IXL Learning Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
35%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
IXL Learning CEO Paul Mishkin
Paul Mishkin
133 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management makes decisions that many in the company feel take the product in the wrong direction(in 17 reviews)

  • "No free lunch might be the only one(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Innovative, quickly adaptive company with an amazing product and great culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Partnership Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IXL Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generous benefits, bonus potential, room to grow, treated as professional and valued for contributions

    Cons

    The salary could've been more competitive for the experience they want for the role but the bonus option helps!

    Continue reading
    IXL Learning2020-05-26
  2. "Great Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IXL Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for growth. The people and culture make for a great work environment. You are helping millions of students each day which makes our jobs really meaningful.

    Cons

    I work remotely so I can't enjoy the office perks.

    IXL Learning2020-05-20
  3. "Love working at IXL - our company has a true mission to improve education for all students"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IXL Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative and dynamic work environment. I enjoy working with such talented people, including former educators which makes for a very unique culture. Lots of career opportunity here since IXL continues to expand and grow.

    Cons

    Internal communication is sometimes confusing.

    IXL Learning2020-05-20
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Find a real software company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IXL Learning full-time

    Pros

    There are some great people there

    Cons

    As everyone else here has stated, the company is very much run top down by incompetent management. There are too much "old guard" at this company that have no idea how to properly run things and IXL's answer is to invest more in these first-time managers when they should go out there and hire some real ones.

    IXL Learning2020-05-22
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Don't believe their lies, run the other way"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IXL Learning full-time

    Pros

    Good team members, nice benefits, great mission and industry

    Cons

    CEO and upper management. Knee jerk decisions that costs dozens of people their jobs. Huge direction shifts at a moments notice, the unpredictability of the company makes working here unhealthy. Avoid this company at all costs. Business decisions that make no sense at all except that the upper management wants to increase their own net worth. They talk a great game that they are in it for the mission, all actions and decisions say otherwise. Don't believe their lies. Please read other reviews, you'll see a distinct pattern.

    Continue reading
    IXL Learning2020-05-19
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Fired During a Global Pandemic"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Content in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IXL Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team of engineers, marketers, educators, and product managers...all of whom were fired at the height of a global pandemic.

    Cons

    Paul Mishkin and Jennifer Gu threw the staff of an entire company to the curb at the height of a global pandemic. I think those facts alone speak volumes as to the top-down, narcissistic leadership of IXL. Do yourself a favor, look elsewhere for work.

    IXL Learning2020-05-15
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Morrisville, NC
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IXL Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues were very supportive people

    Cons

    They do not care about customer service

    IXL Learning2020-05-15
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Directionless, haphazard management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Technical Support Analyst in Morrisville, NC

    I worked at IXL Learning full-time

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, good coworkers, who left

    Cons

    Cascades of bad decisions, lack of company direction, and overall distaste for their employees

    IXL Learning2020-05-06
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Bad Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IXL Learning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay, health insurance, 401K

    Cons

    Unexpected lay off in mass

    IXL Learning2020-05-04
  10. Helpful (15)

    "Do. Not. Work. Here."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IXL Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The former educators who work here and care about learning outcomes.

    Cons

    This is the perfect company to work for in the Trump era if you feel the need to double down and work for narcissists who claim that the overwhelming amount of negative reviews are "fake news." Paul Mishkin and Jennifer Gu are only in it for the money, and they are loaded. Their recent behavior of mass firing people during a pandemic when they do not need to is more evidence of their completely detached and selfish business practices! Ploys about changing education are hollow and your interest in developing employees is a lie. I feel ashamed I stayed here as long as I did.

    Continue reading
    IXL Learning2020-04-24
Found 198 reviews