KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

MediaMath

Engaged Employer

MediaMath

Add a Review

MediaMath Reviews

Updated May 14, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 389 of over 414 reviews

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
MediaMath CEO Neil Nguyen
Neil Nguyen
8 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Senior leadership recognizes it and says it openly but then does nothing about it but apologize.(in 19 reviews)
  • "Poor management, outdated product, missing revenue targets every year, this place is already going down(in 15 reviews)
  • "Massive layoffs just happened and in the midst of yet another re(in 10 reviews)
  • "The company is slow to acknowledge the need for higher headcount in teams, while raising the volume of work, while pay is low.(in 10 reviews)
  • "No mentorship whatsoever for junior software developer, at the time I worked there I barely ever had a chance to speak to my direct manager.(in 6 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Amazing culture

    Apr 18, 2022 - Software Development Engineer In Test (SDET) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cutting edge technologies and amazing culture

    Cons

    I don't have any Cons to list

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Director People Partner

    Thank you for sharing this review. I’m delighted that you're having such a positive experience with MediaMath. This stellar team is building remarkable solutions! Keep us posted if you find any areas where we might improve. Thanks again, Ashish, Chief Technology Officer

  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Poor experience, dishonest company

    May 11, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I made a few lifelong friendships. The only positive. Also, I was impressed by the Marketing Engineer Program and the leader who ran that. Interestingly enough though, the majority of the five star ratings here are from Marketing Engineer Program participants who are after full time opportunities. A bit suspicious.

    Cons

    A dishonest company. Dysfunctional leadership who gaslit and treated staff inappropriately when I worked there (which was prior to 2018). MM demonstrated a problematic lack of action when it came to addressing sexual harassment in the workplace. I was not supported by HR after filing a complaint. It has taken me years to feel brave enough to write a review that mentions this. Non-existent raises, not an exaggeration. Judging from the news, it appears this company is worse off than it was when I worked there. "If i knew then what I know now."

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Director People Partner

    Thank you for sharing this review. We’re grateful for you spending a number of years with us. I’m glad that you found lifelong connections here and that you appreciated our pioneering Marketing Engineer Program and the rare team that made it happen. I’m so sorry that you feel that you weren’t properly supported when you filed a serious complaint. As MediaMath has zero tolerance for sexual harassment, if you’re comfortable doing so, I would welcome you reaching out to me 1:1 on your situation. I hope that will but, either way, I hope that you’re thriving in all ways. Thanks again, Kimberly Samon, CPO

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Dynamic, ever-changing environment

    Apr 19, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good benefits, smart and nice people, nice offices, remote with the option for in person if you want, pretty good work/life balance

    Cons

    attrition rate is high, going through major transition phase and that is uncomfortable for some

    2 people found this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Director People Partner

    Thank you for sharing this review. It’s so great to have you on the journey with us and enjoy collaborating with our exceptional team and the investments we’ve made in fostering a rewarding and flexible employee experience. We’re certainly experiencing a time of significant change and I hope our leaning into communication is helping the team see the exciting path ahead. Thanks again, Kimberly Samon, CPO

  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Bad career move

    May 14, 2022 - Engineering 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The dysfunction means it’s easy to get by without producing much work (if that’s a pro)

    Cons

    You’re not going to develop skills or have good career growth opportunity and if you try to to leave you will face the threat of a broadly interpreted non compete

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Director People Partner

    Thank you for sharing this review. We greatly appreciate that you spent over three career years with us as we know great talent always has many options. I’m not sure when your MediaMath journey concluded but, in my time here, I’ve been very encouraged by how our commitment to fostering an environment of continuous growth and learning has led to positive feedback from the Engineering team. We’re always working to improve the employee experience here, as (again) we know great talent always has many options, and don’t claim to have fully “cracked the code” as yet, so the work continues to better foster growth for our terrific team. I hope that you’re having a very positive experience in a new role. Thanks again, Ashish Shukla, CTO

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Cancel your interview and run!

    Jan 7, 2022 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I'd say the people, but nobody really left…only the new hires that were conned into joining and people on work visas that are trapped there

    Cons

    Many engineers and product managers have left the company, resulting in critical product improvements and roadmap coming to a complete stop. As a result, everything is smoke and mirrors, in other words if you’re a sales person you’ll have to over promise and underdeliver at the expense of your relationships and reputation. Once you look under the hood you'll be attacked by a feral creature and will want to beeline to a therapist because you'll realize you made a huge mistake! Non-competes - all the other reviews are true; they will go after you if you leave MediaMath for any of the 15 perceived competitors (including all the tech giants/FAANG). People have been sued, spent $$$$ on lawyer fees and lost job offers as a result. That said if you're still seriously considering MediaMath then keep in mind that they need you more than you need them, have them remove the NCA clause from your offer letter.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to learn and grow

    Mar 7, 2022 - Marketing Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast paced, supportive environment. Exposure to challenging and interesting work/clients.

    Cons

    Technical product can have a steep learning curve but great onboarding offsets a lot of that challenge.

    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Culture

    Mar 13, 2022 - Support Worker in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great top management who sets great tone at the top - Smart co-workers who care about the company - alot of potential

    Cons

    - Co-workers leaving the company

    1 person found this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Director People Partner

    Thank you for sharing your experience at MediaMath. It’s great to have you on the journey with us. I’m so glad that you have confidence in the senior team, see your talented colleagues’ commitment to our collective success, and are optimistic about what we’ll achieve together. Like a lot of organizations, we’ve seen some departures, but it’s still a small ecosystem in many ways, and we’re glad that we often get to continue to work with our former colleagues as they broaden their career experience in client, partner, or other adjacent organizations. Thanks again, Kimberly Samon, CPO

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good WLB

    Mar 14, 2022 - Data Scientist in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice work-life balance, nice people to work with

    Cons

    Leadership changes too often, company roadmap is not clear

    2 people found this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Director People Partner

    Thank you for sharing this review. Thanks so much for investing several of your finite number of career years with us! It’s great that you’re enjoying working with your fellow mathletes and are experiencing work-life balance. We did have a particularly big leadership change recently - with a great new CEO joining us earlier this year. We’re currently solidifying an exciting updated long-term vision and are hopeful that you’ll soon feel that we have a very clear, and energizing, roadmap in the very near future. Thanks again, Ashish Shukla, Chief Technology Officer

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not much left for anyone here

    Jan 3, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    — Great people who were especially talented and motivated, at least before the 2020 layoffs (pre-COVID) — Beautiful offices at 4WTC

    Cons

    I won’t keep reiterating what so many others have already written, but I’m considerably shocked at how litigious the company has become towards relatively low-level staff when attempting to exit. In my 14 years across 5 organizations, I’ve never even *heard* of suing for noncompetes below executive level. The reason being that’s what top tech firms do? Sure, I imagine if you pay 5x what MediaMath did, then that might be reasonable, but the company always had this bizarre way of continually comparing themselves to competitors many, many times their size. I’m not sure what’s even to be gained in that scenario — I guess a slight delay in backfilling the role and an angry, disgruntled employee in the meantime? Really gives future hires an idea as to how this company is run at the executive level.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Lost all their morals

    Mar 5, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    All pros are pre-pandemic: - Great people - Was a great culture - Access to enterprise clients

    Cons

    - Company has lost its morals. Essentially, you’ll be paid under market, fed lies, and be sued if you try to leave - Management cares only about making $ for themselves - Under resourced teams leads to burnout. No sign of relief

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    MediaMath Response

    Director People Partner

    Thank you for sharing this review. While I’m very glad to see that you appreciate this rare team, unique culture, and wonderful clients - your assessment of the “cons” was very difficult to read. I do feel compelled to share that, throughout my time with MediaMath, I’ve been continuously impressed by the unimpeachable ethical standards of the leadership team and of managers throughout the organization. The business environment in our sector, as well as the broader world economy in the last couple of tumultuous years, has led to some difficult decisions being made. These tough decisions were always taken with the long-term welfare of our team, clients, and other stakeholders front and center. On occasion, it was a situation of there being no “great” option, but we did our best to communicate the rationale behind the decisions to the team. Thankfully, our past decisions have positioned us well for a bright future at MediaMath. I’m glad to see you’re still with us and I hope you’ll personally see the long term benefits of decisions made in recent years. Thanks once more, Kimberly Samon, CPO

Viewing 1 - 10 of 389 Reviews

MediaMath Reviews FAQs

MediaMath has an overall rating of 3.1 out of 5, based on over 414 reviews left anonymously by employees. 50% of employees would recommend working at MediaMath to a friend and 32% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -12% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, MediaMath employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at MediaMath. This rating has decreased by -8% over the last 12 months.

50% of MediaMath employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated MediaMath 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.3 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at MediaMath to be career development, culture, benefits and the cons to be compensation, management, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with MediaMath Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MediaMath? Share Your Experiences

MediaMath logo
or

MediaMath Photos

+ Add Photo
MediaMath photo of: Pride Month!
MediaMath photo of: MediaMath 2019 Hackathon
MediaMath photo of: MediaMath 2019 Hackathon
MediaMath photo of: To celebrate #InternationalWomensDay, our Chief of Staff to the COO, Frith Fraser led a panel on achieving #BalanceforBetter
MediaMath photo of: Santa made a surprise visit at 4 World Trade for our Kids Holiday Party
MediaMath photo of: Our own Elise James-Decruise hosting a Diversity in Tech panel at HQ
MediaMath photo of: Women in Tech breakfast in APAC
See All Photos