EmCare Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
EmCare Chief Executive Officer Todd G. Zimmerman (no image)
Todd G. Zimmerman
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay-lots of job opportunities-I understand why(in 8 reviews)

  • "You can build personal relationships with the doctors(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Couldn't trust upper management to tell the truth(in 7 reviews)

  • "No room to grow, pay rate, benefits could be better(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Positive experience

      Oct 8, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great atmosphere, paid holidays, great benefits

      Cons

      More social events to interact with other employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      okay job

      Jan 6, 2020 - Medical Receptionist in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good leadership and management

      Cons

      can work with toxic people

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Primarily Paperwork type of job

      Jan 8, 2020 - Site Coordinator in Lake City, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary exceeds what is is locally offered as a person without a trade.

      Cons

      Uneventful, high stress due to unrealistic goals, you must constantly send emails to physicians who get mad with you but its your job and you are required too

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Aug 19, 2019 - Recruiter in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company and great medical directors

      Cons

      No work life balance at times

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great job

      Aug 9, 2019 - Physician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, salaries, flexible I love it

      Cons

      None. Love it. Great job

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Moved on to bigger and better things

      Jul 10, 2019 - Hospitalist Physician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Willing to pay extra when they need to fill empty shifts

      Cons

      Assumes Hospitalists are the same as ER docs

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Waste of time/Not worth the stress/ZERO STARS

      Sep 16, 2019 - Client Support Representative in Conshohocken, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Close to my home at the time

      Cons

      Incompetent management Bureaucratic nonsense Favoritism Impossible goals Inadequate training

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Setting The Record Straight!

      Apr 27, 2016 - Anonymous in Pensacola, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dear "Bonus Incentive Shortfall," I know you were actually a Credentialing Specialist, so why cowardly hide behind the title of Enrollment Specialist? We have had no turnover in that Department. Contrary to what you wrote, our CEO assembled all affected employees and took personal responsibility as soon as information was available from Corporate. I attended that meeting. Correct, it was unprecedented. It was explained that lower incentive payouts were tied to lower patient volumes and revenue, which were completely out of his control but, again, he took PERSONAL responsibility. By the next month, the program was revised, employees stabilized, and everyone has been very pleased with the results! I am sorry you are no longer here to see these results and how quickly it was addressed by the best CEO in Pensacola! I am so grateful to work for this incredible organization! Morale has never been higher!

      Cons

      None, now that our "house" is clean!

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      First job as a Physician Assistant

      May 10, 2016 - Physician Assistant in Toms River, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a new graduate PA 1 year ago, Emcare welcomed me with open arms and provided the employment structure I needed. They pay a very competitive rate (I would have to guess I was one of the top 5 paid new graduates in my class of 80) and provide optional benefits (you get a stipend to spend on benefits or put in your pocket if you don't need them).

      Cons

      Bad health insurance company offered in my region Because Emcare is essentially the staffing company that pays me from afar, I think it would be nice if they personally reached out a little more. However, I do get the personal touch from my on-site higher-ups, and everyone I do interact with from Emcare (payroll, scheduler etc) is so courteous and responsive. No Paid Time Off No match in the 401K

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      EmCare Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for your feedback! We're glad that you've had a positive experience, and we appreciate your input.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      not a bad company to work for as a physician

      Jun 6, 2014 - Emergency Room Physician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked as a moonlighter part time for EMCare, Although they have gotten a bad rap for being an evil corporation, I found it quite painless to work for them. I worked shifts, they paid me money, reimbursed me for travel, the administrators didnt really put a huge number of demands on the doctors in terms of efficiency, ordering more tests. In fact, they incentivized the RVU payments so we were actually rewarded to do better documentation, not ordering more tests. They gave feedback on how to document, how to chart accurately to reflect services rendered, that was helpful.

      Cons

      sometimes felt a bit bureaucratic when i would email a questions about stuff like travel arrangements, paychecks, etc. There are so many different people that handle things, it sometimes took a long time to get stuff done.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 159 Reviews

    Popular Careers with EmCare Job Seekers

    Physician
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Clinical Information Manager
    Learn About the Job
    Emergency Medicine Physician
    Learn About the Job

    Work at EmCare? Share Your Experiences

    EmCare logo
    or