ITW Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
ITW President and CEO E. Scott Santi
E. Scott Santi
182 Ratings
Pros
  • "Competitive salary; great benefits; encourages application of entrepreneurial spirit; profitable business despite market fluctuations(in 47 reviews)

  • "Good pay, good benefits, room for growth(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not as decentralized as it used to be(in 28 reviews)

  • "Autonomous business units make crossover business coordination very difficult(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ITW full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ITW philosophy helps you in your day to day life. Great people at work Good work life balance Do a lot for the community

    Cons

    Not as recognized for the size of the company

    Continue reading
    ITW2019-12-18
  2. "Great opportunity with great people!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in Glenview, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ITW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work, international company, opportunity for growth, and strong pay/benefits.

    Cons

    Size of the company can make it easy to get lost in the mix. Don't always know that you have a sister company nearby.

    Continue reading
    ITW2020-03-23
  3. "Great Company to start"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RF Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ITW part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice employees and boss. I have learned a lot. Great gym to work out and nice place to sit for lunch.

    Cons

    Lack of money to hire for full-time position

    ITW2020-04-23
  4. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Troy, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ITW full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly helpful and nice boss and fellow coworkers. The work assigned to me was really interesting.

    Cons

    Too hands-off. I would have preferred more code review or overhead on the work I did.

    ITW2020-03-24
  5. "Good Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Managery in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ITW full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, room for growth

    Cons

    It's a huge company. Sometimes hard to figure out who to go to when it's that big.

    ITW2020-03-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "disappointment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Lakeland, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ITW full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have nothing good to say about a company that failed to support its management.

    Cons

    Human Resources discriminates and is not fair

    Continue reading
    ITW2020-04-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "RUN"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Norcross, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ITW full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros here. Run from this place

    Cons

    Racist company. They are old and backwards.

    Continue reading
    ITW2020-04-02
  8. "Good first job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategic Sourcing Quality Engineer in Orting, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ITW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good small team, nice employees

    Cons

    Micro-management, less pay, less opportunity to grow and develop

    ITW2020-03-09
  9. "Great place to start a career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ITW full-time

    Pros

    Emphasis on simplification makes a lot of work accessible to people earlier than it would be otherwise.

    Cons

    Consolidation ruined some of the magic of the company.

    ITW2020-01-21
  10. "Honesty"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer in Gallatin, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ITW full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with and knowledgeable in their fields.

    Cons

    Management is making it harder to keep the good people. No more promoting from within so we are losing the knowledge at the top.

    Continue reading
    ITW2019-12-26
Found 568 reviews
</>Embed