KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Mathematica

Engaged Employer

Mathematica

Add a Review

Mathematica Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 285 of over 321 reviews

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Mathematica President Paul Decker
Paul Decker
142 Ratings

The latest conversations about Consulting

Join the conversation on

Consulting

1y

works at 

McKinsey & Company

Consultants of Fishbowl, I'm 31 and have ~$2m. No kids, student loans, etc... I'm also getting CTL'd. If you were in my position, would you scramble to get a new position or retire early?

376

131 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Colleagues (at your level) are friendly and welcoming(in 33 reviews)
  • "a lot of genuinely nice people work here(in 19 reviews)
  • "Good Pay (which at times is bad because you price out the competition)(in 16 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and perks.(in 14 reviews)
  • "Good work life balance if you hold yourself to it and talk to your supervisor when things get too busy.(in 13 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low salary for junior level staff.(in 12 reviews)
  • "the lack of diversity among researchers and survey researchers is frustrating.(in 11 reviews)
  • "This leads to a lot of chaos and poor management.(in 11 reviews)
  • "Strict supervision, hostile culture at the survey center.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Poor training and for a company that is computer(in 7 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Mathematica and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to start your career!

    Apr 9, 2022 - Research Analyst in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mathematica hires fantastic people- a great way to build your social and professional network.

    Cons

    Issues with work-life balance and very hierarchical

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Jun 2, 2022 - Senior Researcher in Princeton, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible employer Work that improves public well-being

    Cons

    Billable hours puts stress on employees to fill time with work-related tasks at all times, rather than promoting a culture of networking and professional development.

    4 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee

    PTO benefits are severely lacking.

    Jun 19, 2022 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Colleagues are smart, supportive and kind. I honestly think it would be challenging to find similar at other companies doing the same type of work with the same client base. That is what has kept me here so far.

    Cons

    But I've been strongly considering leaving as of late. I'm a younger, childless employee that really enjoys traveling. However, the PTO benefits here are not good at all. We essentially work ~240 days for 21 days of PTO. There are no separate buckets like other companies (sick, personal, vacation, etc.). We just have one PTO bucket and 8 holidays. I know I'm not alone in how I feel about the PTO. Many of my friends here (in their 20s and early 30s) feel the same. Since most of leadership are 40/50+ with children, it doesn't seem to be an issue for them, so improving the PTO benefits is not something they are considering. Doesn't seem like many of my older full-time colleagues travel much and when they do, they are perfectly fine with working/"checking in" while vacationing. With 21 PTO days, the company is essentially making us choose between true self-care days and planning for unpredictable sick days (the anxiety around getting COVID and having to take valuable PTO days to recover is REAL). Self-care is mental and physical health and we're not getting adequate self-care with 3 weeks vacation for a year of work. It's sad because I really like this company for other reasons.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Flexibility

    May 24, 2022 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility, benefits, choice of work

    Cons

    Politics, staff development, not tech savvy

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Wonderful colleges

    May 23, 2022 - Library Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I experienced the support of many wonderful colleges while there.

    Cons

    X X X X X.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great place for researchers

    May 1, 2022 - Project Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance, people are friendly

    Cons

    Work can be stale, project management fluctuates

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Mathematica

    Apr 28, 2022 - Health Researcher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting work. Competitive pay. Good work life balance if you hold yourself to it and talk to your supervisor when things get too busy. Very kind colleagues who want you to succeed. Strong work from home culture, though there are also offices if you prefer to work in one.

    Cons

    None come to mind. Sometimes we run out of bagels on Friday mornings. Whomp :(

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not for me

    May 8, 2022 - Health Research Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Colleagues are for the most part very smart and very kind.

    Cons

    Pay is low, timekeeping culture feels oppressive, analysts’ experiences vary wildy depending on projects assigned and manager assigned.

    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great employer

    Apr 19, 2022 - Software Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work with

    Cons

    None based on my 2 years tenure

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Review

    Apr 18, 2022 - Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility and work-life balance, friendly work culture

    Cons

    Frequent reorganization without sufficient transparency

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 285 Reviews

Mathematica Reviews FAQs

Mathematica has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 321 reviews left anonymously by employees. 76% of employees would recommend working at Mathematica to a friend and 73% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Mathematica employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Mathematica. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

76% of Mathematica employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Mathematica 3.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 3.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Mathematica to be benefits, culture, coworkers and the cons to be diversity and inclusion, management, career development.

Popular Careers with Mathematica Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Mathematica? Share Your Experiences

or

Mathematica Careers

Cover image for Mathematica

Software Engineering, Statistical Programming & Advanced Analytics At Mathematica, we rely on Software Engineers and Statistical...More

  • About
  • Diversity
  • Careers
  • Join Us!
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

Mathematica

82 days ago

Company News
We're committed to using data and evidence to advance equity and justice. Here's a look at some of our recent projects and the mission behind them.
Shared image - Equity
Equity
mathematica.org
See all

Mathematica Photos

+ Add Photo
Mathematica photo of: Mathematica Policy Research Page Liked · April 7 via Instagram · Edited · .. “Happy #CelebrateDiversityMonth!” from the D.C. members of our Black Employee Resource Group
Mathematica photo of: Our Woodlawn office
Mathematica photo of: At the Data for Opioids code-a-thon
Mathematica photo of: At the opening of our Seattle office
Mathematica photo of: Members of our Parents and Other Caregivers employee resource group.
Mathematica photo of: Members of our LGBTQ+A employee resource group.

Have you worked here?

See All Photos