Cover image for GXS
Logo

GXS

Part of OpenText
Is this your company?

GXS

Add a Review

GXS Reviews

Updated Nov 29, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 167 of over 171 reviews
3.0
45% Recommend to a Friend
GXS President and CEO Bob Segert
49% Approve of CEO

Found 163 of over 171 reviews

3.0
45%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
GXS President and CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
78 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

500

70 Comments

Tech

473.2K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=GXS~14801
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Account Executive

    Jun 9, 2015 - Senior Account Executive in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic pay compared to competitors Very tenured staff ( both sales support and services) Work-life balance Little to no micro managing Great Sales management in the Southeast Works well with customers and delivers against service level agreements

    Cons

    Difficult on boarding process- need to be a self-starter Large quotas Difficult to learn all the roles in the larger organization -- again, you need a self-starter mentality

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Just a number

    Nov 8, 2021 - Technical Support in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Co workers were the best part

    Cons

    Theres been so many acquisitions that Management has lost their way and has become useless, only worried about their own job

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the GXS team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Do what I say and not what I do

    Feb 26, 2021 - Cloud Systems Engineer in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Salary and benefits. I have to say that.

    Cons

    Unfaithful and bad management. Cannot be trust

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Smoke and Mirrors - Data Manipulation covers for bad management

    Jan 7, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to learn about the industry and make plenty of contacts. Compensation is generous, if you know the right people. Good core products and offerings that could do well in the market with the right leadership. Good core of hard-working base employees and some management. Good social environment among employees.

    Cons

    Executive management has been more concerned with cashing out than with running a company. Leadership tends to think of themselves as the smartest in the room, rather than listening to the wisdom of those around (below) them who may happen to have more experience and better sense. Dissenters are distanced, suppressed, and dismissed. Organization is top-heavy, and suffers from cronyism. Very little governance, integrity, or transparency. Human Capital appears to have been confused for Human Cattle.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Good place to learn, stabilize for junior to mid-level

    Jul 26, 2016 -  in Troy, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Note : The review is based on the pre-acquisition by OpenText Based on the team and product, the work will some times be very interesting and challenging; and some times .... sucky :-(. There is no real career growth in the technical management side ... if you are a lead architect and you want to become exposed to management (say, software development manager) .... it is not possible. You are stuck as a senior or advisory software engineer. Depending on the team, you MAY be able to use some cool technologies ... but most of the products are based on the old technologies ... although, the front end is getting worked (to have more analytics and other cool things) ... the underlying core platform is based on old technologies ... which means ... lot of band-aids to make it to work with new implementations and new requirements.

    Cons

    Note : The review is based on the pre-acquisition by OpenText Provide the ability for people to grow. Allow them to experiment various technical things to improve the products. Foster unbiased collaboration.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee

    If you like high blood pressure and a Blackberry bringing your workplace to you 24/7, then this is the place for you.

    Jun 11, 2008 - Technical Team Lead  in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really can't think of much to say other than I'm still at GXS because weakness in the economy makes this a bad time to look for another job.

    Cons

    Pay cuts, staff cuts, outsourcing, increased work load, decreased time off, non-existent office morale and most of all a near total managerial incompetence at all levels. My direct manager has no idea what our department does, what systems we support or even what customers we support. Senior management does not enforce any coherent process management system, which means that almost everything is ran in an ad hoc, scatter shot incomplete way that careens from crisis to crisis and hampers my ability to do my job. First line managers spend most of their time avoiding doing their job until it gets raised to the level of an all out crisis. Managerial turf wars (mostly about avoiding work) are annoying daily impediments to progress allowing customer issues to fester.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not recommended unless you don't mind fighting fires all the time.

    Jul 16, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Brook Park, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay and benefits were the best I ever had. My co-workers and manager helped me the best they could. The company hired me when no other technology company would, and I was exposed to the e-commerce industry. GXS has many Fortune 500 and international clients and continues to grow.

    Cons

    When I was hired, I received almost no training to do my job. Documentation for how to do common tasks was almost nonexistent. The work environment was chaotic and full of pressure. Crises occurred on a daily basis from faulty systems and high-impact production issues. Everyone in my department felt frustrated most of the time from not knowing how to do their job or not having the tools to do their job. Poor communication between departments hurt customer service. Customers often complained about poor service and had to escalate issues just to get them resolved. Layoffs have resulted in understaffed departments. Senior management focuses too much on sales growth and not enough on service quality.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    This Is Not GE

    Feb 4, 2009 - Account Manager in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GXS is very flexible about allowing employees to take time off and allowing them to work a flexible schedule. Most of the employees are very easy to get along with, and willing to share their knowledge and assist other employees in furthering their own knowledge about a subject. Our customers are the absolute best. I love working with them and being able to assist them is very satisfying. Our tasks and responsibilities change so often it is impossible to get bored.

    Cons

    Unless an employee is located offshore, there is no chance for advancement in this company. Salaries and bonuses are frozen for the USA employees who do the bulk of the work.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Process Top Heavy

    Nov 6, 2015 - Applications Engineer in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    One of the managers I had here was the best I have ever had, he retired after 36 years of service beginning with GE. We came in as part of a merger and although he never fully understood the operations fully, he worked every day at understanding his employees and the challenges they faced.

    Cons

    Employee outlook was negative the entire time I was there. Initially management announced programs to address concerns but they were never embraced by management. In subsequent years the executive management response was employees who are not having their needs met are not trying hard enough and need to put more effort into providing awareness for managers.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  11. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good place to get experience but to necessarily move ahead

    Jun 10, 2013 - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people in my office were very amiable. The local office culture was very relaxed but professional and productive. When left alone our office was able to function well, with very little defects, and high productivity. My boss also allowed me to be as innovative as possible given our requirements.

    Cons

    After the acquisition by GXS, conditions slowly degraded as process after process was added to us, which caused additional stress (as there were many arbitrary approvals that had to be completed) and numerous issues when it comes to quick response to customer requests. Also, there seemed to be a lack of respect for resources, as issues were allowed to snowball unnecessarily and waste people's time even if it was an issue that was not their responsibility. Finally, the upper management doesn't know the complexities and capabilities of their own acquired products.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 163 Reviews
</>Embed

GXS Reviews FAQs

GXS has an overall rating of 3.0 out of 5, based on over 171 reviews left anonymously by employees. 45% of employees would recommend working at GXS to a friend and 31% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, GXS employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at GXS. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

45% of GXS employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated GXS 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.9 for culture and values and 2.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at GXS to be coworkers, work life balance, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, career development, management.

Work at GXS? Share Your Experiences

GXS logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

GXS Photos

+ Add Photo
GXS photo of: GXS, Udex House, Newport
GXS photo of: office

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Open Text Corporation

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

GXS Job Seekers Also Viewed

OpenText Logo
OpenText

3.3

3,650 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 171 GXS reviews submitted anonymously by GXS employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if GXS is right for you.