KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

HookLogic

Part of Criteo
Is this your company?

HookLogic

Add a Review

HookLogic Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 of over 44 reviews

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
HookLogic CEO Jonathan Opdyke (no image)
Jonathan Opdyke
28 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Business Development Manager

    Dec 12, 2016 - Business Development Manager in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Senior management is very in tune with growth opportunities. Great overall leadership. Benefits are very good.

    Cons

    Career paths not well defined.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    My favorite company I have worked for

    Jun 16, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    HookLogic is becoming a real heavy-hitter in the digital ad space. The company has grown quite a bit since I started there a year ago and shows no signs of slowing down, which can only mean more career opportunities and growth down the road. The office environment is fun, casual and -- as has been my experience -- as long as you get your work done, nobody micromanages.

    Cons

    The Ann Arbor office can be a bit cliquey. This isn't a deal breaker for me, as I tend to keep my work life and my social life separate, but if you aren't in one of the inner circles, don't expect to get invited to happy hours unless either a) it's a company sponsored event, or b) you find someone who knows and ask them what the plan is. I can see why some of the negative reviews described the office as a "good old boys club," but I would NOT go as far as to say it's like working for a fraternity and getting paid to be hazed, as one of the negative reviews pointed out. At least not on my team.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company and Product

    Jul 10, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    HookLogic is a great company with an awesome product. It has found a truly unique niche in the ad tech ecosystem. If you want to work in tech in NYC, this is the place. -Smart, fun, nice co-workers. No jerks here. -Casual office environment. -Great CEO who really cares about and is transparent with his employees. -Fun events - e.g. all company retreat, kayak dodgeball. -Happy clients and investors. -Company is growing rapidly - there is a lot of opportunity here if you are willing to work hard. -Challenging, unique work. -Great benefits.

    Cons

    Typical startup growing pains. Sometimes things can move a bit too quickly. If you are not the type of person who can roll with the punches or needs a lot of guidance, this is not the place for you.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Get in with HookLogic While the Gettins' Good

    Feb 2, 2016 - Senior Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Immense opportunity for Hooklogic to become the Google of the "machine of retail ecommerce". Strong likelihood that Hooklogic will be bought out by one of the tech giants in next 2 years, perhaps huge upside to equity given to new hires. "J.O." the CEO is a great leader who effectively balances delegation and future vision. Very generous annual retreats, liberal travel policy, nice office, free premium snacks and beverages, other freebees (they gave every employee a free $500 Microsoft Surface in July 2015)

    Cons

    I am speaking a former Sr. IT guy, but a huge issue is the fact that 80% of their IT works in Ann Arbor Michigan. Due to market demands, the NY staff is often paid 50% more than MI for similar roles, this leads to cases when the manager is earning far LESS than his staff, creating some weird feelings and barriers to say the least. Working there over a year, really nothing else "con" I can really justify.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great, fast-growing company with great people!

    Jun 17, 2015 -  in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I wasnt looking for a new job when I met some of the folks from HookLogic a few years ago, but I liked the company and the team so much that I made the jump. I'm happy to say I don't regret it, I have learned so much and grown a ton in a short time. There is so much opportunity to learn and grow at a company of its size, and the technology is truly one of a kind. The clients really believe in the product and are huge supporters, which is very rewarding. Also some of the smaller perks (like annual company retreat) make the culture really awesome!

    Cons

    Cons are the same as they would be for any company with under 500 employees - the biggest one probably being that there isnt as much room to move within as there would be with a large global corporation.

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Overall, Great Experience

    May 15, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall great place to work! Was able to learn a tremendous amount over the course of my time there and thankful to all the wonderful people who I had the pleasure of working with. I was afforded the opportunity to perform multiple roles during my tenure and learned from each one of them. This is a great company with outstanding benefits and perks. If given the chance, I would highly recommend to a friend.

    Cons

    Growing pains are everywhere; however, you have to roll with the punches and be flexible. Not a ton of room for upward mobility.

    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Best Place I've Worked

    Oct 5, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Opportunity to work on very challenging projects that demand creativity, collaboration and continuous self-growth - Several opportunities to prove one's capabilities and grow in the company - Inclusive culture that goes out of their way to make HookLogic fun and welcoming - Frequent communication from leadership regarding the direction and goals of the company - Beautiful open workspace that is probably the best I've seen in Ann Arbor

    Cons

    The responsible adult vacation policy is a double edged sword - it provides incredible flexibility but also makes it hard to know if you are taking too much or too little vacation

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Ann Arbor Office

    Sep 23, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ann Arbor office has a great culture. Lots of young people and recent grads leads to casual and fun environment. HR definitely makes an effort to make it a fun place to work. Lots of social events outside of work. Also lots of opportunities for growth. There are lots of examples of people who got promoted or taken on interesting projects outside of their job title not that long after being hired.

    Cons

    Every vertical/team/office works seemingly independently. I had no idea what people outside of my team, vertical, and office were doing. The CPO, who runs the Ann Arbor office, is a micromanager and wastes a lot of people's time. He doesn't know much about technology or running software development teams (not his background). A lot of the time it seems like the office runs in spite of him.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Innovative, Work Hard, Play Hard Start-up Culture

    Mar 27, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not a 9 to 5 job with the same work day after day...expect to be challenged and stretched to your limits and learn plenty of new skills along the way. Massive potential to grow the business and plenty of challenges to keep you interested.

    Cons

    Building new companies always contain risk. Know that going in. This life and culture is not for everyone. Young team will make brilliant decisions and also mistakes from inexperience.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great coworkers, hooklogic really tries to have a 'startup' like culture but only manages in some areas.

    Apr 14, 2015 - Software Developer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic coworkers, very reasonable vacation policy, fun environment, and a wide range of technologies where we are actually adapting emerging technologies to our tech stack.

    Cons

    Not much emphasis on personal growth other than in learning the HookLogic code base and it feels like a contest between quality and quantity when working on code.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 Reviews

HookLogic Reviews FAQs

HookLogic has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 44 reviews left anonymously by employees. 65% of employees would recommend working at HookLogic to a friend and 70% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, HookLogic employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at HookLogic. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

65% of HookLogic employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated HookLogic 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at HookLogic to be senior leadership, culture, benefits and the cons to be compensation, management, career development.

Popular Careers with HookLogic Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at HookLogic? Share Your Experiences

or

HookLogic Photos

+ Add Photo
HookLogic photo of: Cannes Lions 2016
HookLogic photo of: HookLogic at Cannes Lions 2016
HookLogic photo of: CRO John Roswech gives opening remarks at our VIP Luncheon
HookLogic photo of: VIP Luncheon
HookLogic photo of: VIP Luncheon
HookLogic photo of: HookLogic VIP Luncheon in Brazil
HookLogic photo of: HookLogic Titans at our 5th annual Ecommerce Media Forum
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Criteo
See all affiliated companies