KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Invitae

Engaged Employer

Invitae

Add a Review

Invitae Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 261 of over 273 reviews

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Invitae CEO Sean George
Sean George
139 Ratings

What people are saying about Invitae

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Invitae and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year
    Featured Review

    BEST company ever

    May 6, 2022 - Supply Chain 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management is hands off, you are given room to grow and thrice but you're supported when you need it

    Cons

    None that I've found yet

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Invitae Response

    For those looking at this review, Invitae has a unique bonus process. Employees get an annual stock grant which is significant. 25% of this vests each year, which allows employee to build equity over time vs. other companies who only provide a cash bonus.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing Company!

    Jun 6, 2022 - Client Success Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everything you could ever imagine

    Cons

    Nothing at this current time.

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Truly miserable company

    Jun 28, 2022 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Work/life balance is okay if you can handle the constant fear of losing your job.

    Cons

    - Completely clueless middle-management, the worst I've seen. Ever since the stock price tanked and they brought in some scary C-suite sharks, the managers are running scared and trying to protect themselves to the detriment of everything else. - If you are rank-and-file, you can expect layoffs to be a constant fear in the back of your mind. If you are management, you have nothing to worry about, the entire company apparatus is set up to insulate you from accountability. - The company has no formal performance management, or even performance tracking. They randomly do leveling assessments that are retroactive and punitive. You will find out in Q3 of 2021 that your performance was "just okay" in Q1 2020. - There is no training, you are just expected to know things. - Extremely contractor-heavy development teams. The contractors are generally pretty good, but that says more about the agency that employs them than Invitae. This is a rare company where the contractors actually pity the full-time employees. - The company's outlook is abysmal. They acquired a bunch of companies during the peak of the market valuations, which every employee thought was crazy, they're barely able to keep their own product together, much less integrate other companies' products. Listen to the earnings calls! They are a total bloodbath!

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Heading in a bad direction

    May 30, 2022 - Software Development Engineer II 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing benefits Interesting data being worked on Great engineering management and team members

    Cons

    Some engineers are very underpaid. Compensation adjustments were promised as a part of releveling literally months ago with barely any updates. The kicker is the geniuses in HR implemented a maximum raise cap of 30%, so if you’re someone who is lucky enough to be that underpaid then guess what, you get to continue being underpaid. The differential ended up being so big that they didn’t budget enough money for the raises so they don’t know what to do, but they also don’t want to tell their employees that so they are keeping silent. Communication from management about everything has deteriorated over the last year and it is incredibly frustrating and disappointing

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Losing valuable employees due to poor management and lack of basic resources

    Jun 8, 2022 - Lab Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Colleagues are supportive, collaborative, and have a great understanding of what it means to work as a team. The office is located at a convenient area for before/after work outings.

    Cons

    Your colleagues are possibly the only thing that will make the job tolerable because the company will be constantly pushing you to your limit and actively trying to keep the morale low. Despite the number of work doubling within the past year, the resources and number of employees have remained the same or lowered due to lay offs, reorgs, budget cuts, etc. The employees are constantly voicing concerns and asking what is going on as there is no transparency below leadership position. Upper management shows very little concern to the well-being of the technicians that perform the services for the patients and fuss over the production numbers instead. It is a constant battle of frustration and exhaustion with management ignoring the needs of the lab and creating more questions than answers in every meeting.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Fire Sean George and Alex Furman, perhaps more...

    May 5, 2022 - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No accountability. None. Get promoted and them just do whatever you want. Rise over their IC role and do whatever you want, even if it costs the company a ton of cash which they are currently bleeding a lot of right now. If you get higher up, you'll never be held accountable for any deliverables. Look at their Oncology and other projects, just rest and vest :) Once you're above the IC level, you can pretty much take as much vacation time as you want. "Leads" often take 3-4 MONHTS of time off per year.

    Cons

    Lots of lip service to patients and healthcare but you also have the CEO, Sean, telling people "Covid isn't as bad as the flu" and they haven't changed their posture since. Employees don't wear masks indoors or even test. Recently things are toxic and the leadership is not paying any attention. We are losing so many programmers and QA testing people that I donno if the software is going to be fine. Sean doesn't realize he's leading a Healthcare company and keeps all the medical advice at a minimum and I am making the very deliberate point point of naming the person that is Alex Furman because his software they called "org one" has stomped the advancement of the careers of lots of people, he is a hated human I say. Why is Invitae bleeding money? I sure hope the investors look into what Sean, Alex, Karthik, Ken, and Eric are doing....

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful

    Invitae Response

    For those reading this review, Invitae continues to follow all state and local protocols related to covid. We value the health and safety of our employees.

  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    This company has no business developing IVD genetic tests

    May 12, 2022 - Marketing 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to work if you like to coast and not do any real work. Cool swag

    Cons

    I've worked in the Life Science industry for 30 years and this company really baffled me. I was part of an acquisition , I would not have willingly joined this company. Shortly after the acquisition, my reports were taken away and I was put into a very obscure role that had nothing to do with my skills or career goals. It wasn't just me, they just dispersed the entire team they acquired into open roles they had. the most shocking thing was that the person they assigned as my LEAD because they "don't have titles" (which sometimes they do, sometimes they don't??) was a very junior person with no science background at all, the person was from consumer goods industry. Reviews at this company are done in a Facebook like feature manner which is just bizarre. You get likes and that's how the determine your performance.... no info, no feedback and no way to know who gave you a bad review unless they sign their name. Leadership, esp in Boulder has no idea how to develop products nor do they anything about Oncology. All the people that knew the science and the Oncology space left... It's very scary honestly that they are developing IVD tests. I'm not sure how this company stays around.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Lost 6 Months of Work Experience

    May 27, 2022 - Bioinformatics Engineer in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits at Invitae are great. They do care about the mental and physical well being of their employees.

    Cons

    Wasted my time. Since the time that I joined the company went through a few "re-orgs" (fancy term for layoffs). The original position that I was hired for no longer exists at the company and I kept being moved to a new team every two months. I was unable to find stability working for Invitae and when it came down to it, they relieved me of my duties as they could not find an opportunity for me within the company. I spent the last month learning and proving my worth just to realize that my lead had already made the decision for me to longer be a part of the company and that the tickets that I closed were just overhead and by having me do it, they didn't have to worry about wasting another's time, since I was already fated to leave the company.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    High engineering turnover due massive tech debt

    Jun 20, 2022 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Freedom to choose the right tool for the job - Unlimited PTO - Remote friendly - Good people that are easy to work with

    Cons

    - The software systems are way too complex and poorly built. I attribute this to a lack of talent (the CEO said he won't pay competitive salaries) and the complex genetics space that software engineers don't really comprehend. This leads to massive tech debt. - High engineering turnover as engineers quickly get overwhelmed. Probably the highest engineering turnover I've ever seen in my career. - Engineering leadership laid off the entire production support team and expect the remaining engineers to pick up their difficult job.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Summary of my time there

    Jun 17, 2022 - Reagent Manufacturing Technician in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team because it was so small so there wasn't any miscommunication and all our issues were heard. Good benefits. Great stepping stone into biotech industry.

    Cons

    Toxic lab environments. No one listens to people working in the lab, including our own leads. No sympathy or respect for employees off/outside time. They'd rather ask people to come in early or stay later and come in on off days working 6/7 day weeks than hire more people. And then have the audacity to tell us we aren't working hard enough or that we lost sight of our company's goal.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 261 Reviews

Invitae Reviews FAQs

Invitae has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 273 reviews left anonymously by employees. 66% of employees would recommend working at Invitae to a friend and 44% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -10% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Invitae employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Invitae. This rating has decreased by -10% over the last 12 months.

66% of Invitae employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Invitae 3.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Invitae to be culture, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, career development, management.

Popular Careers with Invitae Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Invitae? Share Your Experiences

or

Invitae Careers

Cover image for Invitae

We are a multidisciplinary team carrying out a novel business model in a highly technical, regulated, and complex industry against a...More

  • Our Culture
  • Perks and Benefits
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

Invitae

3 days ago

Culture
Flavia is part of our amazing and energetic Client Services Team. Located in Europe and supporting all of our major clients and accounts across the EMEA region, she tells what she loves most about Invitae. Check it out!
Shared image
Logo

Invitae

31 days ago

Community
We stand with and celebrate the LGBTQ+ community today and every day. #PrideMonth #LoveIsLove
Shared image
See all

Invitae Photos

+ Add Photo
Invitae photo of: Invitae Team
Invitae photo of: Team photo
Invitae photo of: San Francisco Office
Invitae photo of: Invitae Team
Invitae photo of: Invitae Team
Invitae photo of: Invitae Team
Invitae photo of: Invitae Team
See All Photos