InsideTrack Reviews | Glassdoor

InsideTrack Reviews

Updated November 15, 2017
91 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
InsideTrack Chief Executive Officer Pete Wheelan
Pete Wheelan
43 Ratings

91 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • work from home flexibility allows for work-life balance (in 22 reviews)

  • Flexible workplace that emphasizes work/life balance (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • If you want to work at a glorified call center, this job is for you (in 9 reviews)

  • Being in the "it" city, pay doesn't match the cost of living (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great place to work with wonderful people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Portland, OR
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InsideTrack full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Lots of growth and learning. Amazing culture and amazing people. Wonderfully modern facilities. Work from home weekly. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Middle management is often asked to take on more roles than is manageable.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being transparent. You are doing a great job.

    InsideTrack Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Senior Manager, Talent

    Thanks for the encouraging review! We'll keep up the things we're doing well and keep improving in the areas we need to.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible Workplace, Not Many Advancement Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment Coach in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Enrollment Coach in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InsideTrack full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Insidetrack has gone through recent changes to adapt along with technology. While this has led to an increase in tech-related roles and a decrease in coaching roles, coaching is still a core service that InsideTrack provides to students. The ability to text and email students who don't want to speak over the phone has allowed us to reach more people.

    The support for workflex provides employees with autonomy to work from home or an office. Working from home is convenient for most employees who are also taking care of their families and themselves. It's nice to work for a company where your managers trust you to do your work and do not micro-manage.

    Cons

    There are not many advancement opportunities for coaches. At times, managers seem overworked and it makes you wonder why there aren't more managers, or why managers aren't delegating work to employees who are hungry to do more. This company attracts motivated, talented people who are going to seek opportunities elsewhere if they aren't provided growth here.

    Advice to Management

    Provide coaches with annual cost of living increases.

    Bring back a standardized way to be evaluated for merit-based promotions, such as an annual performance review. With the way contract work continually shifts, some employees are working for three managers at a time and it can be difficult for one person to know everything that the employee is taking on.

    Provide growth opportunities for all employees regardless of their current role. Including adding managers at times when managers are overworked.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Former Enrollment Coach/ Success Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at InsideTrack full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Really intelligent, caring people who love what they do. They did their best to handle the mass layoff of 40% of their company with grace and respect.

    Cons

    Other than being laid off - lack of advancement opportunities, pay could have been more generous, and the company seems to be losing its original mission. Loss of some really really talented amazing staff members. Overall seems to be moving in a negative direction.

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps make sure you are a stable company not reliant on one major account before you spend hundreds of thousands of dollars on a fancy new office that most staff don't use regularly because they work from home. It seems to me I may have been able to keep my job if you hadn't felt the need to build such a fancy new office. Also decide what your mission is - are you actually a coaching company or are you a tech company. Seems like you are getting away from you original mission of coaching students. I'm sorry I don't believe that you can have a genuine life changing relationship with a student only through text or apps.

    InsideTrack Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Senior Manager, Talent

    Thanks for taking the time to share. There's no doubt that the staff reduction last year was a deep and painful cut. We did the best we could carry it out with as much dignity and respect for those... More


  4. "A little of both"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment Coach III in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Enrollment Coach III in Portland, OR
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at InsideTrack full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    amazing coworkers, leave work feeling good about what you are doing to help students succeed

    Cons

    very little advancement, I've been at there 5 years and am essentially doing the same thing I was when I started just more of it.
    The salaries do not match the cost of living of the locations or the education of the people who work there. Benefits are great unless you have a family

    Advice to Management

    use and value the people that you have. There is a lot of talent in the company that wants to help see it grow and expand.

    InsideTrack Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Senior Manager, Talent

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're happy you get a sense of satisfaction out of the work that you do, and in fact that's what draws most people to work at InsideTrack in the first... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great employees, questionable management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Success Coach in Portland, OR
    Former Employee - Success Coach in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at InsideTrack full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The people are a fantastic bunch doing their best to help students around the country succeed. It's a very mission driven environment.

    Cons

    The higher ups are doing their best to replace coaches with an app and make it clear how little they care by refusing performance reviews or giving raises

    Advice to Management

    Remember what your company is about and go back to your original mission. You've got a lot of passionate, skilled employees who you aren't appreciating.

    InsideTrack Response

    Oct 27, 2017 – Senior Manager, Talent

    Thanks for taking a minute to share. We're glad you found the people here to be some of the best, we whole-heartedly agree.

    The mission-driven environment has not changed, same as the mission... More


  6. "Success and Enrollment Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InsideTrack full-time

    Pros

    Attracts the most empathic, smart, hard-working folks

    Cons

    High turnover
    Compensation not aligned with work demand
    Not much room for growth

    InsideTrack Response

    Oct 27, 2017 – Senior Manager, Talent

    Thanks for taking the time to share, though I'm sorry your experience with us was not as strong as we'd hope. We take a lot of pride in being able to attract engaged, empathetic, and mission-focused... More


  7. "Great in theory, but maybe not in practice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flex Coach
    Current Employee - Flex Coach
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InsideTrack part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You work with really smart, driven people
    Pay is pretty good
    Everyone seems to be pretty mission driven and keeping students at the center
    Cool technology and innovation
    Fun company culture
    Working from home is an amazing perk

    Cons

    Little support for part-time and flex positions. Most days I know what I'm supposed to be doing, and often feel forgotten about. I generally feel like I'm working at a call center, and annoying students. Sometimes it doesn't feel authentic.

    Advice to Management

    Create more pathways for flex folks, and advise managers to better support them.

    InsideTrack Response

    Sep 8, 2017 – Senior Manager, Talent

    Thanks for taking time to share. We very much appreciate the feedback on support for flex coaches. The flex team is a relatively new feature at InsideTrack and we're always looking for ways to... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Mission-driven organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InsideTrack full-time

    Pros

    -work from home flexibility allows for work-life balance
    -working for a company that is creating more college graduates is fulfilling
    -management in general allows the autonomy and encouragement to be creative and do whatever you feel is best to improve our impact
    -culture focuses on learning and growing, which means you are always improving your skills that will benefit your day to day job and future careers
    -surrounded by brilliant co-workers
    -InsideTrack cares about its employees. You feel the care and concern in every decision that is made.

    Cons

    -coaching as a concept is well-known in higher education but it's an uphill battle to create explosive growth
    -growing pains while the company figures out how to best incorporate technology in a service oriented industry

    Advice to Management

    -invest heavily in technology management since this is the future of the company and management in this area will be critical in shepherding the integration of technology and coaching

    InsideTrack Response

    Aug 23, 2017 – Senior Manager, Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We're really happy to see you find value in working here. Some of the points highlighted have been true for a long time, others are the result... More


  9. "Great people, great environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Success Coach in Nashville, TN
    Current Employee - Success Coach in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InsideTrack full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    - Love the people I work with - they are incredible!
    - Love my manager and the Leadership Team
    - Love that I am challenged every day to do great work and try new things
    - Flexible workplace that emphasizes work/life balance
    - Get to work with peers, students and university partners on a daily basis to make changes that will help everyone - it's a "feel good" job!
    - Great benefits - PTO, sick time, holidays, work-flex!

    Cons

    - Lots of change happening on almost every level these days. We are working hard on "change management" but I feel like it's coming as an after-thought versus something proactive
    - Pay. It pays the bills but with the cost of living increasing significantly in Nashville, the pay isn't matching that COL any more. We do have great benefits and it's sometimes hard to keep that in mind when you're just trying to pay the bills
    - Growth opportunities. We are a company of INCREDIBLE people, which makes it hard to find opportunities to "move up"


  10. "Startup Feel at a Medium-sized Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InsideTrack full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Will update later as I am a fairly new employee.
    Employees seem very passionate about their work, the work environment is pretty low stress, and there are lots of options for flexibility given that most of the company works remotely. I got sick within a couple of weeks of working and even though I didn't have any sick time accrued to actually take the days off, I got to work from home which made a huge difference on my stress level. The leadership team seems very accessible, and I have already met and had real conversations with most of them, including the CEO. Transparency is much higher than other companies. Even though we function more like a startup, we do tend to have more medium company resources.

    Cons

    I'm not sure the coaches are paid and treated as well as other employees, despite the fact that they do the real work - without them, InsideTrack is just an app.
    Some employees seem disparaged of change, and I have seen and heard about all the changes the company has been through, but having worked in retail, technology, and startups I can say that change is just par for the course.

    Advice to Management

    Transparency about upper-level decisions could be better. The focus on what is relevant to different departments could be sharper. And we really should value the coaches more.

    InsideTrack Response

    Aug 23, 2017 – Senior Manager, Talent

    Thank you for taking time to share. W're happy to hear you value the flexibility, and that the transparency of our leadership has met high standards. That is something we want to make sure we get... More


Showing 91 of 92 reviews
Reset Filters