Freeman Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Freeman CEO Bob Priest-Heck
Bob Priest-Heck
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, if you get in at the right level you have opportunity(in 22 reviews)

  • "You get to work for a great company with good benefits(in 21 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Awesome culture!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freeman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Freeman is a family - its owners and its employees. Sure , times are tough right now but they are tough for everyone. Management has been great in terms of communicating the truth, the facts, and the solutions to address COVID-19. The company remains financially strong because the family and the leaders have been conservative with cash and investments. Freeman will come out of COVID stronger than before.

    Cons

    Its hard seeing so many colleagues furloughed but the company is fighting hard to bring them back.

    Continue reading
    Freeman2020-05-25
  2. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freeman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible work schedules, great leaders

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Freeman2020-05-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Plan Designer in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Freeman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity for growth, growth paths are clear, family orientated, flexible work environment

    Cons

    Some areas can be like a sweat shop and understaffed

    Continue reading
    Freeman2020-05-28
  4. Helpful (3)

    "In Serious Financial Trouble"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leader in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Freeman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Talent levels in leadership (my dept) was excellent - primarily due to recent outside hires. Most were willing to coach, mentor and support their team members and routinely invested in them. The organization has recently committed serious money to transforming their archaic systems and business processes, which also has contributed to the improved talent levels. This new infusion of external talent was (is) driving much needed process discipline and maturity, leading to and achieving needed agility and growth. All was looking up! Then, COVID-19 hit and Freeman has experienced massive revenue losses, resulting in extreme levels of employee furloughs (rumored to be 85-90%). Freeman IS their people. Talent is leaving in droves and fears of bankruptcy or sale to an outside entity looms heavy on remaining employees.

    Cons

    Massive employee furloughs (rumored to be 85-90%) due to COVID-19 has depleted the once thriving organization of its talent. Their people is what made Freeman what it has been for 93 years! Revenue losses due to almost ALL planned shows cancelling through Spring of 2021 (they did not have/require cancellation insurance) has put the company in financial disarray. As an employee, this means continued pay reductions, no bonuses and no new project work for the foreseeable future - estimated for 18-24 months, or until the events industry improves from COVID-19. Freeman is a target for sale, bankruptcy or PE takeover. Truly sad for this once thriving, family-owned company.

    Freeman2020-05-22

    Freeman Response

    May 28, 2020Director - Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing this feedback. The impacts of the shutdown cannot be overstated. Our world is certainly feeling the strain of the pandemic, and Freeman is no exception. As we navigate the impact COVID-19 has had on our people, industry, and the world, our values remain the same, and we continue to put our people and customers first in every decision we make. While decisions like furloughs have been very difficult to make, they have been necessary to help Freeman navigate these uncertain times. While we have a long road ahead, we are confident Freeman will emerge from the pandemic better because of the strength of our people. If you have ideas, concerns, or questions, please reach out to your leader or our Human Resources Department.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Too much work, not enough talent"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Solutions Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freeman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Community/ Family feeling 401k, bonus eligible Challenging projects Travel Eligible

    Cons

    Understaffed Too much work for those that are competent Micromanaging leadership Favoritism and nepotism

    Freeman2020-05-20
  6. "No training but was a good place to work"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Freeman in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Freeman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule & good executive leadership, they were always transparent with us

    Cons

    No training, boss was pretty removed & not available, long days/ hours, lots of travel for certain positions

    Freeman2020-05-18
  7. "Old Company trying to modernize"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Freeman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company thinks in large time horizons and is starting to make the decisions and changes needed for it to survive.

    Cons

    So much infrastructure and internally processes are awful and just aren't improved. Mediocre people stay in the roles for a long time and it spreads everywhere.

    Freeman2020-04-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, truly cares for their employees."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Art Director in Dallas, TX
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Freeman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family owned, largest company in events industry.

    Cons

    Company going through changes and I feel like they sometimes act too quickly, without thinking of everything first.

    Freeman2020-04-02
  9. "Low pay ,Terrible benefits ,Bad management."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphics 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Freeman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have a short commute

    Cons

    Low pay ,To many managers ,The benefits Are terrible.It is no longer an employee owned company.No bonuses. 1 manager for every 2.5 people,Its ridiculous.Its a horrible company.

    Continue reading
    Freeman2020-05-03
  10. "Global Organization"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FREIGHT COORDINATOR 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Freeman full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and nice people

    Cons

    Long hours for most employees, poor work/life balance

    Continue reading
    Freeman2020-03-26
Found 368 reviews