Kemper Reviews | Glassdoor

Kemper Reviews

Updated July 20, 2017
247 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Joseph P. Lacher, Jr.
35 Ratings

247 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Work - Life balance is very good (in 14 reviews)

  • They also offer a competitive 401k plan and good benefits for employees (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • Company would rather hire outsiders for any management or upper management position than promote from within (in 10 reviews)

  • There is a such thing as work/life balance, this company does not allow for that (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (6)

    "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casualty Claims Adjuster in Salem, OR
    Current Employee - Casualty Claims Adjuster in Salem, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great company to start a career with. I enjoy my time every day at work; it's a friendly and welcoming environment. Prior to getting hired there was a great amount of communication from the recruiters and my manager in making sure I had everything I needed for my first day .Training was wonderful, I enjoyed it very much because they provided lots of information about the claims process. Trainers were very informative and provided the right amount of materials to get you started. Managers and coworkers are extremely helpful and always available to give you a hand.

    Cons

    I have not found any

    Advice to Management

    Great job in being very helpful

    Kemper Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Brand Manager

    Welcome to the Kemper team! Thank you for your input.


  2. "So Far So Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The hiring process was smooth and the salary is a little above average for an adjuster trainee with licenses but no experiences. The employees appear to act live a family and everyone is nice welcoming.

    Cons

    They do not have a Spanish team so it appears you may have to call out for translators often.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    Kemper Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review Kemper and share some of the great ways we onboard our team members.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Beginning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Welcoming Environment
    -Knowledgeable Trainers
    -Supportive Management
    -Manageable Pace
    -Thorough Training

    Cons

    -There Are None To Speak Of At This Time

    Kemper Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Brand Manager

    We value your opinion and thank you for the feedback. Glad you're on the team!


  4. "Very little opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Comfortable work environment, competitive pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Very little opportunity for advancement from the inside. Company would rather hire outsiders for any management or upper management position than promote from within. Stagnant growth. Very little opportunity as company is slowly shrinking. Upper management outsiders come in for a couple of years, change a few things...usually for the worse, company doesn't grow, and then they leave.

    Advice to Management

    More advancement from within.


  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster III - Casualty in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster III - Casualty in Tampa, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I have been with company for approximately 30 days & have been in the industry for 10 years. The hiring process was very smooth. The training was 2 weeks & very good. I was not overloaded with a large amount of transfer files as with most companies. Every employee has been pleasant to speak with. The company actually listens to their employees & works to make processes better. I am very happy with my decision to work at Kemper.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Kemper Response

    Jul 11, 2017 – Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to share your experience with Kemper. We are glad you are part of the team!


  6. "Sales benefit Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Benefit Representative in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Sales Benefit Representative in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Kemper (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Enjoyed meeting people and helping them to provide security for their families by selling the life and health insurance products

    Cons

    Extremely long hours, clients can be difficult at times.

    Kemper Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Brand Manager

    Thank you for the feedback. We wish you well with your future endeavors.


  7. "This is actually an office for Alliance United."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claim Adjuster in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Claim Adjuster in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kemper full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    flexible hours, decent pay and reasonable benefits. Break room is well stocked and has some items they don't charge for.

    Cons

    They handle California sub prime auto claims. This is the insurance for people that have lots of tickets, DUI's or no drivers license at all. Their philosophy seems to be to look for ways to deny every claim, or reduce the coverage of they do accept it. While these people may be terrible drivers they are paying high premiums for very little coverage. Doesn't seem ethical that the company looks for ways to deny every claim. Training is little to non existent.

    Advice to Management

    Try being more ethical. Provide better training.

    Kemper Response

    Jul 11, 2017 – Brand Manager

    We are proud of the excellent service and claims response we provide to agents and policyholders. We wish you luck in your future endeavors.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not such a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster II in Camarillo, CA
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster II in Camarillo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great employees, supportive staff. No micromanaging. Allows overtime if desired. Employee lunches every once in awhile. Good training. Management is helpful

    Cons

    Pay raises are non existent. Too many reports to track performance for every little thing. Workload can be high. Not much room for growth

    Kemper Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Brand Manager

    Kemper is always open to opportunities and areas where we can improve, so thank you for sharing your experience.


  9. "STAY FAR AWAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjuster in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Adjuster in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Not many pros here. Most of the team level managers are nice and genuinely care. However some are promoted based on favoritism and have little to no previous management experience. As such they make for poor leaders.

    Cons

    One of the cheapest companies I've ever worked for. They cut corners everywhere they can. Everything from salary and raises to safety. Unrealistic goals and no incentives.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your people what they're worth


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Public shaming of employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims in Whittier, CA
    Current Employee - Claims in Whittier, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fun luncheons all the time.
    My supervisor is very nice.
    All of my co workers are pleasant.
    Good benefits
    Remote if you live too far from an office to make a reasonable commute.

    Cons

    After posting a company Wide email audit of adjuster claims including their name and department...picking apart such minute little details like not putting an apostrophe in "I've" when they have so much work they could never get it done in 50 plus hours a week I'm making every effort to take my 15 plus years in this industry and get the heck out. I know of 2 people who have been hospitalized in the last 60 days which I believe were stressed related because the expectation and volume is so out of touch with reality.
    No consistency.
    Weekly changes in how claims are handled. Ca claims not sure about other states.
    Oh don't forget the massive 1.5% raise when you've busted your tail trying to get the work done and you met or exceeded every category in your performance evaluation

    Advice to Management

    Wake up....


Showing 247 of 255 reviews
Reset Filters