Mashable Reviews | Glassdoor

Mashable Reviews

Updated May 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Mashable CEO Pete Cashmore
Pete Cashmore
44 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Misogynistic upper management with little diversity anywhere in the office(in 9 reviews)

  • "The lack of diversity in upper management is downright embarrassing(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Honestly just happy to be here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Mashable full-time

    Pros

    Culture, collaboration, environment, receptiveness

    Cons

    Maybe that upper roles aren't clearly defined

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the transparency

    Mashable2017-07-07
  2. "Run. AWAY."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mashable full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good snacks, fun people, chill atmosphere

    Cons

    Everything. Literally everything. Worst part is the NYC office has bed bugs.

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers. Not colleagues.

    Mashable2019-05-07
  3. "Survived the 2016 layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Associate Producer 

      I worked at Mashable full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good office location and snacks, and full of talented individuals.

      Cons

      Very disorganized back then, not sure how much it's changed.

      Mashable2019-04-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "Misery, Grief, & Broken Spirits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Reporter in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Mashable full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I truthfully cannot think of any pros. Yes, it's that bad.

      Cons

      Be careful. HR, of course, will present Ziff Davis/Mashable to be some "cool" place to work to win you over. But let me tell you - your soul will be trapped in a prison of misery here. It's a place of grief, sadness, sorrow, disappointment, and broken spirits. The work is they pile on your back is surprisingly laborius, burdensome, and tiring, especially for the egregiously low pay. I guarantee wrinkles and gray hair,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      - Be more transparent with your employees! We would appreciate it. - Employ a more diverse staff. Homogeneity thwarts innovation and novel creativity, which in turn, affects Mashable's growth. - Higher ups need to have some direction and goals! "Going with the flow" isn't going to cut it.

      Mashable2019-04-01
    • "Great Time at Mashable"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Mashable

        Pros

        Had a great time at Mashable. Learned a whole lot. Cool people.

        Cons

        Wish I could have had some more money! But I don't think it's their fault you know? It happens. Management was also shaky at times. Direct superiors were solid, but up top I think there was some serious confusion.

        Mashable2018-12-06
      • "Not the best recommendation for this place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Mashable full-time

          Pros

          Not too many Pros here.

          Cons

          Wasn't there long enough for cons either.

          Mashable2018-10-03
        • Helpful (4)

          "Like being on the Titanic."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Mashable full-time

          Pros

          -Snacks -good location -unlimited vacay (for now)

          Cons

          -no direction -new management seems to be even more clueless that previous management -no interest in the growth or advancement of their employees -lack of diversity -every decision the company makes with regards to anything seems to rely solely on how they can leverage it to sell garbag to advertisers for a quick dollar.

          Advice to Management

          You know when your parents get a new iPhone but don’t know how to use any of the cool features and don’t really care to learn because they’re old? That’s basiclly what Ziff Davis did when they came in and purchased Mashable. So my advice to management would be that they should take the time to understand what made Mashable so great in the first place and prioritize new/innovative ideas, rather than just implement old...

          Show More
          Mashable2018-08-31
        • Helpful (1)

          "It's fine"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Section Editor 
          Negative Outlook

          I have been working at Mashable full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Great kind fun people. Good social vibe.

          Cons

          No long-term strategy in apparent. Constant pivots in priorities.

          Mashable2018-05-28
        • Helpful (1)

          "Good work experience but can get lonely"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Mashable full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          - Smart co-workers - Diversity is important to the staff - Company is open and encourages employees to expand on their role above and beyond what's on paper

          Cons

          - Negativity pervades the office - Staff can also be cliquey and unwelcoming. - If you aren't in editorial you're invisible.

          Mashable2018-03-15
        • "Good short term opportunity"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Mashable full-time

          Pros

          Good name on your resume Ability to do fulfilling work

          Cons

          No opportunity for advancement or career growth

          Advice to Management

          Promote from within

          Mashable2018-01-29
        Found 72 reviews