Mattersight Reviews | Glassdoor

Mattersight Reviews

Updated May 15, 2018
63 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Mattersight President and CEO Kelly D. Conway
Kelly D. Conway
34 Ratings

63 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "They have an above average work-life balance, you won't get burnt out and you get plenty of PTO" (in 15 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with across the board" (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is no software, it's just a consulting company posing as a software company" (in 3 reviews)

  • "Company is still stuck in the dark ages with some deployment practices" (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (3)

    "Pinch me I must be dreaming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mattersight full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I could go on and on about the pros but I'll keep it simple Mattersight and your managers truly care about you as an individual, it's always felt like family. They have an above average work-life balance, you won't get burnt out and you get plenty of PTO. The work is so incredibly interesting and fulfilling, I love talking to my peers and learning more about what new products are coming along.

    Cons

    Wish we could have pets in the office, but other than that nothing really.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and taking employee suggestions to heart.

    Mattersight Response

    Dec 27, 2017 – Chief People Officer

    Thanks for calling out the interesting and fulfilling work as well our efforts in building an employee-centric culture. Working together, we are accomplishing great things! Listening to and... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    "It is a good work environment with good people, upper management is out of touch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    People, You can really run with ideas. Snacks and beer are provided. Lunch provided twice a month. Good team bonding.

    Cons

    Management can seem out of touch. Salary is significantly lower than average. Company is still stuck in the dark ages with some deployment practices

    Mattersight Response

    May 29, 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I agree with your pros and am thrilled to see that People were at the top of your list! Great people running with their ideas is one of the... More

  3. "Meh.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Edina, MN
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Edina, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mattersight full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Salary is good and competitive . *

    Cons

    Company is split into three locations. Austin, Edina, Chicago. The distance seems to promote a silo environment. It makes it easy for some to be passive aggressive or rude.

    I found that some in management were belittling and obnoxious. They also don't reach out to support during tough time/initiatives. Just the expectation that everything gets done with perfection.

    A cardinal sin is not going to a team event. That'll cause problems FOR SURE.

    Advice to Management

    Quit enabling rude behavior by praising those individuals. Consolidate your teams into one location because it's not working.

    Mattersight Response

    Apr 3, 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Hi. I hope that while you found some in management off-putting, you found others that were supportive and demonstrated the type of leadership that we as a company strive for. Team events are... More


  4. Helpful (3)

    "Nice office, poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mattersight full-time

    Pros

    - Cool space
    - Smart, nice people
    - Decent money
    - Is that 20 words?

    Cons

    - Weak leadership, no direction, seems like a house of cards ready to fall, CEO is terrible
    - There is no software, it's just a consulting company posing as a software company
    - Product sounds good on paper but reality is that it's just using normal call metric, the personality stuff is bogus
    - They're always 1 quarter away from greatness but they never get there

    Advice to Management

    Why bother, they don't listen

    Mattersight Response

    Mar 19, 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Hi , I won't lie - it's tough to read your cons. To your point, we have smart, nice people working hard to deliver value to our existing customers and those results as well as client references... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "SDM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SDM in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - SDM in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mattersight full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    A lot of perks and exceptional work space

    Cons

    Very little support to perform your job.

    Advice to Management

    There seems to be quite a few mangers but not quite the same amount of worker bees which has lead to a top heavy corporate culture.

    Mattersight Response

    Mar 2, 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Hi - thanks for taking the time to submit a review. I'm disappointed to hear that you felt you didn't have the support necessary to be successful here. I would be very interested in knowing what... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to stop over on your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales
    Former Employee - Sales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mattersight full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Great compensation for first year sales : Base plus Draw
    -Very smart intelligent people

    Cons

    -Executive staff is afraid of CEO
    -CEO is demeaning and rude to employees during sales meetings
    -Revolving door for management and employees
    -Compensation tied to product actually working
    -Company has not been profitable -EVER


  7. Helpful (5)

    "Struggling company trying to mature"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mattersight full-time

    Pros

    Subtle perks. Free lunches, snacks, soda etc. Pretty relaxed environment. Almost impossible to get fired.

    Fairly minimal micromanagement.

    Cons

    Lack of direction and focus across teams and departments. A 250 person company shouldn't have the "left hand doesn't know what the right hand" is doing situations.

    Legacy entrenchment. Probably just a weird word I'm making up but there is a lot of people that have been with the company for 10+ years and I think it shows itself in that there are just a lot of bad or missing processes at the company.

    Poor product maturity. The base product the company sells is often so heavily customized per client, its hard to consider them the same product for support purposes. In addition it has fairly poor stability and redundancy qualities.

    Advice to Management

    Narrow the focus of the organization. Many departments act like their own little R&D departments under the guise of improving efficiency.

    Focus on improving our ability to sell and deploy the core products at additional customers instead of expanding our product portfolio with niche or "proof of concept" type engagements at existing clients.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Success is Perpetually Around the Corner."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mattersight full-time

    Pros

    Really smart, committed people.
    Neat new Chicago office with 'tech' perks like games and beer.
    Pretty good work / life balance and managers who care about making sure it's real
    Think the idea behind the product is fantastic so it's hard to understand why the company hasn't seen real growth yet

    Cons

    We were continually told how close we were to breaking out and growing rapidly and it never happened. It was always around the next corner and the company has yet to get there. The core 3 at the top of the company haven't changed in years and it seems that they're bulletproof and well compensated no matter the results. Other than those 3, we have cycled through leaders in multiple parts of the company without meaningful change happening. Never could understand why the Board didn't take any action to improve the company although one of them is now the cfo so maybe that will change.

    Advice to Management

    Increase accountability at all levels - pay for performance and results. Get rid of entrenched deadwood at the top. Improve trust with employees.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good atmosphere and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst
    Current Employee - Analyst

    I have been working at Mattersight full-time

    Pros

    Very nice people and a company who cares about new ideas no matter who they come from.

    Cons

    None at the moment.

    Mattersight Response

    Dec 27, 2017 – Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I'm thrilled to see "None at the moment" under Cons. Please know that when you do come across a con (let's be honest, as hard as we try, it's gonna... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Love working for Mattersight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edina, MN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edina, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Mattersight full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Management and coworkers consistently put people first through great times and hard times. It's an IT company, so you're going to have some encroachment on your life, but on the whole it's truly excellent work/life balance. I can't imagine a more supportive employer.

    You're encouraged to pursue your work interests, even if they lead you to other teams. If you've got great ideas and effort, you can make a real impact no matter what level you're at or what team you work on.

    Great people to work with across the board.

    For being a small company, employment and org structure has been quite stable. Seems like my friends at big companies have way more layoffs and general instability than we do.

    Cool and unique proprietary technology. Lots of things to keep a scientific, technology, or data driven mind interested.

    Top level management very accessible and supportive. They're involved and in touch with the technical operating details of our business.

    Cons

    Waiting anxiously for our business to take off! I'm a bit jealous of IT companies that scale up big time. Hoping we someday are in that group.

    Mattersight Response

    Jul 3, 2017 – Chief People Officer

    I love this review! Your experiences are what we want all employees to experience. Thank you for growing your career with us and let’s keep working towards that goal together! - Melissa


Showing 63 of 65 reviews
Reset Filters