First Solar Reviews | Glassdoor

First Solar Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 263 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
First Solar CEO Mark Widmar
Mark Widmar
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "Outstanding work/life balance and the culture that has developed here is the best benefit of working at First Solar(in 17 reviews)

  • "Competent and Professional leadership, very healthy and conducive work environment(in 21 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Always challenged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Perrysburg, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Solar full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    First Solar is a great place if you want to be challenged. There are many opportunities for great ideas and those ideas are welcomed from all associates. The pay and benefits are great for NW Ohio, but that is not a motivator for me. I want to be challenged and be in a position where I can use my skills to make people’s lives better. I get to do both of those things every day.

    Cons

    Sometimes see misalignment on company goals. Teams will operate in a specific way to check off their goals, even if it is detrimental to other teams. It seems to be a result of too much pressure in a challenging environment.

    Advice to Management

    Senior leaders do well with town hall gatherings, but I think they are missing some of the real interactions at the plant, both positive and negative. It would be good to have more presence outside a formal town hall. Their words could go a long way in motivating the teams.

    First Solar2019-04-05

    First Solar Response

    April 8, 2019Global Talent Acquisition Analyst

    Thank you for the positive review! We are glad you are having a good experience here at First Solar! If you want to share more please feel free to email jobs@firstsolar.com.

  2. "Loved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Senior Lab Technician 

      I worked at First Solar full-time

      Pros

      Interesting job. Varied reaponsibilities. Good pay.

      Cons

      Employee to employee conflicts not easily resolved

      First Solar2019-04-01

      First Solar Response

      April 3, 2019Global Talent Acquisition Analyst

      Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. We appreciate your feedback and are glad your experience has been positive! Please feel free to email jobs@firstsolar.com if you would like to share more insights. We would love the opportunity to learn more so we can continuously ...

      Show More
    • "Good place to get started"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Developer 

        I worked at First Solar full-time

        Pros

        Some good projects to work on and nice benefits package.

        Cons

        Not much room for growth

        First Solar2019-04-02

        First Solar Response

        April 3, 2019Global Talent Acquisition Analyst

        Thank you for the positive review! We are glad you had a good experience here at First Solar. If you want to share more please feel free to email jobs@firstsolar.com.

      • "If u don’t like to do nothing or get paid nothing work here"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Production Operator in Perrysburg, OH

        I have been working at First Solar full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Workable schedule bonuses and down time

        Cons

        Pay breaks and penny raises

        Advice to Management

        Stop hiring idiots

        First Solar2019-04-08
      • "Great Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Associate Engineer in Perrysburg, OH
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at First Solar full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Fast paced, innovative, encourages creative thinking.

        Cons

        At times lacking cross functional accountability.

        Advice to Management

        Look for ways to effectively hold people accountable for their work.

        First Solar2019-02-25

        First Solar Response

        March 4, 2019Global Talent Acquisition Analyst

        Thank you for the positive review! We are glad you have continued to enjoy your time at First Solar over the years.

      • "Great for people with no job experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at First Solar

        Pros

        Simple place for beginning in the workforce.

        Cons

        Too many people with little or minimal experience making decisions. Lack of accountability for personal

        Advice to Management

        People need nuetral management not though constantly promote friends.

        First Solar2019-03-01

        First Solar Response

        March 4, 2019Global Talent Acquisition Analyst

        Thank you for your review and advice. We appreciate the feedback. We’d love the opportunity to resolve any concerns as they arise. Please email jobs@firstsolar.com if you would like to give further insights on your experience.

      • "Great Place to work if you are on the right team"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Development Engineer Technician in Perrysburg, OH
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at First Solar full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Interesting field of work Numerous teams and fields of study for lateral movement Reorganizations can land you on a high performance team

        Cons

        Stress levels and career advancement are highly dependent on your team/manager Reorganizations can land you on an under performing team

        Advice to Management

        Re-evaluation of managers and high level engineers serving as managers needs to occur

        First Solar2019-02-27

        First Solar Response

        March 4, 2019Global Talent Acquisition Analyst

        Thank you for the positive review! We are glad you are having a good experience here at First Solar. If you want to share more please feel free to email jobs@firstsolar.com.

      • "Not a horrible job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Production Operator in Perrysburg, OH
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at First Solar full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Off every other weekend. OT available if you're into working all the time. Great night crew to work with. Some of the supervisors are great. Above minimum wage. Start out with available Vaca days.

        Cons

        12 hr shifts standing on concrete floors in steel toe boots are not easy. Not enough breaks - 3 breaks in 12 hrs. The pay is not the greatest and raises could be given more often.

        Advice to Management

        A pay raise schedule, a point system, and more breaks will help with employee retention.

        First Solar2019-02-08

        First Solar Response

        February 11, 2019Global Talent Acquisition Analyst

        Thank you for the review! We are glad you have a positive outlook overall! We are always looking for ways to continuously improve so if you'd like to share more insights please feel free to email jobs@firstsolar.com.

      • "Machine Operator"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at First Solar full-time

          Pros

          schedule, great company, good insurance

          Cons

          long hours, no ot right now, not the best pay

          First Solar2019-01-30

          First Solar Response

          February 4, 2019Global Talent Acquisition Analyst

          Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. We appreciate your feedback and are glad your experience has been positive overall! We'd love the opportunity to hear your suggestions. Please email jobs@firstsolar.com and we will be sure to get you in touch with a representative ...

          Show More
        • "Great Company"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at First Solar full-time

          Pros

          Great pay, great benefits, I like the people I work with and the person I work for, location is good in Tempe, AZ

          Cons

          Shift work (12hr days), can be monotonous

          First Solar2019-01-02

          First Solar Response

          January 7, 2019Global Talent Acquisition Analyst

          Thank you for the positive review! We are glad you are having a good experience so far! If you want to share more please feel free to email jobs@firstsolar.com.

        Found 263 reviews