Kemper Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Kemper President and Chief Executive Officer Joseph P. Lacher, Jr. (no image)
Joseph P. Lacher, Jr.
563 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love the work/life balance I finally have in a job(in 48 reviews)

  • "Professional Workplace, offers great benefits(in 42 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management don't train well and don't run the(in 32 reviews)

  • "High turnover rate so workloads are high(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Kemper and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      An amazing out of college job!

      Oct 13, 2020 - Claims Adjuster Trainee in Birmingham, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is more than fair for recent college graduates The company genuinely cares about their employees and customers Everyone I have met is very kind, supportive, and helpful Even lower level employees feel connected to executives at corporate Great job for networking if you are interested in a career in insurance or a field related to insurance.

      Cons

      Claims Adjuster Training takes a long time

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      I love it

      May 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Chatsworth, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great job environment. Staff and managers are friendly and approachable

      Cons

      Lack of growth within the company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A Chaotic, Unstructured Rollercoaster of Greed

      May 6, 2021 - Total Loss Claims Associate in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Currently Work From Home Great Benefits and Paid Time Off

      Cons

      No bonuses or merit There's room for advancement, but you'll probably never advance The pay doesn't match the volume of work Management will do anything to increase the bottom line without any regard to your work

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Thumbs Up for Kemper!

      Apr 28, 2021 - Auto Liability Adjuster in Birmingham, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      From the initial start, my experience has been pleasant! The Talent Acquisition Specialist Suzette was warm, highly-energetic, welcoming, and downright relatable. Kemper has the best individual in place to recruit prospective employees. She explained the overall process and set forth all expectations to alleviate room for worry and doubt. A clear communicator and welcome to all available questions and/or concerns, the hiring process is an easy and smooth process. Even going through training, each training instructor provided guidance, class, and wealths of knowledge of the insurance industry. As with management, the clear, concise, and valuable resources that are in place to ensure each new hire is equipped with the tools to complete the job has also been a great experience!

      Cons

      I wouldn’t necessarily say it’s a con first and foremost, however for some, the work may seem slightly daunting. But, once more, your leader is there every single step of the way to ensure your success. Ask questions, utilize the much readily available resources! There is simply NO reason for you to not be successful in your role by following the latter instructions.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fantastic

      Apr 26, 2021 - Claims Material Damage Manager in Cerritos, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had never worked with an acquisition member for the hiring process before. Fallon was an absolute dream to work with. She was very patient and answered all of my questions ( I had a lot). She made the process which could have been long and tedious very manageable. I feel very fortunate not only to have been hired but Kemper but to have met Fallon and be transitioned into the company with her. I can never say enough great things about Kemper but Fallon stands out in the top great things!

      Cons

      I have not found any Cons to Kemper or any employee

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company to Work For!

      Apr 30, 2021 - Claims Adjuster in Lake Mary, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am a recent new hire but I must say that I have had an excellent experience thus far. Kemper provides an excellent work/life balance and great benefits. I would definitely recommend. The work environment and company culture truly aligns with my shared values. I love that Kemper is always looking to find new and innovative ways to make the claims process easier for it's reps and customers.

      Cons

      I have not experienced any cons.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great work environment, even at 100% remote

      May 3, 2021 - Market Director in Alpharetta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Amazing coworkers. Everybody is excited to share knowledge and go the extra distance to make sure onboarding period is as smooth as possible. 2. There's great opportunity for contributing to the company's growth and taking ownership. 3. Work-Life balance is promoted and encouraged

      Cons

      1. There's a lot of work to be done. (this could be a pro as well) 2. Not enough documentation of systems (but that's pretty much everywhere)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A fast paced, interesting and fantastic place to work.

      May 7, 2021 - Supervising Attorney in Fresno, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Kemper provides a competitive pay scale and promotes a true work life balance. Kemper provides opportunities for young attorneys to gain great experience and a lot of independence for more experienced attorneys. Kemper continues to expand providing room for advancement for accomplished attorneys.

      Cons

      The range of legal work initially was somewhat limited, that being said, that is rapidly changing. The legal work at Kemper insurance is starting to have a wide range.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company to work for

      May 3, 2021 - Analyst III in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’m a new hire and so far, my experience has been very positive. The talent acquisition specialist, Julie was very pleasant and helpful. Onboarding process was very smooth. Started work remotely because of the pandemic. I was pleasantly surprised when my equipment was shipped to me a week before my start date. Management truly cares about its employees and customers

      Cons

      I can't find any. Every company has its aches and pains.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Perfect Blend of Work-Life Balance

      May 3, 2021 - Legal Secretary in Cerritos, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay, benefits, and vacation! I also really like the flexibility in start times (I.e. can choose your own start time from 7am-9am at the office I’m located at). Amazing co-workers/leadership, lots of room for growth and promotions, and the company has a tuition reimbursement program.

      Cons

      High volume of work, can be stressful for some but is definitely manageable as long as you stay on top of it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,053 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Kemper Job Seekers

    Claims Adjuster
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Reliable Life Insurance Agent
    Learn About the Job
    Director, Executive Operations
    Learn About the Job
    Auto Liability Claims Adjuster
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Kemper? Share Your Experiences

    or