Ecolab Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Ecolab President and CEO Christophe Beck
Christophe Beck
114 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, opportunity for career development, comp packages are comparable to other companies with similar roles(in 147 reviews)

  • "Work life balance, healthy work environment(in 118 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance is really bad(in 183 reviews)

  • "Work life balance, on call 24/7(in 87 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Ecolab and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      Apr 13, 2021 - Food Safety Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compensation and Benefits are great

      Cons

      Travel was more demanding than I was able to accommodate

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ecolab Response

      HR Communications

      Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the impact you made.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Be weary. Scroll past curated comments to get idea of actual job

      Apr 5, 2021 - Territory Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company car, 401k, good stock purchase program, helpful teammates.

      Cons

      Terrible leadership that is the textbook definition of a good ol boys club. My DM never made budget once in 5 years and was an atrocious leader that was perpetually disengaged. Most individuals promoted are white; yes men. Time and time again my DM was given the keys to the ship after repeat under-performances . Insulting salary for an “on call” job. Reduced headcount and increased workload while at the same time cutting wages. Completely ripped apart any kind of incentive to sell. Took away unmarked company suvs for large bulky work trucks. This is a thankless job that doesn’t appreciate any improvements, restored relationships, aesthetic improvements in accounts, and the value we bring as consultants. Endless equipment, long turn around time on parts, no compensation for needing a personal storage/dedicating an entire room in your home for their equipment. Many individuals are not promoted on their skill, value and accomplishments. Training is sub par in sales and service. I could go on and on with how awful this company turned into but I don’t think I have enough time in a day. As I stated in my title, scroll past the curated comments for a better idea on the reality of working for this country. They don’t care about their employees at all.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Ecolab Response

      HR Communications

      Thank you for your review. Fostering a positive and inclusive culture is really important to us, and we work hard to provide a variety of programs and trainings to support associate advancement. Please know we are also committed to encouraging a fulfilling and meaningful career for our associates. We understand the important role that managers play in the employee experience, and we’re actively working to expand our manager training. We take your feedback seriously as we are always looking for ways to improve.

    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place

      May 11, 2021 - Customer Service Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities to advance were plenty.

      Cons

      Very competitive to advance after the first six months.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      No respect for the employees and completely mismanaged!

      Apr 4, 2021 - Territory Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company car (however mine is extremely beat up and was promised a new one 2 years ago but still haven’t even been hinted at when that’s will be happening) Co-workers

      Cons

      Everything else. New pay structure is a joke. During recent transition, offer letters were given 10 days before and employees were told take it or leave it NO NEGOTIATIONS WILL BE HEARD! No time to find a new job, can’t negotiate new income. New roles were supposed to simplify things but all it does is spread out employees and make more work for each person. Went from working 40 hours a week max ( we had a lot of freedom to build our own schedules as long as we got our work done), to now working 55-65 hours per week. On top of that technically on call 24/7 because we are at the beck and call of our customers every whim.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Ecolab Response

      HR Communications

      Thank you for your feedback. Fostering a positive culture and employee experience is important to us. We also strive to provide equipment that meets the needs of our associates and customers. We take your feedback seriously as we are always looking for ways to improve the employee experience, and we encourage you to share your concerns with your manager or HR business partner.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great industry

      Apr 27, 2021 - Marketing Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Purpose and mission of providing clean water, safe food, healthy environments and abundant energy in addition to sustainable practices and commitments to contribute to society make this a great company to work for. Focus on safety and the customer.

      Cons

      Not enough resources to go around. Heavy workload and expectations. Low tolerance for mistakes. Greater focus on bottom line than employees. Old command and control leadership style.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ecolab Response

      HR Communications

      Thank you for your feedback! Your work is important to us and we appreciate your ongoing impact and willingness to take on meaningful challenges.

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Was once a career company before One Institutional

      May 10, 2021 - Territory Representative in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relationships built with accounts you manage

      Cons

      Compensation no longer reflects the work you put in considering your on call 5 days a week 24/7

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great manager

      May 7, 2021 - Data Analyst in Saint Paul, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Two great managers, great team

      Cons

      Upper management Entitled kids in apprenticeship program lead to them becoming bad managers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Spent 6 months, had an iffy experience

      Apr 20, 2021 - Supervisor in Winston-Salem, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay, stock purchase program, benefits are solid

      Cons

      Training plan was disorganized, support from upper management away from the facility was questionable.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ecolab Response

      HR Communications

      Thanks for taking the time to submit your review. We appreciate your feedback.

    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      EHS Engineer

      May 4, 2021 - EHS Engineer in Joliet, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Company to work at, friendly environment

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ecolab Response

      HR Communications

      Thank you for sharing your experience! We appreciate your feedback.

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Don't do it

      May 5, 2021 - Territory Manager in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are about the only thing left

      Cons

      Institutional division is going downhill. If you like wrenching on dishmachines then this is the job for you. You are a repair person now. On call every 6 weeks. No work life balance. To take vacation you have to get people to take your area so now they have there own area plus yours for the day. GPS on truck.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,533 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ecolab Job Seekers

    Territory Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Supply Chain Leadership Development Program
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Ecolab? Share Your Experiences

    or