KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

MZ

Part of AppLovin
Is this your company?

MZ

Add a Review

MZ Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 300 of over 305 reviews

3.0
39%
Recommend to a Friend
MZ CEO Adam Foroughi (no image)
Adam Foroughi
0 Rating
Pros
  • "MZ is a great place for folks who are motivated by their personal growth(in 30 reviews)

  • "Free food and drinks in the office(in 27 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Even the work-life balance doesn’t seem that bad as others describe it(in 43 reviews)

  • "It's almost like MZ just didn't plan to hire bad people, so there are no plans in place to address them unless they actually break a harassment policy(in 30 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Legit

      Jan 14, 2021 - Blog Writer in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      All good here at MZ.

      Cons

      Nada, I love working here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      MZ

      Mar 11, 2021 - Senior UA Manager (Mobile) in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      people caring culture of Machine Zone

      Cons

      workload, we usually have to work overtime

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      OK company to work with.

      Feb 26, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is good, the benefits are good. Free food and snacks.

      Cons

      The company lose their soul on building innovation games.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Gaming

      Jan 30, 2021 - Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice company to work with

      Cons

      Too mch work sometimes in the company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Complete Nightmare

      Mar 23, 2021 - 2D Artist in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay was not too bad. It was the only way they are able to convince people to give up their soul.

      Cons

      Company was led by people who failed upwards.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Challenge Accepted!

      May 24, 2017 - Manager in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      MZ time is an unique concept. We move a lightning speed and the projects we take on are enormous. We have big goals: "reach for the stars" aspirations, and we are determined to will them into reality NOW. That kind of vision requires dedication and determination as well as some patience. MZ is the most challenging environment I've ever worked within, it's also the most rewarding. I've grown so much in the last year and a half that I am not only a better employee and manager, but a better person, as well. The amazing feeling of looking back at a year's progress to marvel over visions realized is well worth every OT hour and every frustrating moment it took to do it.

      Cons

      There's always something that could make things faster, better, easier, cleaner, or less work, but I believe I learned more from the mistakes I've made, from the challenges I overcame and from the roadblocks I smashed than I would have if they weren't present at all. Every company has it's challenges. We work through them and learn from them.

      126 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Money, Bad Management

      Jan 31, 2021 - Senior Artist in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really good pay, solid coworkers, decent perks, rumor is it's gotten better.

      Cons

      Management was a mess, expected to work unreasonable hours, political bias affected managements decisions

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Intense and Rewarding, but Needs More Checks and Balances

      Jan 23, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing, hardworking people on every level. Benefits that can't be beat. Great food. Comfortable environment. Good support. HR is quick to respond to issues. Loyalty is valued among lower level leadership and rewards are piled on you for good performance. Workflows are clearly documented and undaunting to step into.

      Cons

      Anyone who IS terrible (like some people I was forced to work with and under) had no checks for their behavior. It's almost like MZ just didn't plan to hire bad people, so there are no plans in place to address them unless they actually break a harassment policy. I was outright bullied by my team and my manager's advice was to QUIT and accept that I was replaceable, even though I was a dedicated and passionate employee who had been receiving constant praise for my contributions up til that point. And there was no one above my manager to bring an issue to without immediately branding myself as a weak link or tattletale.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor Management

      Mar 10, 2021 - Database Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Start up culture and awesome perks

      Cons

      Poor management, lack of work life balance, no vision

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      MZ sucks

      Feb 19, 2021 - People Operations in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay, snacks, catered lunch, benefits

      Cons

      Management, leadership, over worked, under appreciated

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 300 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with MZ Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MZ? Share Your Experiences

    MZ logo
    or