IMI Precision Engineering Reviews | Glassdoor

IMI Precision Engineering Reviews

Updated Jun 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 103 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
IMI Precision Engineering CEO Massimo Grassi
Massimo Grassi
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and plenty of variety in work(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good People, Nice office, good 401k match(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Business is declining and upper management does not seem to have a plan(in 6 reviews)

  • "IMI has always been a guiding force to me personally(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Growing company and great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMI Precision Engineering full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    IMI Precision Engineering (Norgren) is a phenomenal place to work for those individuals that are driven to succeed. It is a fast-paced environment that will challenge you to be the best and be part of the high performance team in all our market segments. There are unlimited opportunities to progress across or upwards within the business if you're willing to put in the effort. The culture is one that challenges the...

    Show More

    Cons

    This is a highly matrixed organization that requires the individual to work quite autonomously to achieve their goals. There is not a huge "backstop" that catches mistakes or lack of accountability as the organization prefers to run efficiently and require people to take personal initiative and at times wear multiple hats.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the raise the bar on personal and team expectations.

    IMI Precision Engineering2018-06-26
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Declining company with little foresight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipping/Receiving Clerk in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IMI Precision Engineering full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good coworkers , who were always willing to help(Rochester Hills) -Approachable lower level and intermediate management -Strong commitment to continuous improvement -Free lunches frequently

    Cons

    -Cliquish culture in Saline facility -Business is declining and upper management does not seem to have a plan. Instead they just lay-off low level workers -Management seems to outnumber the employees -Upper management is not transparent

    Advice to Management

    Upper management should at least be more transparent with their employees.

    IMI Precision Engineering2019-06-27
  3. "Too operationally focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at IMI Precision Engineering full-time

    Pros

    Smart people - a lot of engineers who are well educated on the product line

    Cons

    Management is very slow - can't make a decision.

    IMI Precision Engineering2019-05-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The company I originally worked for was bought out by IMI and completely screwed everything up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Monee, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IMI Precision Engineering full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros come to mind.

    Cons

    Bad management. They don't care about the employees, too much mandatory overtime, too strict.

    Advice to Management

    Understand that your workers are people too, treat them with respect. Bad management was causing many employees to leave, a happy employee will work harder. Also don't leave a comment on my review about how you are “sad to hear about my bad experience” and that you “will take my criticism into consideration” because we all know that isn't true.

    IMI Precision Engineering2019-06-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good but not ideal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DESIGNER III in Rochester Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at IMI Precision Engineering full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Room for promotion, collaborative environment

    Cons

    Poor communication, struggles to develop products needed by customers

    IMI Precision Engineering2019-04-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Farmington, CT
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at IMI Precision Engineering full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefit somewhat competitive.

    Cons

    the management are horrible.

    Advice to Management

    treat your employee like human.

    IMI Precision Engineering2019-03-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Do not care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machinist in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IMI Precision Engineering full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Immediate supervisor is easy to get along with.

    Cons

    Pay, management sub par, do not treat employees with respect

    Advice to Management

    Treat the people that make you money better

    IMI Precision Engineering2019-02-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "IMI Graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IMI Precision Engineering full-time

    Pros

    Balanced life, good program, travelled internationally, high opportunities exposed to different projects

    Cons

    big changes on organization, complex procedures

    IMI Precision Engineering2018-10-27
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Not recommended if you are career motivated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IMI Precision Engineering full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job perspective and role seemed extremely positive at the initial interview and for the first 8 months of employment. HR was very helpful at the onset and the newly initiated training program for new hires was positive.

    Cons

    Very tired and conservative organization that seems to rest on its laurels from the Norgren days. Upper Management is especially lackluster in that they are planning at the expense of their employees and not the future sustainability of the company. Many layoffs and a very negative atmosphere to work in.

    Advice to Management

    Start planning with your strength of your employees and mind and not with your short tern planning objectives . Maybe that will remedy your turnover issue and bad reputation.

    IMI Precision Engineering2018-09-19

    IMI Precision Engineering Response

    November 14, 2018Head of Resourcing

    Thank you for your candid feedback about your experience in working with us at IMI. I am sorry to hear you had a negative experience after such a great time starting with the company. We definitely appreciate the feedback and are continually looking to improve our processes and employee ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Cnc machine operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IMI Precision Engineering full-time

    Pros

    There is nothing good about that company

    Cons

    Terrible place to work,bad management,bad supervision They will treat you like a dog.High turn over, they can't keep people working there.Stay away from that place, unless you hungry and in need for paycheck

    IMI Precision Engineering2018-10-04

    IMI Precision Engineering Response

    November 14, 2018Head of Resourcing

    I am so sorry to hear your negative experience working with IMI. Based on your review, it seems like you may have had some unfortunate interactions. We would love to speak with you further to learn more and determine how these situations can be remedied. Please feel free to reach ...

    Show More
Found 103 reviews