Jacob Realty Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Jacob Realty Reviews

Updated 5 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Jacob Realty CEO Demetrios Salpoglou (no image)
Demetrios Salpoglou
2 Ratings
  1. "The Best College Internship No One Thought About"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Real Estate Agent in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jacob Realty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started working for the Boston Pads Group during my junior year of college. I didn't enjoy the classes at my university, and I did not maintain a good enough grade to get accepted for internships. Working in real estate gave me the opportunity to succeed outside of school, and Jacob Realty gave me the tools and resources I needed to get ahead of my peers. The office has amazing managers that will guide you during... your time at the company, and the job is exceptional for mastering cold/warm calling, copywriting, database navigation, CRM, docusign, and closing clients. Because the work hours are extremely flexible (you choose your hours), I was still able to pursue my education as well. Hands down, as a college student, this was the best sales experience I've ever heard and been a part of.

    Show More

    Cons

    - the job requires a lot of patience, and you will come across leads that end up with the client wasting your time. - Not having a car makes showings pretty difficult.

    Advice to Management

    More college students need to know about this opportunity!

    Jacob Realty2019-09-05
  2. "Endless Opportunities for Growth and Meaningful Input"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Agent in Back Bay, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jacob Realty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked as a leasing agent in multiple states, and Jacob Realty sets you up to succeed more than any other office I've ever worked for. Not only is management somehow always available for help and questions, but the database we have access to is INVALUABLE for rentals and sales. I've never seen anything like it. Ads get automatically posted for you!! I'm honestly in awe. If you want to make big money, come work... here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Absolutely none, as someone that's been in the business

    Advice to Management

    Keep it uP!

    Jacob Realty2019-06-24
  3. "2. I joined Jacob Realty soon after moving to Boston and the environment has been great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Real Estate Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jacob Realty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I expected the office to be a bit cutthroat, but the agents were friendly and helped me out in the beginning. Agents have the ability to work their own hours, allowing me to make better money than at my old job because I can work more and the more I work the more money I make.3. What has made me enjoy working here has been the approach that’s been taken in running the office. Unlike other agencies, Jacob Realty sets... you up to succeed. My manager provided me with personal advice when I first started out, and their system of listing is the biggest I’ve seen. If you put in the work, you can make a lot of money here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Very competitive market making it difficult in the beginning

    Jacob Realty2019-06-21
  4. "Best Training Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Real Estate Agent in Back Bay, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jacob Realty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. The Boston real estate market can be aggressive, but Jacob Realty prepared me well for it. Their training program was very informative, making it ideal for new hires. When I first started, the agents and manager made the entire experience less intimidating by guiding me through my first few rentals. Their huge database of listings and constant flow of leads make it easy for agents to make good money, especially... in the busy season.

    Show More

    Cons

    A lot of work, no room to be lazy

    Advice to Management

    Slow down a bit

    Jacob Realty2019-06-11
  5. "What they tell you is right, you get what you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Real Estate Salesperson 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jacob Realty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked here for a month, front loading the works I knew I needed to do. Getting pictures of units, learning inventory, making 50+ calls a day, etc. I was starting to get discouraged at not having any deals but I trusted my manager who told me it would all pay off. She was right. My second full month working here I grossed nearly 15k and intend on breaking 20k this month. It's a grind, and it's a lot of hard work,... but this would not be possible without the management resources- our manager is available for calls even at 6 am or at 11:30 pm, the amount of leads generated specifically by the company for new agents, and the incredible database with over 158,000 listings ready to be taken and marketed. Trust me, you just gotta make the call

    Show More

    Cons

    Absolutely none, I love it

    Advice to Management

    Take a day off, you work too hard

    Jacob Realty2019-06-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Teamwork and Co operation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Real Estate Salesperson in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jacob Realty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The cooperation between offices is amazing- it's really unique to see this in a brokerage. Because of the partner offices throughout Boston I can work out of either Back Bay, Allston, South Boston, or Mission Hill- which is very convenient when I have several showings in the same area. The training happens mostly out of Allston, but my manager at the Jacob office has let me shadow him during showings and worked one... on one with me on my calling skills. As a new agent, I couldn't have asked for a smoother transition into the real estate world.

    Show More

    Cons

    Long hours,especially in the beginning. It gets better after a while, once you learn to manage your time

    Jacob Realty2019-02-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Team Work, Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Real Estate Agent in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jacob Realty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When I left my corporate Job and started my career in Real Estate I interview with a few offices. I really wanted to know, which office was going to offer the best transition to the position and the career I was about to embark . Jacob offered not only Rental, Sales and System Training but they also teach you how to succeed in this Market. As Real Estate Professional and this fast paced environment you need someone... to teach you or you will be loss. Boston is a very aggressive market on where you snoozed and you lose. At Jacob they teach you how to stay ahead and how to be the best you can be in this market. They stay in touch with your progress and want you to success. They are not calling you for meetings all the times. They have field support, They teach how to make the proper calls in order to obtain listings. Great company to work for.

    Show More

    Cons

    Don't expect a private parking on Newbury St.

    Advice to Management

    We should continue to encourage the Sales and the investor culture more frequent.

    Jacob Realty2018-12-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Realtor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jacob Realty full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Like most newly licensed agents I was pretty nervous and clueless going in. Luckily, Jacob Realty, and more specifically the manager, Wilfredo, have an extensive in house training program to get you prepared. Most agencies they just give you a desk and leave you to figure it out on your own. Here there are classes that teach you real life situations and how to handle them. Also some great one on one training. It's a... great place to start as a new agent but also ideal for veterans as well. I've now been here five years and each year has been better than the last! Highly recommend for new and experienced agents!

    Show More

    Cons

    not really a con, but this isn't your typical 9-5 job. Can be some late nights but that's part of the fun!

    Jacob Realty2018-12-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place to Become a Great Rental Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jacob Realty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I think it starts with the rental manager Wilfredo Miguez. He's an incredibly successful agent himself but always makes time to teach others how to do what he does. If you show up to work and put in the hours, you will make money all year. He literally held my hand through my first few rental transactions and still answers all my questions. Secondly, this is one of the only offices that does high volume... rentals even in the slow season. I interviewed with over 10 different rental brokerages before I settled here. They may have prettier marketing, but they do business here. Last but not least, they have thousands of listings in their system that are either exclusive or semi-exclusive which you can market to generate your own leads. This gives you a lot more to work with than just MLS, YGL, and a small inventory of exclusives most rental agents in the city use. They also do very few co-brokes, which means more money for people who put in the work.

    Show More

    Cons

    It takes some time to learn the process. Parking can be expensive, but you want to be on Newbury st. It's a small investment that pays off big.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Jacob Realty2018-12-17
  10. "Best Technoogy and a Great Enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Real Estate Agent in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jacob Realty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Having worked at other real estate offices in Boston before, I can say with full confidence, that this company has the best technology available if you want to be a rental agent in Boston. Jacob is one of five offices which together comprise New England's largest real estate team and because of their "landlord-centric" approach to rentals, they have built a massive database. This means I have more listings to show... my clients and I'm therefore closing more deals and having more fun while doing it. I also think that the training here is much better than what most agents get at any other office. From a structures training program to hands on coaching and mentoring at the office. Not to mention that Jacob Realty has a beautiful office on Newbury St. with a great team environment which makes it that much better to come into work every day.

    Show More

    Cons

    I can tell that management styles and the office environment in general varies by office.

    Advice to Management

    Continue investing in technology and in your agents. Put people above business and business will flourish.

    Jacob Realty2018-12-01
Found 20 reviews