MarketAxess Reviews

Updated May 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
MarketAxess Chairman and CEO Rick McVey
Rick McVey
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work keeps you busy but I would say I always had the perfect work/life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great work environment, plenty of opportunities for growth as the company is continuously expanding(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Legal & Compliance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MarketAxess

    Pros

    Great work environment, plenty of opportunities for growth as the company is continuously expanding. Management is very knowledgeable and hands on. As a legal intern, I worked directly with Counsel and the rest of the Legal and Compliance team. Knowledge in finance is a plus here. Asking questions is more than welcomed here, best way to learn - ask, get an answer and implement. Fin Tech firm with an international presence. Possibility to locate to Europe | Latin America etc.. Snacks/ coffee/ ice coffee provided. Ask as many questions as you want and eaningful work.

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    Continue reading
    MarketAxess2019-07-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Analyst in New York, NY

    I have been working at MarketAxess full-time

    Pros

    Great Managers and alot of great exposure

    Cons

    Lots of work and long hours but worth it

    MarketAxess2020-05-12

    MarketAxess Response

    May 18, 2020Learning and Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your review! While it may be challenging at times, we encourage all employees to have set a start and end time to their working day, whether it be at home or in office. Please reach out to your manager or HR if you want to discuss this further.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MarketAxess full-time

    Pros

    Innovative, creative, good environment- overall good place to work

    Cons

    Communication could be improved based on company goals

    Continue reading
    MarketAxess2019-07-02
  4. Helpful (7)

    "AMAZING !"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compliance in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MarketAxess full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work environment/culture is extremely energetic- everyone walking through those doors are excited to be here which is something rare. The positive energy makes you WANT to be here. Hours are always fair- my day was generally 830-530. Work keeps you busy but I would say I always had the perfect work/life balance. I always found I was appreciated for my hard work which was expressed during reviews/bonus/salary discussions. Hard work pays off here and the opportunities are endless. Always encouraged to explore other areas and senior management has an open door policy which promotes those welcoming conversations. Attire is dress for your day- can't beat that! Jeans are welcome! The new 55 hudson yards office is flawless. Pool table by kitchen and lounge areas to encourage a more balanced work environment. BarAxess events are awesome opportunities to socialize with colleagues. Never worked for a company who held cocktail hours in the office. Plenty of other fun after work events throughout the year. Last year we had a booze cruise which was probably m favorite. This is the place to build your career, hands down. MarketAxess is only growing and jumping on board would be the best decision you could make.

    Cons

    The only con is that I had to leave this amazing company due to personal/relocation reasons.

    MarketAxess2019-01-30
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Best place I could work out right out of college"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Network Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MarketAxess full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing brand new workspace at 55 Hudson Yards with standing desks Newly introduced flexible Work from Home policy Heavy focus on work-life balance with social and charitable events all year round Open door policy with plenty of learning and experience to gain anytime anywhere

    Cons

    None come to my mind as of this date

    MarketAxess2019-02-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "So far so good. Exciting place to work, intelligent and kind people."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MarketAxess full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great new office at Hudson Yards. Great benefits. “Dress for your day” policy.

    Cons

    No real cons. Happy to work here.

    Continue reading
    MarketAxess2019-01-31
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Dealer Sales"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MarketAxess full-time

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial atmosphere Leading firm in the space

    Cons

    Poor Management Complacency High Turnover A few individuals pull the majority of the weight of the company,

    Continue reading
    MarketAxess2018-11-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Intern"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MarketAxess for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly work environment Opporutnities for growth

    Cons

    Long hours Busy work passed around

    MarketAxess2018-11-14
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Not a great place to work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MarketAxess full-time

    Pros

    small company feel, nice location.

    Cons

    the company, even at its small size, is bloated. Senior employees are quick to throw junior employees under the bus to save face.

    Continue reading
    MarketAxess2018-10-16
  10. Helpful (3)

    "great company to work for."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MarketAxess full-time

    Pros

    great company to work for. good comp.

    Cons

    less flexibility. too much internal politics.

    MarketAxess2018-03-19
Found 45 reviews