DOWL Reviews | Glassdoor

DOWL Reviews

Updated February 16, 2019
69 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
DOWL President Stewart G. Osgood, P.E.
Stewart G. Osgood, P.E.
48 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "They push deadlines to the extreme and don’t care about work life balance" (in 5 reviews)

  • "We hire and retain the best and brightest employees and clients and build client relationships for life" (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "A great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Civil Engineer in Anchorage, AK
    Current Employee - Senior Civil Engineer in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DOWL full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excellent leadership. A vast array of talented professionals to call upon. Lots of great projects to work on.
    The company is well managed providing opportunities for growth and professional development.

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    DOWL Response

    Feb 18, 2019 – President and CEO

    Appreciate your review and perspective. We are always on the path of continual improvement, and never satisfied with our performance.


  2. "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Water Resources Engineer in Billings, MT
    Current Employee - Water Resources Engineer in Billings, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DOWL full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    One-Company Culture invites cross-company workshare
    Exciting projects in diverse locations
    Capable and helpful teammates
    Career growth opportunities

    Cons

    Looking forward to having even more office locations throughout the western U.S.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. "Continuous Improvement" is our mantra and it shows.

    DOWL Response

    Feb 18, 2019 – President and CEO

    Indeed. Continuous improvement, and being better not just bigger.

  3. "Senior Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Anchorage, AK
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DOWL full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    great opportunity to get involved with a growing firm; young talent is recognized

    Cons

    some challenges as a small - medium sized firm trying to grow into new markets with tough competition

    DOWL Response

    Feb 18, 2019 – President and CEO

    These challenges are what makes our work exciting. We love to work hard against the "big" firms and try to punch well beyond our weight.


  4. "Love my job for 35 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Billings, MT
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Billings, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DOWL full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great people and interesting projects.

    Cons

    Sometimes there are urgent deadlines that can be stressful.

    DOWL Response

    Feb 18, 2019 – President and CEO

    Thanks for the review. We are so fortunate to have a stable of long serving and talented folks to keep the company grounded and firmly in connection with our roots. 35 more years for you, I hope... More


  5. "Excellent Team, Great Growth Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Water Treatment Engineer in Billings, MT
    Current Employee - Senior Water Treatment Engineer in Billings, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DOWL full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The number one pro is the people. There is a supportive team in place with managers that want to move the company forward. My second would be the great diversity of projects the firm is able to win - this is key to keeping any job interesting and fun. Third would have to be the potential to grow and expand your career in almost any direction you desire - just take the lead and know you will have the support.

    Cons

    Right now there are some growing pains and that can be frustrating for some. It can be a challenge in a positive way for others. You have to decide if you want to be part of a growing and evolving organization.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to use the internal news feed to share information and goals. You can never have too much communication. Be ready for another significant technological shift in the workplace for engineering consultants - something on the order of switching from drafting boards to PC's is coming with a younger workforce and rapid changes in workflows.

    DOWL Response

    Feb 18, 2019 – President and CEO

    Great advice. Our diverse and well proportioned staffing creates a chemistry that is exciting to be around. A highly variable tenure, experience, location, projects, backgrounds, interests... More


  6. "Great People & Projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Billings, MT
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Billings, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DOWL full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    DOWL has a wide range of project types and project locations, which has allowed me a diverse mix of work that challenges me every day. I feel like the employees are valued.

    Cons

    There is no place I'd rather work, so it's hard to come up with any downsides.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your employees.

    DOWL Response

    Feb 18, 2019 – President and CEO

    Thanks for the advice. We will continue to make this the best place possible for motivated and talented people who want to leave a mark on the profession and the world.


  7. "There's No Place I'd Rather Be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Billings, MT
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Billings, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DOWL full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    We're a great company doing great things, and I've had the opportunity to work on a wide range of exciting projects. There's no other place I'd rather work and no one else I'd want to work with.

    Cons

    From my perspective, there aren't any cons. Growing and challenging myself can be uncomfortable, but it's also professionally rewarding.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to challenge the staff so our professional lives remain exciting and fresh.

    DOWL Response

    Feb 18, 2019 – President and CEO

    One step beyond your comfort zone is where we want you to me . . . . keep it up.

  8. "Great place to work. Good people, good leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Positive growth opportunities and family feel.

    Cons

    No down side that I can think of.

    DOWL Response

    Feb 18, 2019 – President and CEO

    Thanks.


  9. "Great People & Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DOWL full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The quality of the people you will get to work with and the interesting projects and opportunities for career growth.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    DOWL Response

    Feb 18, 2019 – President and CEO

    Appreciate you taking the time to weigh in.


  10. "Engaging Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DOWL full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    DOWL has a positive and supportive work environment. They encourage career growth and excellent performance and reward staff accordingly. They provide opportunities to work with an excellent team of professional, delivering unique and interesting projects with a diverse range of clients over a significant geographic base. They offer highly competitive compensation and benefits as well as the rewarding camaraderie that comes with like minded professionals.

    Cons

    I have not come across any downside.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    DOWL Response

    Feb 18, 2019 – President and CEO

    We work hard to stay in touch with the people driving the company to make sure they are engaged and feel appreciated. Authentic and heartfelt thank yous and asking for advice and being human are... More