KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

FirstMerit

Is this your company?

FirstMerit

Add a Review

FirstMerit Reviews

Updated Mar 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 121 of over 124 reviews

2.8
40%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
FirstMerit Chairman, President, and CEO Paul G. Greig
Paul G. Greig
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great job great people, wonderful experience(in 6 reviews)

  • "Really respects opinion and work/life balance(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Outdated teller system, too many Sales Quotas(in 5 reviews)

  • "Corporate work environment is in need of a MAJOR overhaul(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Job

      Sep 25, 2016 - Customer Champion Banker in Akron, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great job great people, wonderful experience

      Cons

      none, customers can be rude.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Call Center

      Dec 9, 2019 - Client Contact Center Representative in Flint, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My coworkers and managers were so kind and helpful. The job itself required a LOT of training up front, but once I had a good grasp on the systems, I did enjoy using them.

      Cons

      The never ending call queue was tough to deal with, and you were required to be glued to your desk at all times. Even bathroom breaks felt monitored, since any time you spent away from your desk was time you weren’t helping drive down the calls waiting. It was also tough some days to let angry customers cuss you out.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Culture

      Mar 17, 2020 - AML Investigator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work Life Balance and Culture

      Cons

      Paying for parking in the underground deck.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Too much sales

      Mar 19, 2019 - Bank Teller 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, community bank, great hours

      Cons

      Way too much emphasis on ‘selling’ to customers. Other employees would open fake accounts and turn in partially filled out credit card apps to meet quotas.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fast-paced and stressful

      May 9, 2013 - Teller in Akron, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No sales quota, opportunities for career advancement, decent pay, works with students schedules. The ability to pick up more hours and work overtime was a huge plus. I went to many different branches to help out whomever was short staffed.

      Cons

      no job security and horrible loss prevention. They do not adequately train anyone with the exception of the personal bankers about First Merit products aside from checking accounts. Until I left to go to another bank did I realize how far behind First Merit is in product knowledge. As a teller at a competing bank, I know everything from our checking/savings accounts, to our lines of credit, investments and business cash flows.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      loan specialist

      May 5, 2015 - Loan Specialist in Akron, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I wasted 10 years of my life there and can't think of 1 pro

      Cons

      I worked in several positions in this company over 10 years and in each area all this company ever cares about it the customers with the highest volume of money. They do not care at all about the smaller compamies or individuals that do not have millions of dollars with them. Managers are rude and will blow off customers a lot of the time. The managers will also try to turn employees against each other if there is a person that they do not like. I would not recommend this bank to any customer nor to anyone interested in working there. They treat their employees very poorly. Managers get to pick their favorite employees to give half decent raises too and everyone else gets pennies for raises. It is all a game on how much you suck up, not about the work you do and this has been an experience by many other employees I have talked to as well in several different departments and branches. Save yourself the stress and headache, whether you are a customer or potential employee and go to a bank that actually cares about all their customers because let's face it, most of us aren't millionaires but that doesn't mean we should be treated so poorly.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Company with Great Benefits

      Jan 14, 2015 - Trust Operations Specialist II in Akron, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people. Benefits are excellent. From day one you receive 15 days PTO and benefits. No waiting period. Benefits are reasonably priced too. I never had a problem when I needed time off and you could make up time too. The department I was in was very supportive when I had a serious illness and had to be off work for over a month. You would receive a merit raise every year. Was usually 3% or less but it was something.

      Cons

      Overall, you do not feel appreciated company-wise. When I first started, we received a calendar from the CEO for Christmas. That dwindled down to a card and finally, nada. They also use to have an employee appreciation week with little gifts and a special recognition lunch. They stopped doing that as well.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      It's Like Getting Kicked In The Groin Daily

      Feb 27, 2016 - Branch Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The paycheck comes on time consistently.

      Cons

      Processes are antiquated and bogged down with redundancy. There's no contingency planning for call offs, vacations, resignations, or anything else that may create a staffing shortage. Organizational efficiency is a joke. At times, it seems like everything is being held together with bubble gum. You're only allowed to have an opinion if it's the right opinion. If you don't just "go with the grain," you're putting a target on your back. And if that's not enough, it's blatantly obvious that management just doesn't care about their people in the branches...

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great Incetive Structure here!

      Dec 4, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The incentive structure for bank manager is well worth it.

      Cons

      This company dosent hold employees accountable expect the bank manager. We are short staffed all the time not just in the branch or region even in some states. They dont vaule home work balance due to staffing. Also when a satff memeber is on vacation it puts a big hurdle in your buisness that means no days off no lunch.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Very hostile work environment

      Feb 27, 2014 - Senior Client Champion in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Other than the monday thru friday work hours no pros. Thankful they offered me a job when I needed it.

      Cons

      The Chicago management team is by far the most incompetent work of people I have worked for. I have been in banking for over 10 years and I have never seen such level of incompetency. Very hostile work environment. Only people who seem to get ahead are those who become best friends with the higher management team. Very discouraging working conditions. Very incompetent branch management. Very incompetent business partners. Really high turn over due to the lack of knowledge and lack of business sense. Seems like most of the managers are here for good and for the most parts are managers who are given a secon chance in management and cannot get a job else where making a very hostile environment to work in when you are trying to get ahead in your role. HR in Chicago is the worst. Even when you report anomalies and incidents at the office, they will not do anything about it. They don't have and easy to follow incentive program. They have very very old systems and it is very easy to loose track of things.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 121 Reviews

    Work at FirstMerit? Share Your Experiences

    FirstMerit logo
    or