Kemper Reviews | Glassdoor

Kemper Reviews

Updated February 15, 2017
217 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.6
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Joseph P. Lacher, Jr.
23 Ratings

217 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Work - Life balance is very good (in 14 reviews)

  • Good Company, good benefits, nice people (in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • Some of the upper management seems to not have a good sense of company direction (in 9 reviews)

  • There is a very high turnover rate and there is an enormous disconnect between the executive level and the management level (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Place To Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SIU Fraud Analyst in Columbus, OH
    Former Employee - SIU Fraud Analyst in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kemper full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The benefits were good. I was encouraged and allowed to continue improving my skills in my area of expertise, they allow some employees to work remotely and have flexible schedules. The people within the company are generally good people and easy to get along with.

    Cons

    Some units were overworked especially since we acquired a new company and communication could have been better.

    Advice to Management

    Stop letting good talent walk out the door and make sure they keep and listen to high performers.

    Kemper Response

    Feb 15, 2017 – Brand Manager

    Thank you for your comments about your experience at Kemper. We appreciate your perspective and are glad you find Kemper a great place to work overall.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Kemper Overview"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Moosic, PA
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Moosic, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay, Good people, Nice work environment, Work is not daunting.

    Cons

    No complaints, N/A N/A N/A

    Kemper Response

    Feb 6, 2017 – Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you are enjoying your work with Kemper.


  3. "So far - so good"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Claims Adjuster in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Property Claims Adjuster in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Easygoing atomosphere, process improvements are recognized. Claim volume is fair for pay

    Cons

    Reassignment of claims is done often and is very hard to manage and follow
    Manual processes create delays and slows production
    New hire training needs improvement

    Advice to Management

    Review reassignment process and strategy
    Create new hire program
    Invest in upgrade to technology to reduce manual processes

    Kemper Response

    Feb 15, 2017 – Brand Manager

    Welcome aboard - we are glad to hear you find that process improvements are recognized, and will look into all of your feedback. Thank you.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Poor management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Insurance in Lafayette, LA
    Current Employee - Insurance in Lafayette, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible and pay weekly. Very good plans to offer but to expensive due the customers we service

    Cons

    The pay is terrible, more like fast food pay. No new ideas. The company is not moving forward with the change of the people ads the times we're in. The management only care about lining their pockets While the agents suffer at their own expense.


  6. "Okay place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Kemper full-time

    Pros

    Fun people to work with

    Cons

    Call center enviornment
    Limited career growth opportunities

    Kemper Response

    Feb 2, 2017 – Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We wish you well in your future endeavors.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "A very run of the mill company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Well established and lots of capital and located in a great location in downtown chicago. the building also had some nice perks

    Cons

    the management team did not wan to be great, they just wanted to keep the status quo and that is how you end up going out of business.

    Advice to Management

    management needs to make sure that they think down the road and see what trends are coming so they can be ready because they have not prepared

    Kemper Response

    Jan 25, 2017 – Brand Manager

    We appreciate your service and contributions to Kemper. We wish you the best.


  8. Helpful (1)

    "This is a Review Title"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Policy Service Specialist in Maryland Heights, MO
    Current Employee - Policy Service Specialist in Maryland Heights, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I've been here for a month and so far, everything's running pretty well. Someone's always available to talk to if I need help, and they're very accepting of all kinds of people.

    Cons

    None that I can think of so far.

    Kemper Response

    Jan 25, 2017 – Brand Manager

    We are glad to have you as a part of the Kemper team and appreciate your feedback!


  9. "IT storage mgmt."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Good pay, unfortunately i was part of a RIF and management brought in Indians to take our jobs.

    Cons

    Was RIF'd and unfortunately replaced by an Indian.

    Advice to Management

    Good people deserve the higher salaries, stop hiring Indians at low pay when they have no experience.


  10. "Newer to Kemper"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good Orientation, good support from Human Resources, and friendly employees. I have yet to meet a rude person in or outside of my department. Good benefits. I'll post another review when I’m no longer new to the company

    Cons

    Training needs improvement in my department. Procedure Documentation is not well organized or complete. In my cubicle the desk drawers remain locked but I did not receive a key upon request.

    Advice to Management

    Managers must give employees the tools they need to do their job. Procedure Documentation is not well organized or complete. When there is a high attrition rate in your department do consider why it happens. I see why: the training documentation is not organized, logical, or complete.

    Kemper Response

    Feb 15, 2017 – Brand Manager

    We appreciate your input and will review the training materials available for you. We are glad you enjoy your work at Kemper and look forward to your continued contributions.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Kemper the sinking ship"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kemper full-time

    Pros

    Insurance compny that can be a stepping stone to a better one later.

    Cons

    Terrible management, if you like to be micromanaged this is the place to be. Promotions given to people not based on ability or talent, but by who you can step on and suck up to. Work-life balance is awful. Even when you're not at work your concerned about the workload you'll face upon returning to work. Avoid this hell whole at all cost. Tons of lay offs makes this sinking ship ready to capsize anytime.

    Advice to Management

    What's the point, they won't listen.

    Kemper Response

    Feb 15, 2017 – Brand Manager

    We take your feedback seriously, as we strive to foster a positive and productive culture where all associates can contribute to our success in serving our policyholders and agents.



Showing 217 of 224 reviews
Reset Filters