Kangaroo Express Reviews | Glassdoor

Kangaroo Express Reviews

Updated 12 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 176 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Kangaroo Express CEO Dennis G. Hatchell
Dennis G. Hatchell
59 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Unless you're a manager, you will not get full time hours(in 13 reviews)

  • "There is no help from upper management(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A wonderful place to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Stockton, AL
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kangaroo Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They had subway! The store's overall appearance is very well kept!!

    Cons

    It was a truck stop

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!!

    Kangaroo Express2019-08-12
  2. "Easy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - SALES CLERK 

    I worked at Kangaroo Express full-time

    Pros

    Easy job. Laid back.

    Cons

    Sometimes the customers get...rowdy. Especially if your working 1st or 3rd shift.

    Kangaroo Express2019-03-16
  3. "Good place to work, friendly atmospher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Oak Island, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kangaroo Express part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good managers to work for

    Cons

    some customers can be inpatient

    Advice to Management

    keep doing a great job

    Kangaroo Express2019-03-02
  4. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chickamauga, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kangaroo Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Willing to work with you on schedule, great co-workers, can easily transfer stores, plenty of opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    Pay is not great, if next shift doesn't show up your stuck there, insurance is not great and very expensive

    Kangaroo Express2018-03-22
  5. "Lead CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Customer Service Representative in Edgewater, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kangaroo Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun and fast paced work environment. Great customers.

    Cons

    Overworked, under appreciated, under paid.

    Kangaroo Express2018-03-15
  6. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kangaroo Express part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent customer service, cleaning galore,fast,friendly,, courteous and loveinteracting with people to make sure that they are having a wonderful time

    Cons

    Dealing with rude people and their problems that makes your day worse.no matter what you say or do,they are still right

    Advice to Management

    I am willing to do whatever it takes to make sure that the job gets done right

    Kangaroo Express2018-03-02
  7. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Moss Point, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kangaroo Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Clean, advance,weekly pay, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Stocking,single employee,trash,checks, bad manager, paperwork

    Advice to Management

    Get another person on night shift.

    Kangaroo Express2018-01-27
  8. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Campobello, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kangaroo Express part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's was a good paced gave me the hours I needed

    Cons

    I needed a job with higher pay

    Advice to Management

    Great job!

    Kangaroo Express2017-12-06
  9. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kangaroo Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. This company doesn’t care about their staff.

    Cons

    Long hours. Rude upper management. Improper use of power.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to listen to employees

    Kangaroo Express2017-11-06
  10. "Assistant Manager/Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Kangaroo Express

    Pros

    I worked as an assistant manager and cashier with this company. I was promoted very soon after starting (I had previous management experience), and had a really good team working with me. From my experience with the company, it is much more laid back than working for a big box retailer or in the restaurant industry. Standards are high for customer service and cleanliness, but this job won't consume your whole life.

    Cons

    Low hours and a lack of attainable benefits are problematic for many employees. Employee turnover can also be an issue, leading to the only serious stress in this job, as schedules will often need to be adjusted last minute to cope with it.

    Advice to Management

    I would advise management to try to lure a smaller number of full-time employees to the business (rather than several part-timers) with better pay and benefits as an inducement to stay.

    Kangaroo Express2017-09-27
Found 176 reviews