HookLogic Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2016

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
HookLogic CEO Jonathan Opdyke (no image)
Jonathan Opdyke
29 Ratings
  1. "Business Development Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Development Manager in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HookLogic for more than a year

    Pros

    Senior management is very in tune with growth opportunities. Great overall leadership. Benefits are very good.

    Cons

    Career paths not well defined.

    Continue reading
    HookLogic2016-12-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineering Intern"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HookLogic

    Pros

    Very open, friendly team members; fully stocked kitchen; great office space in NYC's TriBeCa; interesting problems to potentially solve

    Cons

    Low pay, not enough support from engineering mentors, little focus on development in NYC

    HookLogic2016-11-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Smart People"

    5.0
     

    I have been working at HookLogic

    Pros

    Get to work with smart people

    Cons

    The work is not always engaging

    HookLogic2016-10-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Best Place I've Worked"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HookLogic full-time

    Pros

    - Opportunity to work on very challenging projects that demand creativity, collaboration and continuous self-growth - Several opportunities to prove one's capabilities and grow in the company - Inclusive culture that goes out of their way to make HookLogic fun and welcoming - Frequent communication from leadership regarding the direction and goals of the company - Beautiful open workspace that is probably the best I've seen in Ann Arbor

    Cons

    The responsible adult vacation policy is a double edged sword - it provides incredible flexibility but also makes it hard to know if you are taking too much or too little vacation

    Continue reading
    HookLogic2016-10-06
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Ann Arbor Office"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HookLogic

    Pros

    Ann Arbor office has a great culture. Lots of young people and recent grads leads to casual and fun environment. HR definitely makes an effort to make it a fun place to work. Lots of social events outside of work. Also lots of opportunities for growth. There are lots of examples of people who got promoted or taken on interesting projects outside of their job title not that long after being hired.

    Cons

    Every vertical/team/office works seemingly independently. I had no idea what people outside of my team, vertical, and office were doing. The CPO, who runs the Ann Arbor office, is a micromanager and wastes a lot of people's time. He doesn't know much about technology or running software development teams (not his background). A lot of the time it seems like the office runs in spite of him.

    Continue reading
    HookLogic2016-09-23
  6. "Awesome place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HookLogic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and unlimited vacation policy. Summer Fridays and frequent catered lunch. Awesome work environment just steps away from the Big House and Downtown Ann Arbor. Offsite company retreat is amazing.

    Cons

    Expected to work 9 hours a day minimum. Deadlines are aggressive and sometimes unrealistic. Many meetings that are pointless for all attendees.

    HookLogic2016-08-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Awseome!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Data Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HookLogic

    Pros

    Great work environment and vacation plan

    Cons

    Lots of work and growing fast.

    Continue reading
    HookLogic2016-08-09
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Best Opportunity!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HookLogic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    HookLogic is a great company, it has so much going for itself. Working in the e-commerce/technology space is cutting edge and very forward thinking. The company culture is so unique and very employee focused. This company cares about their employees. Yes there are long nights or early mornings but they reward you in other ways. Free health benefits for you and your family, summer Fridays, company paid retreats and so much more. It was a mistake to leave this company.

    Cons

    Your typical startup pains but so many pros that it outweighs the cons that cause drama.

    HookLogic2016-04-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Get in with HookLogic While the Gettins' Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HookLogic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Immense opportunity for Hooklogic to become the Google of the "machine of retail ecommerce". Strong likelihood that Hooklogic will be bought out by one of the tech giants in next 2 years, perhaps huge upside to equity given to new hires. "J.O." the CEO is a great leader who effectively balances delegation and future vision. Very generous annual retreats, liberal travel policy, nice office, free premium snacks and beverages, other freebees (they gave every employee a free $500 Microsoft Surface in July 2015)

    Cons

    I am speaking a former Sr. IT guy, but a huge issue is the fact that 80% of their IT works in Ann Arbor Michigan. Due to market demands, the NY staff is often paid 50% more than MI for similar roles, this leads to cases when the manager is earning far LESS than his staff, creating some weird feelings and barriers to say the least. Working there over a year, really nothing else "con" I can really justify.

    Continue reading
    HookLogic2016-02-03
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Constant chaos - poor management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HookLogic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Teams work well together, free snacks, company events, market position.

    Cons

    Too much fire fighting, many changes in direction, lack of professional environment, poor management leadership.

    Continue reading
    HookLogic2015-09-20

    HookLogic Response

    October 12, 2015Director, Human Resources

    Hi and thanks for the feedback. Yes, our environment is very dynamic. A lot of times we need to switch gears and adapt to our clients’ needs. But it’s definitely a “work hard, play hard” kind of place too. We love to balance this out with things like sporting events, hack-a-thons, annual retreats, team celebrations, in-office events, catered food, an unlimited vacation day policy, flexible work arrangements, and so much more! Our management team, has always supported these efforts and we look forward to many more opportunities to show appreciation to our employees for their hard work.

Found 42 reviews