Kemper Reviews | Glassdoor

Kemper Reviews

Updated May 6, 2017
232 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.5
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Joseph P. Lacher, Jr.
32 Ratings

232 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Work - Life balance is very good (in 14 reviews)

  • They also offer a competitive 401k plan and good benefits for employees (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • There is a such thing as work/life balance, this company does not allow for that (in 5 reviews)

  • There is a very high turnover rate and there is an enormous disconnect between the executive level and the management level (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (3)

    "My experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casualty Claims Adjuster in Salem, OR
    Current Employee - Casualty Claims Adjuster in Salem, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great company to start a career with. I enjoy my time every day at work; it's a friendly and welcoming environment. Prior to getting hired there was a great amount of communication from the recruiters and my manager in making sure I had everything I needed for my first day .Training was wonderful, I enjoyed it very much because they provided lots of information about the claims process. Trainers were very informative and provided the right amount of materials to get you started. Managers and coworkers are extremely helpful and always available to give you a hand.

    Cons

    I have not found any

    Advice to Management

    Great job in being very helpful

    Kemper Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Brand Manager

    Welcome to the Kemper team! Thank you for your input.


  2. "Billing Representative"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Representative in Maryland Heights, MO
    Current Employee - Billing Representative in Maryland Heights, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The hiring process has been wonderful. No long wait to hear. HR/Talent Acquisition thorough, available, helpful, responsive, and knowledgeable.

    Cons

    I have no cons to mention.

    Advice to Management

    Great employees!

    Kemper Response

    Apr 20, 2017 – Brand Manager

    Glad to hear you're having a terrific experience with us at Kemper. We look forward to your continued contributions.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "An "ok" place to work."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Assistant in Saint Louis, MO
    Former Employee - Claims Assistant in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kemper full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Quiet office, you can do your work and go home.
    -Low Drama
    -Generous PTO

    Cons

    -Hardly any communication, Boss would frequently say things like we should know them and then get mad when we didn't.
    -No real sense of teamwork, after changing jobs I realized how apparent this is.
    -Low pay. I made more as a temp employee, and also I'm pretty sure fast food pays the same as the starting wage at Kemper.
    -Management won't acknowledge you unless you are one of the higher ups.

    Advice to Management

    Higher pay means better and happier workers. I saw a lot of burnouts when I was there.

    Kemper Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Brand Manager

    We thank you for your input and wish you the best of luck.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Going down fast"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims in Jacksonville, FL
    Former Employee - Claims in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kemper full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    None at all, these people are dumb as a fence post and thick as thieves. If your desperately it. Get out before they back stab you.

    Cons

    Antiquated infrastructure, clueless management. People skills are a zero. Little cliquey gossipy vermin. No reason to be here or stay here.

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue.

    Kemper Response

    May 1, 2017 – Brand Manager

    Kemper strives to provide the best work environment possible for our employees. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.


  6. "Come to Kemper"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    In my time at Kemper everyone from the boardroom to the bottom floor has been polite, professional and working to get the job done. From my Day 1 experience on everything and everyone I have encountered are as genuine and professional as any place that I have ever worked.

    Cons

    There are none so far.

    Kemper Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – Brand Manager

    Welcome to the Kemper team - we appreciate your feedback!


  7. "My initial month"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I see the Company all in with my division and will do what is needed to make all of us successful

    Cons

    I do not see any negatives versus the other companies I have worked for

    Advice to Management

    Continue on the path...I believe in what we are doing and will do for the market

    Kemper Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – Brand Manager

    We are glad you are on the team, contributing to Kemper!


  8. "Excellent Opportunity!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Nashville, TN
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Empowered Atmosphere, Very Personal Organization, Expanding our Operations

    Cons

    Must be able to adapt to change, constant improvement

    Advice to Management

    Continue to provide direction, resources and vision; and we will achieve the business goals

    Kemper Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Brand Manager

    Thank you for choosing Kemper as your career home. We are grateful for your contributions and feedback.


  9. "customer service"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chatsworth, CA
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chatsworth, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I enjoy working with this company it is one of the better companies I have been with. everyone here is so friendly & nice & sweet. all the employees are so nice & very helpful

    Cons

    there is no cons to this job

    Advice to Management

    they are all doing a great job

    Kemper Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Brand Manager

    We are glad to have you as a part of the Kemper team and appreciate your feedback!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Billing Rep"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Specialist in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Billing Specialist in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    People are friendly and flexible work hours

    Cons

    Management doesn't listen to process improvement ideas

    Advice to Management

    Listen to process improvement ideas

    Kemper Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Brand Manager

    We value your opinion and thank you for the feedback.


  11. Helpful (3)

    "A company in transition but with a plan"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Jacksonville, FL
    Current Employee - Director in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kemper full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The staff at Kemper are friendly and helpful and want to do a great job. They look out for and help each other. The Executive Leaders understand the disconnects within the organization and are working on resolving those issues and moving the company forward

    Cons

    Kemper is in transition due to new leadership so there is a lot of change and uncertainty in the day to day work, but there appears to be a plan things are improving

    Advice to Management

    Provide clear vision and expectations around where Kemper is heading and how each employee can help achieve that goal.

    Kemper Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Brand Manager

    Kemper is open to opportunities for improvement, so thank you for sharing your experience.


Showing 232 of 240 reviews
Reset Filters