Kool Smiles Reviews

Updated May 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Kool Smiles Executive Dental Directors Dr. Dale Mayfield & Dr. David Vieth  (no image)
Dr. Dale Mayfield & Dr. David Vieth
102 Ratings
Pros
  • "We stand behind our core values and make decisions through our priority pledge and work to give the best service while providing quality dental care(in 18 reviews)

  • "Senior leadership understand clinical issues and concerns because they are dentists themselves(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "The dentists were struggling to keep up with the patient load making the wait times ridiculous and patients upset(in 13 reviews)

  • "Scheduling from the call center would become a problem due to not scheduling considerately(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "RDA"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    made life long friends i still stay in contact with

    Cons

    managment changed often, so did rules

    Kool Smiles2019-03-01
  2. "Be more insightful"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Orthodontist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the assistants are good people.

    Cons

    They don’t assume the full responsibility of a DSO. If you as a doc want to worry about just practicing and nothing else; this is not the place.

    Continue reading
    Kool Smiles2020-05-13
  3. "I enjoyed my time there"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dental Assistant in Terre Haute, IN

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team work environment, decent pay, family environment

    Cons

    Managers would changed often but the last one before I left ended up staying pretty long

    Kool Smiles2020-04-13
  4. ""That's Kool smiles""

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Orthodontic Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The patients ended up being the reason I would come to work.

    Cons

    Very unorganized place. Management never tells employees about schedule changes.

    Kool Smiles2020-01-12
  5. "Family oriented"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Care Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always a fun moment with coworkers, busy on your feet so time goes fast, celebrations equals free food,

    Cons

    Corporate needs to work on the budget, not enough pay for all the work you do, mean patients

    Kool Smiles2019-11-22
  6. "It was good"

    4.0
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles

    Pros

    Learning opportunities and career ad

    Cons

    Corporate structure, black out days

    Kool Smiles2019-10-14
  7. "Race issues and favoritism"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time

    Pros

    Learn to work at fast pace and meet different doctors.

    Cons

    Low salary, different rules weekly, management lies to employees and the allow the patients to do whatever in order to get the money for treatment. Blatent racism/favoritism at the final location i worked at. They only want to pay the minimum, but expect us to run around the office like crazy. Wants us to see late and rude patients and cram patients into the schedule.

    Continue reading
    Kool Smiles2019-07-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A good place to start out."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dentist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Contrary to popular belief, the care about their patient and push for quality care

    Cons

    Untrained assistants. And Workplace drama.

    Continue reading
    Kool Smiles2019-04-27
  9. "Get ready to work for a year of two then find a new job."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dental Assistant in Christiansburg, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved the people I worked with. They were young, fun, and overall tried to make the office a nice place to be.

    Cons

    Overworked and underpaid would basically sum up my qualms with this position. High volume offices regularly missed lunch and worked late. The dentists were struggling to keep up with the patient load making the wait times ridiculous and patients upset. It all came down to poor scheduling. It was not uncommon to have 10 patients scheduled an hour in hygiene and only 6 chairs with the next hour having no patients. If they just shortened the columns then patients would be more equally distributed throughout the day.

    Continue reading
    Kool Smiles2019-05-03
  10. "Job"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant in Gentilly, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Place you can grow

    Cons

    Everything they said they would do they didn’t No team work

    Kool Smiles2019-04-05
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 274 Reviews