Itron Reviews

Updated May 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Itron President & CEO Philip Mezey
Philip Mezey
166 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Hard to manage work life balance, you have to work on multiple things parallely(in 13 reviews)

  • "There is a major disconnect between upper management and the common employee when it comes to communication and future work(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love it here"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly 

    I have been working at Itron full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. Good People, better memories.

    Cons

    Poor management depending on department

    Itron2019-10-31
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Salary"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Itron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with some of the best utility industry leaders

    Cons

    Equipment shortcomings and back office support

    Itron2020-04-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Run Away, Fast."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Itron full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are ok, but lack major things.

    Cons

    No work life balance, management doesn't stick up for you or your team and are swift to lay blame. I've seen managers on meetings from different teams try to lay the blame onto someone and if they cannot find someone then it comes down to the gaps in their process (as there are plenty of them). There is a revolving door, where I've seen over 8 individuals leave the same position over the past 2 years ( I looked at their meeting minutes for the past years), on a team of 6 people. That says a lot about the leadership and people running this show. Managers will lie to your face saying that there are people talking about how you didn't answer a response when you ask them what time and date, they do not provide it because they know you have proof. Management flat out lieing and being non responsive on their own SOPs and basically changing the rules of engagement every other day on you. Using software technology that is over 10 years old that is at best workable. 5 people doing the job of 1 person because the bloat is real. Many times these groups make mistakes since the focus isn't really with standards or testing as it should be. Release of software is often inconsistent at best because of over worked individuals. Company is putting large focus on outsourcing and interns since paying someone a fair good salary is not in their budget. Company is cutting all over the place. Work life balance is non-existent. Had a manager tell me that dinner wasn't even an option and that I should fast instead. People doing their best to try to make you fail, it's pretty much the MO here. There is no I in team, but there is an obvious lack of common decency and respect going on here.

    Continue reading
    Itron2020-05-04
  4. "Overall good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Itron full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Positive environment and meaningful work.

    Cons

    Global support 24hour on-call potential

    Itron2020-03-16
  5. "Why do it with 2 people, when you can use 5?"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Itron full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Staying above water only because of the Silver Spring acquisition. Itron legacy is exactly that … legacy! If they execute on the roadmap, they will be in a good place competitively.

    Cons

    - Lots of politics - Focus on operations rather than growth, and still bad at operations - Organization, talent, compensation, etc. aligns with utility rather than a tech company

    Itron2020-01-23
  6. "Like everything else, always room for improvement"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Technician in West Union, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Itron full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Flexible hours. Friendly work environment. Clean.

    Cons

    Production Operations could be better managed. You have to work your way up to get an opportunity for advancement.

    Continue reading
    Itron2020-01-11
  7. "Great place and people to work with and to learn and implement new things and ideas."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Engineer in Waseca, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Itron full-time

    Pros

    You get to experiment with newer ideas, Multidisciplinary and collaborative environment.

    Cons

    Hard to manage work life balance, you have to work on multiple things parallely.

    Continue reading
    Itron2019-12-14
  8. Helpful (4)

    "untrustworthy management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales/Service in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Itron full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Co workers are nice; interesting technology

    Cons

    Management can not be trusted. He tells you to do something and then lies when it suits him

    Itron2019-10-22
  9. "Great job to work for."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Itron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flex hours and great pay.

    Cons

    none great company to work for.

    Itron2019-09-10
  10. "Excellent company if you enjoy traveling"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Itron full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, accountable co-workers and management with excellent field equipment and resources.

    Cons

    Base pay was below average

    Itron2019-09-10
Viewing 1 - 10 of 345 Reviews