ING Direct Reviews | Glassdoor

ING Direct Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 168 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
ING Direct CEO Arkadi Kuhlmann
Arkadi Kuhlmann
94 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, and promotions are only within sales which is essentially the same job just positioning different products(in 7 reviews)

  • "Middle Management having a lack of work/life balance(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer Service / Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Saint Cloud, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ING Direct part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, especially when you get the hang of the bonus system. They have very good training / coaching to help you learn to be good at your job. Very nice benefit package, even for Part Timers. The best part was the job environment - they go out of their way to make you feel like you are glad you work there. Also a company you can feel proud to work for, because they believe in doing what is best for the customer.

    Cons

    Because the job is centered on having sufficient staff on the phones, it can be very difficult to get personal days off when needed - unless you know the dates you need many months in advance!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! The benefits package, training and work environment are second to none in the field.

    ING Direct2015-11-04
  2. "Help Desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Help Desk in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ING Direct full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great company and great people

    Cons

    Small company (before COF purchase) so there was limited advancement opportunities.

    ING Direct2018-08-21
  3. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at ING Direct full-time

      Pros

      Good company to work for

      Cons

      Changed ownership during time of employment

      ING Direct2018-06-04
    • "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer in Wilmington, DE

      I have been working at ING Direct for more than a year

      Pros

      ING as a client is very good and the work culture is awesome.

      Cons

      Not much cons for ING.

      ING Direct2016-09-25
    • "Product Owner"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at ING Direct full-time

        Pros

        Mission driven, heavy customer focus, flat organization where people respect ideas from any level.

        Cons

        No longer exists, bought over by Capital One

        ING Direct2016-08-22
      • "Business Development Associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at ING Direct

          Pros

          ING has an interesting business model.

          Cons

          Some of the promotions seemed to be based on cronyism instead of performance.

          ING Direct2016-07-13
        • "Great Place to Work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at ING Direct full-time

          Pros

          Excellent people and culture with a great atmosphere

          Cons

          OK pay, only major complaint

          ING Direct2015-08-04
        • "Customer Service Mortgage Customer Service Series 7 Licensed Customer Service Project Coordinator"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Achiever in Wilmington, DE
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at ING Direct full-time for more than 6 years

          Pros

          Under the leadership of Arkadi and Jim (prior brand that included a lion) it was the best job I ever had and I am thankful for the culture that helped me develop into the man I am today. Each day was primarily spent thinking of how to wow our customers. Was an awesome place to work and develop.

          Cons

          Still establishing corporate culture. Split between legacy ING Direct resources locally that built the foundation of the brand and corporate office in Virginia that are attempting to leverage the magic.

          Advice to Management

          To the extent possible, allow it to live as an island without unnecessary corporate influence. There's a reason that an orange branded Dutch bank (that is fond of lions) received healthy dividends in return from their investment in this electronic pioneer in digital banking. Hypothetically, if you allow for some redundant personnel within a homegrown organic culture primed to innovate you might be surprised at the...

          Show More
          ING Direct2015-05-27
        • "Great first job out of college"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Loan Processor in Saint Cloud, MN
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at ING Direct

          Pros

          Great Vacation Time, Friendly Co-Workers

          Cons

          Pay, Nothing else really besides that

          ING Direct2015-06-03
        • "Sales Associate"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous in Wilmington, DE

          I worked at ING Direct for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Great company culture. Good coaching

          Cons

          Can be challenging to move from a sales role. Some pressure to attend team outings

          ING Direct2014-11-10
        Found 168 reviews