IXL Learning Reviews

Updated Apr 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
57%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
IXL Learning CEO Paul Mishkin
Paul Mishkin
167 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits (unlimited PTO, health / dental / vision, stock options)(in 25 reviews)

  • "Work Life Balance is pretty good(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management/HR do not care for the employees(in 21 reviews)

  • "No free lunch might be the only one(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      IXL in NC is a great place to work

      Feb 9, 2021 - Software Engineer in Morrisville, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work/life balance. Management is very understanding and helpful. Didn't force people to go in to the office during covid.

      Cons

      If there are any cons, it can sometimes be frustrating to work in the older parts of the code base. The majority of the work isn't in those old spaces, but there are occasionally fixes that need to be applied there.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      great company

      Mar 29, 2021 - Product Manager in San Mateo, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love my job here!

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Leading Online Education Platform

      Apr 22, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Mateo, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent WL Balance Smart and interesting people Work is important and relevant

      Cons

      No stock no bonus is pretty much all I can think of

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Phenomenal company and product!

      Mar 25, 2021 - Education Sales Consultant in Lexington-Fayette, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      IXL is a phenomenal product that is easy to present and is well received by educators. The training I received, which is ongoing, is comprehensive and well executed. I have a kind, knowledgeable and responsive manager who has built a culture of collaboration. Our team really enjoys and respects one another.

      Cons

      I really don’t have any complaints. If I’m being nit picky, I wish the company covered cell phone expenses but we are compensated well and that is most important.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Nice, small company to work for in Silicon Valley

      Apr 17, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Small company, nice people, San Mateo is a nice area

      Cons

      Not as many perks as other tech companies in the area

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      Feb 8, 2021 - Education Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      IXL has a great product and a strong company culture. It's a great place to start out a career in Education Sales in the k-12 market.

      Cons

      Very specific in how they want you to sell with little room to be yourself in their selling model. Growing quickly and lots of changes occurring that are good, but they struggle to understand the perspective from the sales model from the field. Most sales folks are former educators and not from a sales background which is both great but could also be their demise.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Apply if you have no self respect

      Apr 1, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in San Mateo, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      WFH (COVID) meant not having to see the horrible managers

      Cons

      An awful company hellbent on ruining the educational trajectory of students worldwide. Profit at all costs, and acquiring and subsequently firing all the talent at their competitors, and stifling innovation at every opportunity (both internally and externally via acquire-and-kill strategies). They will probably pay money to have this review buried. Also, you can make twice as much money easily working at any respectable company. After I left, I received an 80% pay raise with lots of equity for the same work!

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Toxic Environment

      Feb 16, 2021 - Upper Management in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the employees really care about students and the product is cheap. They are buying up companies like crazy. They can't grow any further on the quality of their core product so they are trying to do it through acqusition.

      Cons

      The founders lack basic interpersonal skills. They have no regard for their employees and no loyalty to people that have worked for them for years. They will discard you and the time and effort you put in to build their brand and they will do it on a whim.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Product - poor management

      Apr 5, 2021 - Account Manager in Morrisville, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits were comparable to area tech companies and many good people

      Cons

      Team leads and managers lacked training in building and supporting teams

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Well, I like it...

      Feb 20, 2021 - Curriculum Designer in San Mateo, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have really enjoyed my IXL experience overall. The work interesting, the ability to help students is satisfying, and my coworkers are great: friendly, supportive, and super bright and capable. I also enjoy great work-life balance.

      Cons

      I can understand where the reviewers are coming from. That said, those negatives are things that I have experienced rarely or that have little impact on my day-to-day work life.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      IXL Learning Response

      VP HR

      Thanks for the review and adding some balanced perspective!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 251 Reviews

    Popular Careers with IXL Learning Job Seekers

    Curriculum Designer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Professional Learning Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    Software Engineer - New Grad
    Learn About the Job
    Educational Sales Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    Software Development Engineer
    Learn About the Job

    Work at IXL Learning? Share Your Experiences

    IXL Learning logo
    or