and is willing to work with the needs of employees in real time.

      Cons

      As with any consulting firm the ebb and flow of work can sometimes be daunting.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      PM Review

      Nov 27, 2021 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, work-life balance, meritocracy, project diversity, inclusion, opportunities for advancement and ownership for A-players

      Cons

      Corporate red tape, not technological first mover, and slow to invest in facilities

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      DOWL

      Dec 10, 2021 - Administrative in Eugene, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people to work with

      Cons

      Compensation and benefits were not as good after the merger

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      good but not great

      Nov 5, 2021 - Survey Technician in Lake Oswego, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -good pay -decent management -cool "gifts" and such -professional workplace -probably the best 401k match you'll find anywhere (25%)

      Cons

      -HR lacks in communication periodically -it was expected the employee would pay for their out of town expenses and be reimbursed the following pay period most of the time -quick to jump to conclusions about work production with no consideration of obstacles that might slow you down -minimal room for growth in survey department

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Set up for success

      Aug 27, 2021 - Transportation Engineer in Redmond, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Project Managers at DOWL will do their best to get you involved in projects that you're interested. There's tons of opportunities to learn and grow, if you're open to them. Upper management takes feedback seriously and cares about their employees.

      Cons

      Work life balance can be challenging with project deadlines but its always a team effort to get projects submitted, so you're never alone when you have to work a long day to get something done.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      DOWL Response

      President and CEO

      Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. I agree, there is a lot of opportunity at our little company for those that want to advance. The WLB thing is a challenge and always have been. We all understand that there are some long days and some long weeks. What we need to avoid is long months, and long years. Your mental health and health of our family is important, so if you need to "cry uncle", please do so. We can get relief.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A company with integrity and an amazing place to work

      Feb 27, 2021 - Civil Engineer in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome leadership with integrity, kind and capable people, numerous training opportunities, fair compensation, amazing projects, great benefits and bonuses, work flexibility, emphasis on profitability but not at the expense of people. I noticed more training opportunities in my first year than the previous 3 years at a different work place. Dowl cares about their people.

      Cons

      Depending on office and time of year, work/life balance can be challenging. However, management is eager to assist in balancing workload. Dowl wants employees to have good work/life balance. When I first started, it seemed like Dowl was dragging a little in adapting to new technologies. I’ve noticed vast improvement in this area this past year. Lastly, like many American engineering companies, Dowl’s parental leave policy is lacking.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      DOWL Response

      President and CEO

      Thanks for the thorough and well thought out review. Love the specificity of the advice to management. One thing we have all learned (re-learned) is that parenting, public school schedules, and work are so intertwined that we need to be flexible and modify our benefits to better accommodate our working parents and caregivers. We are investing heavily in technologies and systems to make our workers more efficient while hey work from anywhere. And DOWL 25 is all about people development and recruiting and making our staff happier, more engaged, and lifetime learners. Suggestions like this are critical to help management stay focused on "the most important things". Thanks again!

    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Opportunity

      Aug 10, 2021 - Marketing Coordinator in Bend, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Growth opportunity, bonuses, flexibility schedule, benefit options, supportive teams and ability to interact with multiple offices in the states where the company is active.

      Cons

      Training was a little difficult (Partially COVID related) but seemed like they were redoing how training worked in their marketing/creative department. Looks like their was a plan and everyone was there to help so not much of a con.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      DOWL Response

      President and CEO

      Really appreciate the review. We are refusing to use COVID as an excuse for lack of communication. We are constantly striving to improve training and deliver it to your desktop in an effective and efficient manner. Thanks again for the feedback.

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Aug 7, 2021 - Water Resources Engineer I in Laramie, WY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great boss and company vision, great mentorship from project level engineers, good project budgets, work life balance, training opportunities, interesting projects

      Cons

      Small office makes it difficult to build coworker friendships (no one young), small towns are not for everyone

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      DOWL Response

      President and CEO

      Thanks for the review. DOWL recently had to consolidate several of our offices in Wyoming and Montana into other "nearby" offices as a means of clustering talent to allow us to create and office "buzz" that is essential to creating vibrancy. Laramie was one of those offices. This was a very difficult decision to implement. Laramie, Lander, Butte, and Gillette are great communities and we still have some wonderful employees in those communities. We just do not have brick and mortar "offices" in those towns. And BTW, your are correct. Rich is a great office manager and boss.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 95 Reviews
    </>Embed

    DOWL Reviews FAQs

    90% of DOWL employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated DOWL 3.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.6 for culture and values and 4.7 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at DOWL to be culture, management, career development and the cons to be workplace, work life balance, benefits.

    Popular Careers with DOWL Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at DOWL? Share Your Experiences

    or